Quality of Life

January 8, 2012 at 8:37 am 4 comments

If not for this brave new world’s medical advances, my husband would have died several years ago.  Diabetic with vascular disease, without a quadruple bi-pass and stints, he wouldn’t be alive.  But the doctors can’t do it all, he has to take some responsibility himself.  A bucket full of pills and a very limited diet are necessary to keep him above ground.  Which brings up the issue of Quality of Life. 

He’s a foodie.  He sells it, cooks it, eats it and uses it as the center of his entertainment.  He did really well keeping his weight down for awhile, but now, at least from outside appearances, he has given up.  256 and climbing, 60 pounds over his doctors recommended maximum.  For him, maintaining a quality of life means not amending the list of foods he loves.

I wonder sometimes what my issue might be.  I’m blessed with excellent health and relatively few bad habits.  Right now with eight grand kids and one more on the way, I imagine I’d give up anything for one more day watching them grow.  I can’t imagine anything that would be worth more to me then seeing them graduating from college, getting married, and having kids of their own.  Stop writing?  Sure…if it gives me one more game of tag with Makenna, one more sewing lesson with Briauna, one more afternoon rocking Preslie.  Eat only bread and water?  Sure…if I get one more story with Ayla, one more puzzle with Juliette and one more chance to plant flowers with Brendolyn.  There just isn’t anything more important to my quality of life than watching Aubree build her music career, and seeing who Austin will date next.  

Maybe it’s a woman thing.  

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Three Pretty Girls and A Contest Boys, A Business and Wicked Good Fun

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. guyana gyal  |  January 12, 2012 at 5:53 am

    There’s a Cat Stevens’ song you might like, something about I’ve got a thing about seeing my grandson grow old…

    Reply
  • 2. Dave  |  January 14, 2012 at 11:32 am

    I think there comes a time in out lives where we say ok so if I do this , dont do that etc, I may live x number of years longer, but then to that individual missing out on those things they cut out etc may not be worth it. But that could be seen as selfish. GG point is very good as there are other people in this world who need you. Always a difficult callbut whats the saying often quoted ” moderation in all things”

    The baby looks great Kat, I bet you find it hard to take a break.

    Reply
  • 3. Hayden  |  January 27, 2012 at 1:49 am

    Food is a tough one for people to understand. Everyone “does it” but not everyone has the same relationship to it. And not all intense relationships with food are pathological. For many years, food was an obsession similar to the one some people have with art. Flavor and texture fascinated me.

    What’s changed (alas?) for me, is that my tastebuds are no longer as acute as they once were, and with that change (common to age) the obsession has ebbed.

    I miss it. But I’ve learned that I can no longer have that intensity that I used to love, and without the intensity the obsession with all things food has faded. There was a time when it was simple for me to parse a dish from tasting – I knew what ingredients had gone into it, and how and when they were added. People thought it was alchemy, but it was just the accumulated knowledge that comes with cooking and a strong sense of taste.

    I still taste dishes “in my head” but in my mouth the intensity is gone.

    Perhaps your man has more than the usual number of taste buds.

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  January 27, 2012 at 8:38 pm

    Thank you Hayden, you have enlightened me considerably about my resident foodie and maybe nailed what’s plaguing him. It’s so nice to hear from you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

