The Autumn of a Lifetime

September 11, 2006 at 3:26 pm 3 comments

Ever since we had our first chilly morning, I’ve been obsessed with the phases of a life and just where I am in that grand plan. When I was growing up and women were gossiping about the older man up the street with the young chippy – they’d call it “that May/December romance”.

Memories of my life as a kid are always in the pastels of spring- squeaky clean, shiny and new. They’re scented with chlorine, wet dog and playground sweat. I remember my late teens and child rearing years in primary colors suffused with neon – hot, ripe, passionate- surrounded by the cloying smell of honeysuckle, lavender and roses in full bloom.

The trees outside my kitchen window are still wearing their lush green canopies, but they’re beginning to fade. The green is less vibrant, some of the leaves are edged with brown. The vines in the vegetable garden are looking wilted and have lost most of their leaves. The patio umbrella is faded and drooping, the canvas chairs have permanent bottom shaped dips in them. I look at this sad picture of late summer and remember that in a week or two the garden will be filled with mums, richly shaded in oranges, golds and browns. The trees will glow gold and orange one last time before they drop the leaves for winter. As soon as we have a morning frost, the fading pumpkin vines will shrivel out of sight leaving behind a crop of bright orange pumpkins. That’s why I’ve always loved autumn, it’s like a fighter regaining his feet on the 8 count and going on to fight out the round. He may get knocked out in the next round, but for this one he has come up fighting, swinging, punching and putting on one last show.

I feel like I’ve entered the autumn of my life. My kids are grown and it’s the first chance I’ve had to fully pursue my own interests. There was that period right before Princess graduated from High School that felt like late summer – I was a little faded and droopy, sad and in need of plumping up. A bit scared about what was coming next. It’s only this year that I realized after late summer comes Autumn! Another batch of memories to make, this time scented with the smell of hot cider and burning leaves, colored with rich golds, oranges and browns.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Grandgirl Weekend Believe in Yourself

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. land.downunder  |  September 12, 2006 at 1:38 am

    Your too young to be in the autumn of your life my friend.
    Just a late bloomer and enjoying your Indian Summer.

    Reply
  • 2. Kat Campbell  |  September 12, 2006 at 2:16 pm

    Nope my friend, definately in Autumn, unlike a tree, for people the autumn of their life is long!

    Reply
  • 3. mert12345  |  September 13, 2006 at 11:46 am

    i love this time of year!! sorry been busy packing and getting ready to move on thursday!yahhh

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
September 2006
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Feeds


