Kids

March 16, 2006 at 12:10 pm 2 comments

Several of my friends and acqaintences have recently had babies. I love hearing about their trials and tribulations… three a.m. feedings, projectile vomiting, the mixing up of days and nights. Good times. These new parents have it made, there is so much information out nowdays about raising kids, it should be a breeze for them.

Now in my day… jeez, someone drag over the rocking chair, I’m turning into my grandmother and I’m not even 50!… We were the last generation to give birth sans epidurals (or most other medication for that matter). We didn’t need no stinking pain killers, we invented feminism, and doggone it, we were tough. One minute we were in crazy, mind blowing pain, the next we were waving good-bye to the nurses, our newborn child and donut pillow in hand. We didn’t have a library of books on how not raise serial killers or social misfits, we had theories, usually delivered from mother to mother at the grocery store or playground. No internet, but we did have Sesame Street.

I did a lot of stuff wrong, as did my parents, which helped me to develop my philosophy on my responsibility toward parenthood: My job was to do it better than my parents. Since I kept my kids, I succeeded. Which is not to say I had some tragic, neglected childhood, I didn’t, I was raised by an older sister and brother-in-law while my mother went about trying to find herself. I was happy, mother was as happy as she could be, I won’t speak for my sister who seemed to get the short end of that stick. Despite all the stuff I did wrong, I have five great kids. I can’t wait to see what kind of kids perfect parenting produces.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

O..H..I..O Drama, A Book and A Smoking Rant

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karrie  |  June 1, 2006 at 5:52 pm

    You do indeed have fantastic kids! You did good. *nods*

    Reply
  • 2. Home  |  August 17, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    This is very nice and informative post. I have bookmarked your site in order to find out your post in the future.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
March 2006
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds


