The Curse of the Overachieving Lazy Person

May 23, 2006 at 10:38 pm 3 comments

I am an overachieving lazy person. I know, it makes no sense. But, it does. I’m great at starting things… formulating a long term plan, tirelessly plotting out the details, but then, the follow through sucks. I think I drive people crazy with this behavior. But because I’m a good talker, no one would dare tell me I’m driving them crazy. They just stop contributing, stop calling, stop e-mailing. Princess is the single exception to this trend. But then, she’s also an overachieving lazy person, so it doesn’t count.

Memorial Day weekend coming up, the annual running of the Indianapolis 500. Sister-Mom and Ben-Dad are flying in with Kar and the kids before they go to the race. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen the family, so of course I’m freaking out. The house has to be clean, the yard has to be perfect, the dog has to be on his best behavior. The day job has to be put in order so time off can be taken, two books to edit, and Papa Bear still under the weather with his leg surgery. If I were just an over achiever, I’d be spending this time I’m writing about the things that need done, scouring the house. I’d rise at dawn tomorrow to sweep the deck, water the flowers and put the mulch in the rose bed before work at 8. From 8 to 4 I’d slave away wittling down my “in” box at the day job, and even skip lunch. From 4 until dark I’d mow the grass, plant the rest of the flowers, feed the fish, walk the dog and try to get the garage organized enough to close the door. From dark until I dropped from exhaustion I’d get the laundry done while finishing the editing on one book and the newsletter. But… I’m an overachieving lazy person. So chances are none of this will happen.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

More Quacks in the News Thoughts from the Garden

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. land.downunder  |  May 24, 2006 at 9:12 am

    Hey ! !
    what about me I never give up on you
    I keep emailing.

    Reply
  • 2. Kat Campbell  |  May 24, 2006 at 2:58 pm

    Ah Hah! So I do drive you crazy! And as my down under twin, you must also be an OALP!

    Reply
  • 3. land.downunder  |  May 24, 2006 at 7:10 pm

    Not really a OALP just an old bird who sometimes forgets she is not 25 and has not learned to pace herself

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
May 2006
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Feeds


