Leaving… Piece by Piece

August 15, 2006 at 9:45 am 1 comment

The Old Scot has had a stroke. He’s been losing little bits and pieces of life for several years. A heart attack, bi-pass surgery, diabetes, loss of a toe from diabetes, another bi-pass… breaking down like an old car. My natural mother left the earth in much the same way. One part at a time, each new illness snatching away more of her quality of life until she was left with nothing but her mind, and no way to exercise it.

There are better ways to write the last chapter of a life. I love to hear “she passed away peacefully in her sleep”. That’s a good way. Dignity is such an important commodity to everyone, how awful to have it stripped away after you’ve spent so many years to earn it. But that is the luck of the draw. I’ve often wondered what I would do if diagnosed with some life threatening disease or illness. We’d all like to think we’d be brave and stoic. I suspect at the first diagnoses I’ll have a melt down and people will spend the next few months trying to stop me from throwing myself in front of bus. I’ve been brave and stoic most of my life, I’m due a little bit of drama queen behavior.

My assistant goes on vacation next week which means I must actually make it to the office every day, all day. That could definately be problematic. In the good news department… Princess has been invited to the Marine Ball in November. She’s positively aflutter with plotting and planning.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Writers Don’t Clean House If Its Thursday I Must Be in Winnepeg

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. mert12345  |  August 16, 2006 at 6:50 pm

    I am sorry to hear that kat. Ill say some prayers for you and him.
    love you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
August 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds


