Insomnia

March 18, 2006 at 11:49 pm 6 comments

There is an entry in my baby book, in my sister-mom’s handwriting, that says “Kathy never sleeps.” The more things change, the more things stay the same. I won’t say I “suffer” from insomnia, until quite recently, I truly believed I just didn’t require as much sleep as everyone else. It didn’t seem to matter how many nights I spent reading under the glow of a single table lamp, or creeping around dusting and picking up in the silent house, I was as alert and well rested the next morning as everyone else. Here in my middle age, it’s different. Tonight for example, Princess is asleep on the couch behind me with the cat as usual, the dogs have gone to bed with Papa Bear and the only light in the house is the one from this computer. Not so different from the old days, the only significant change is me, I’m tired right to my bone marrow. I will be tired tomorrow and the day after that…

The Bean gets her surgery on Monday. A delicate subject, not suitable for public discussion, but, well, it’s me. Bean’s reconstruction of a body part that has chipped at her self-esteem for years is worthy of celebration and applause. I hope it is the magic she believes it will be.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Drama, A Book and A Smoking Rant Money Can’t Buy Happiness and other Urban Myths

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pianogirl71  |  March 21, 2006 at 1:04 am

    I know that punction has never bothered you Kat, but it drives me crazy since I was trained as a professional profreader. Few revisions need to be made to your blog.
    Love the “Insonmina” thoughts. It is like that. It didn’t use to matter if I slepped or not, now the word ends – or atleast becomes impossible, impracticle and full of self-absorbed people when my sleep cycle is interrupted. As it is tonight.

    Reply
  • 2. landdownunder  |  March 21, 2006 at 8:58 pm

    To Pianogirl71.
    You may have been trained as a proofreader, but spelling and grammer do not appear to havr been part of the training.

    Reply
  • 3. landdownunder  |  March 21, 2006 at 8:58 pm

    To Pianogirl71.
    You may have been trained as a proofreader, but spelling and grammer do not appear to havr been part of the training.

    Reply
  • 4. Kat Campbell  |  March 22, 2006 at 6:08 pm

    Where did you get the idea that I don’t care about punctuation? Of course I do, I care about all aspects of writing… and I can’t see anything wrong with the punctuation in this entry at least.

    Reply
  • 5. Great new way to make money with torrents  |  August 23, 2007 at 7:11 am

    very amazing stories here and your writing is great! thanks for sharing. nancy

    Reply
  • 6. bondage marilynblog  |  December 21, 2007 at 1:41 pm

    I couldn have said it better. Maria

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
March 2006
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds


