The Demons Among Us

December 22, 2009 at 1:45 am 6 comments

This little face belongs to Iliana. Forgive her messy hair, we’d just come in from the snowy back yard  when I snuck up on her and snapped her picture. She’s afraid of cameras, small children, fast movement…and a host of other things she’s never seen before. Sweet little Iliana was born in a puppy mill and then used as a breeder for at least five years. We aren’t sure if she escaped or was dumped in the parking lot where Pap found her on a rainy day earlier this fall, but what we have discovered is that she was probably kept in a cage for her entire life.

Of all the heinous creatures that share this planet with us puppy mill owners and pedophiles are absolutely the worst. This little girl was riddled with every kind of bug and worm, wasted down to skin and bones, and then had her hair hacked off with what appear to have been gardening shears. For that alone her previous owner should be flogged. We haven’t had her trimmed properly yet because she’s still so thin and scared of everything. How you could do this to any dog is beyond my understanding, but to enslave this dog is nothing less than demonic.

When Pap brought her home and handed her to me wrapped in a towel, she curled up into my neck and went to sleep. She didn’t weigh as much as a tea cup, every little bone clearly defined under her fur. It took us two days of constant feeding for her to stop worrying that the bowl would ever be empty and eating until she threw up. She wasn’t house trained, leash trained or familiar with toys. She wouldn’t stop pacing through the house until we borrowed a dog crate and put it in our bedroom with the door open. It broke my heart when she went right in and layed down with her face on her paws.

We are several months and many visits to the vet past those dark days and Iliana has gained some weight, taken possession of half the toy basket (Walker was delighted to share with her) and now sleeps on our bed. She loves to run around outside and is doing much better at remembering THAT is where we poop (instead of under my dining room table.) Her progress isn’t really the subject of this post though.

Every time I find something else that scares her, or points out that she spent one third of her life in torture, I wish that there was some magical cosmic fairness fairy that would do to these puppy mill owners exactly what they’ve done to these dogs either by design or neglect.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Slippery and Elusive Time My Christmas Wish

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Quilly  |  December 22, 2009 at 2:36 am

    Vengenance is mine says the Lord — and I believe he has a special place in hell reserved for such people.

    Last Thursday driving down the highway I came upon 5 dead kittens. The retaining walls on both sides of the highway were quite tall. The kittens couldn’t have climbed them. I thought, surely their mother didn’t actually carried them out here? The bodies were widely scattered. How could this have come to be? And then I glanced in my rear view mirror and realized, they had been thrown, probably one-by-one, from the overpass. I cried the rest of the way home.

    Reply
  • 2. LauraJ  |  December 22, 2009 at 3:39 am

    There’s a special place in puppy heaven for owners like you! I’m so happy she found you and Pap!!

    Reply
  • 3. anhinga  |  December 22, 2009 at 6:54 am

    I can only imagine the black hearts of those who treat animals this way. Bless you and Pap for showing her what life is supposed to be about. She is precious and I’m sure you are to her, too.

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  December 22, 2009 at 8:24 am

    Quilly – how hideous. What is missing in people that could do something like that?

    Laura & Anhinga – We feel blessed to have the dogs. The puny little kindnesses we give them are nothing compared to the devotion and love they show us.

    Reply
  • 5. Little old me  |  December 24, 2009 at 11:14 am

    I can’t understand the type of person that could harm a animal, she is a lucky dog to have found you

    Reply
  • 6. saidkhorram  |  June 29, 2010 at 12:29 am

    Now we can help the dogs in puppy mills to have a much better life. Please spread the word!!!!

    Do Your Part To Stop Puppy Mill Abuse

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
December 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds