Rain and Lightening and Hail… Oh My!

October 5, 2006 at 6:59 am 7 comments


I was, of course, twenty miles from home when yesterday’s storm hit. In my cute car with the leaking roof. On an errand I wasn’t expecting to take so long – isn’t that always the way? To make a long story short by the time I went caroming into my driveway I was half soaked and putting the cover on the car finished the job. My pitiful dog is terrified of storms, and has apparently passed this phobia on to his feline sisters. All three of them met me at the door and attached themselves to my leg. But I’m not complaining. A change of clothes and baby talk to the animals got my house back in order, the people in my neighboring cities were not so lucky. Power lines down, hail big enough to break windows, it was a pretty scary night for some midwesterners.

My neighborhood didn’t lose power, but there were a considerable number that did. The local news pre-empted the evenings television shows in order to broadcast non-stop that there was a storm going on and people had no power. They kept staying “we’ll stay right here with you until this storm passes.” Now, call me stupid, but since once you’d heard the news (or looked outside) you knew there was a storm and if you didn’t have power, you couldn’t hear the news anyway… what was the point in all that?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Let the October Fun Begin! Banned Books

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sunflower Optimism  |  October 6, 2006 at 7:33 am

    One Tuesday, there was a problem and a tramway got stuck over the middle of the East River (you know, the same tramway that Spiderman had to save)

    Anyway, I know it was a Tuesday because they pre-empted Boston Legal, grrr. All to look at a stuck tramway. By the end, you had the history of each tramway occupant and an interview with their kinfolk, down on earth. Every once in a while, you would see liquid drizzling down from the tram – the commentators would go on about how those poor people didn’t have a bathroom.

    Granted, it was an emergency and people were stuck – but just watching a stuck tram while they figured out what they were going to do was not compelling news. No one was in danger. I think an occasional update banner at the bottom of the screen would have been enough.

    Reply
  • 2. Kat Campbell  |  October 6, 2006 at 7:44 am

    Sunflower I absolutely agree. Like following OJ Simposon down the highway for hours and hours. And they wonder why people stop watching tv?

    Reply
  • 3. Tina Dray  |  October 6, 2006 at 8:11 am

    sounds like a scary storm!
    Hi Dr.John sent me

    Reply
  • 4. Janvangogh  |  October 6, 2006 at 8:14 am

    Dont you love it when you dont have power, but your neighbor does?

    Here playing six degrees of Dr. John — marathon time again.

    Reply
  • 5. Kat Campbell  |  October 6, 2006 at 8:29 am

    Not so scary for me Tina, but scary for others. Thanks for coming by!

    Janvangogh – it’s perfectly evil of me, but yes, I do love it when I have power even when others don’t. Nice to see you here!

    Reply
  • 6. Velvet Sacks  |  October 6, 2006 at 10:58 pm

    The weatherman doesn’t often get a chance to showcase his “stuff.” Guess he’s gotta grab the opportunity when it presents itself.

    Reply
  • 7. Kat Campbell  |  October 7, 2006 at 9:24 am

    That’s a positive way to look at it Velvet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


