Boys, A Business and Wicked Good Fun

January 27, 2012 at 9:02 pm 4 comments

In 2012 Pap and I will gain two new grandchildren.  The first, Preslie, you’ve already met.  She’s doing smashingly well, by the way, growing and changing every day.  This summer, another daughter will be having …drum roll please…our FIRST grandson!! Holy cow, 7 grandgirls and now a boy??? Who the heck will the poor little guy play with at family functions?  I’m completely obsessed with shopping for tiny trucks and dinosaurs, button up shirts with khaki shorts.  Pathetic.

In addition to writing a new Christmas play, working on a cemetery tour and finishing up my friends books for his ice cream truck…I’ve been assembling a business plan.  Have you ever had in your life one of those moments when somebody says “Hey, you should….” whatever, and the cartoon light bulb pops up over your head?  A suggestion that instantly starts your imagination racing, an idea that becomes so obsessive you sit up at night crunching numbers and making lists of people that might be able to help you?  This is one of those times for me.  A full circle experience.  A business that will work better for me than anyone else simply because I’ve never been able to do just one thing because I was raising kids.  Eight years as a non-commissioned officer in the Air Force – works.  Twelve years in finance-works.  A lifetime around community theater-works.  Sew, knit, paint -works.  Construction through our old house of perpetual remodeling-works. Freelance writer-works.  Daycare operator and mother of many-WORKS!

Eventually I will write about this business but today I’m huddling under “if it weren’t for bad luck, I’d have no luck at all.”  Usually, only you dearest blog neighbors drop by and visit.  If I were to post all the details of my new business before I finish the trademark and patent work, some internet fluke would land my post on “freshly pressed” or you tube or something and the opportunity would be gone.  So…care to guess how I’ll be making my living this time next year?

Entry filed under: Family, home, The Grandkids. Tags: , .

Quality of Life Spinning so fast it seems to stand still

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dave  |  January 27, 2012 at 10:58 pm

    Now let me see ummmm I think you’d make a good, Life Counsellor. The reason I say this is having read your blog now for a long time and followed your adventures, ups and downs, I think you have a wealth of life experiences to draw upon. I’ll await the outcome of your new venture with bated breath. Good luck with what ever it is.

    Reply
  • 2. Hayden  |  January 29, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    You have me flummoxed, but I love your moxie and excitement – it’s palpable in this post!

    Reply
  • 3. katcampbell  |  January 30, 2012 at 12:15 am

    Ah Dave, what a nice thing to say. I could certainly counsel people on how NOT to wander through life!

    Hayden, you flummoxed???? I am excited, just can’t get this paperwork done fast enough.

    Reply
  • 4. guyana gyal  |  February 25, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    I know that excitement, that light-bulb moment!

    I won’t try to guess, I’ll wait. I’m excited for you too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

