Let the October Fun Begin!

October 4, 2006 at 7:02 am 8 comments

Since I’ve never been much of a football fan, my favorite part of October is definately Halloween. Wait… not even the actual Halloween, the preperation for it.

Haunted Houses were neighborhood things when I was living in California as a young child. We lived in the suburbs, on a cul-de-sac in which all the neighbors banded together to create “Halloween Village”. Tame, toddler friendly scariness. By the time I was 12, we’d moved to PA and discovered the rockinest haunted house I’ve ever seen run by Youth for Christ. I was hooked, there just isn’t a comparable adrenalin rush to being scared half to death in the company of your friends.

Considering my house of perpetual remodeling looks like a haunted house most of the time, it was a natural extension to top it off every October. This year I have the grandgirls, so party plans are already on the drawing board. What is more fun then developing a menu of monster toes and blood punch? Hmmm…. I wonder where I stowed that cauldron and broom from last year?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Stunned into Writer’s Block Rain and Lightening and Hail… Oh My!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sunflower Optimism  |  October 4, 2006 at 7:38 am

    Oh, what fun! When my kids were little, I used to throw a Halloween party for the neighborhood children every year. We would play “Pin the Nose on the Pumpkin,” or have them “Feel the Scary Stuff” (peeled grapes = eyeballs, etc.)

    Sometimes they would each decorate a small pumpkin to make a Jack O’ Lantern – using markers instead of knives, of course! Sometimes they would get an orange frosted cupcake to decorate. Lots of fun, many good memories. Have a ball with your grandgirls!

    Reply
  • 2. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  October 4, 2006 at 8:39 am

    What a brave soul you are! Halloween is my least favorite of all the holidays – too many years of making comples costumes I think!
    And mutliple children on sugar highs requires more energy than I have. I always find myself praying for kindergarten and elementary school teachers the day after Halloween! Have fun and please be sure to post some party pics for those of us who are “Halloween” challenged!

    Reply
  • 3. Sam Vern Hoot 'n' Nanny  |  October 4, 2006 at 11:46 am

    This city girl won’t do it right.
    Nanny! Be nice! It’s not like we’re overflowing with trick or treaters out here in BFE.
    Pappy used to bring ’em up in by the wagon full… THAT was Halloween fun.

    Reply
  • 4. FRIDAY'S CHILD  |  October 4, 2006 at 8:17 pm

    Hmmm…a Black Cat! There’s a superstitious belief that it is bad luck if a black cat crosses your way.
    Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply
  • 5. Jackie's Garden  |  October 4, 2006 at 10:42 pm

    I like all the holidays, but don’t even see any trick or treaters up where we live. I use to love it when my kids were small and could dress up. Plan a scary good party and have fun!!

    Reply
  • 6. Hayden  |  October 4, 2006 at 11:30 pm

    it’s a big holiday in my small town, but I’m a bit too far up the hill to get tricker-treaters at my own door. But the work has already begun. Front lawns are sprouting head stones as cemetaries form, and scarecrows are flaunting themselves on front porches.

    Even the local dentist gets involved, he pays kids by the pound to bring the candy to him next day, LOL! I don’t think anyone gives it ALL up, but it does make it more manageable.

    this year I got my Bichon, Jake, a skunk’s costume so we can prowl the streets in style.

    Reply
  • 7. LauraJ  |  October 5, 2006 at 9:13 am

    Sounds like fun!!

    Hayden, that sounds so funny, a dog in a skunk costume, too cute!!

    My boy is in a wheelchair so I’m trying to come up with creative ideas for a costume, and I have 3 weeks!!

    Reply
  • 8. Kat Campbell  |  October 5, 2006 at 3:37 pm

    I don’t know what happened to my comments yesterday! Jeesh!

    Sunflower – thanks for reminding me about “feel the scary stuff”! Must add that to the agenda.

    I can stand 2 hours of any kind of madness Dr. Kate, then I send the little darlings home!

    Hayden, Skunk Dog is too cute! My shih tzu is trying to decide between his biker outfit or his superman cape. I think he’s leaning heavily toward biker, he’s had his eye on the doberman next door for some time.

    Hoot and Nanny – I remember what fun hay rides were! No room in the city for that kind of fun.

    Friday, I’ve never been superstitious, and I usually have a black cat. Hmmm… there are some that would find that perculiar.

    Jackie you just tag along here, we’ll share all the fun without the mess or expense!

    Laura J – Thanks for coming by! I’ll go on the search for a creative costume for your little boy. When my oldest grandgirl was a baby, she and I dressed up as witches. I had a hoop under my skirt and she had her walker! It looked like she was floating around.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


