Who, Me?

April 14, 2007 at 7:43 pm 14 comments

Shelli, from Shelli’s sentiments, surprised me this morning with a thinking blogger award.   thinkingblogger.jpgI  had to follow the link on her blog to realize it was me.  Despite having been a writer since I could hold a pencil in my hand, any awards hanging on my wall came from sources other than writing.  Shelli is one of those people that reads between the lines, and if she finds lurking pain, she reachs out and says “I’m here, I’ll help you, I’ll listen…”  She writes about family and the commonalities we all share with kids, husbands, siblings.  Shelli also has a second blog she uses to share her opinions on many things.  She makes me think about how we are all interconnected.  There is nothing new under the sun, and that makes every day go by a little easier. 

You may have seen these thinking blogger awards popping up other places.  The rules are very simple:

1. If, and only if, you get tagged, write a post with links to 5 blogs that make you think!
2. Link to this post so that people can easily find the exact origin of the meme or blog that you enjoy.
3. Optional: Proudly display the ‘Thinking Blogger Award’ with a link to the post that you wrote.

I’m happy for this opportunity to share some links to great blogs that have enhanced my life, changed my opinion, taught me something, made me laugh… everyone in my blogroll does some or all of that, but I can only pick five:

1.  Quilly’s Quips:  I’m a huge, gushing, blubbering fan of Quill Dancer.   She’s the teacher I always wanted as a kid, the one I still want for my grandkids.  Quilly shares the stories of the little people she teaches, their triumphs and failures.  She also has a second blog called The Grownups Wanted Us Dead where she tells the laugh out loud or cry until your eyes swell stories from her childhood.  I love her engaging writing style, she’s quick witted and smart, I never leave her blog without something to think about.

2.  Guyana-Gal is a story teller.  From tales of her everyday life in Guyana to old stories she learned from someone else, she is an engaging and entertaining writer.  She makes me think always of the fact that America isn’t the only country in the world.  Back in the early days when I wasn’t seeing much, if any traffic, GG popped in regularly to remind me to quit whining and just write. 

3.  Leesa’s Stories  Leesa is a new read for me.  I like her sassiness, wit and the sheer variety of her topics.  You never know what you’re gonna find on Leesa’s blog, her opinion on a current topic, a movie review, details on her latest obsession… every day is a surprise.  Leesa not only makes me think most days, she frequently leads me to further research on something she’s talking about.

4.  Meditations from the Messy Middle of Things   Dr. Kate is an Episcopalian Minister and widow who shares stories of her family complete with the antics of the clumsiest dog in the universe, as well as essays on religion, politics and the things going on in the world and her church.  Luckily, Dr. Kate doesn’t post every day because I frequently must wander away and think about what she’s said before I can comment. 

5.  Lyric Flight Hayden is another of my favorite thinking blogs because you never know what you’ll find there.  Maybe a philosophical discussion, maybe a story about her dog, maybe a recipe for chicken pot pie or a peak from her perspective of my native state.  She is warm, and so very bright.  

My descriptions don’t do justice to these fine blogs.  Go there, visit, say hello and leave with something new to think about.  Just five doesn’t do justice to the wealth of interesting, funny, heart warming, chatty and informative blogs that reside on my blogroll.  If its raining at your house, like it is mine, take some time and check them all out. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

When You Have Kids… Apartment Life

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hammer  |  April 14, 2007 at 7:59 pm

    Congrats! I’ll go check those out.

    Reply
  • 2. Catch  |  April 14, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    great choices Kat! looking forward to reading some of these! Congrats on your award Sweety!

    Reply
  • 3. jackiesgarden  |  April 14, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    Sure, you! And thanks for the links. I’ll go find some new reads.

    Reply
  • 4. Hayden  |  April 14, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    kat, thank you! now I’ll go check out the other links…..

    Reply
  • 5. Shelli  |  April 15, 2007 at 5:07 am

    You are too kind.

    I will have to check out the blogs that you are honoring. I’m sure if you like them, they are good reads.

    Reply
  • 6. Mr. Fabulous  |  April 15, 2007 at 8:20 pm

    I will go check them out. I can always use some good thinking.

    Shelli rocks. And so do you.

    Reply
  • 7. Leesa  |  April 15, 2007 at 10:21 pm

    Kat,

    Thanks for the mention. I have already done the meme. Someone told me that if you actually get to the original site, there is a virus on there. Not sure if it is true, though.

    Have a nice weekend!

    Reply
  • 8. smileymama  |  April 16, 2007 at 5:27 am

    Hmm, those sound good. I’ll have to go read…tomorrow. Gotta read my current favorites first. 🙂
    T

    Reply
  • 9. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  April 16, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    What a surprise to find myself on your list! Thank your for including me. I have been missing in action the past week or so due to Holy Week and Easter and recovery, but it was a treat to check in today! I will take a look at the other blogs you have listed. CONGRATS on your award – I hadn’t heard of it before!

    Reply
  • 10. John Linna  |  April 17, 2007 at 3:59 am

    CONGRATS on your award.I think your blog deserves it.

    Reply
  • 11. QuillDancer  |  April 17, 2007 at 9:19 am

    Wow, Kat. Thanks for the incredible praise. I’m speechless — that’s a very rare occurance. Enjoy it.

    Reply
  • 12. guyana-gyal  |  April 17, 2007 at 11:23 pm

    Thank you, Kat. And I will check out the other links, they sound great.

    P.S. I don’t remember you whining, I do remember you inspiring me…I like your style, your humour, the way you keep going no matter what.

    Reply
  • 13. Gawpo  |  April 18, 2007 at 4:41 am

    I’m with Fab on who rocks. You rock. You think. You make me think. I dig you. And I need to get out more often—-I’m blog slacking in places.

    Reply
  • 14. I Am Honored « Quilly’s Quips  |  April 23, 2007 at 6:41 am

    […] Kat […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
April 2007
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds