The Great Costume Debate and Other News

October 19, 2006 at 7:38 am 18 comments


With halloween and their party looming, we have been attempting to get the grandgirls to settle on what they want for costumes. Originally they wanted to dress as the Disney Princesses, but then there was a fracas over who got to be Belle. Since then they’ve waffled among a host of other cartoon characters but settled on nothing. I was getting desperate since I make their costumes and time is in short supply now days.

Yesterday they called with the final, final decision. Jazz wants to be a bride, not a scary bride, a real bride. Jules wants to be a frog. Bri wants to be a goth bride. I asked Bri if she knew what “goth” meant. She said no, so I asked why she wanted to be a goth bride. Her answer, typically, was because Allie (her cousin) was one last year. Bri will be a witch. How can you suitably portray your character if you dont’ even know what your character is? She’s okay with that, as long as the hat has feathers.

Still no word on my part in the play. They’re pretty busy up there with their current play – The Ladies of the Sacred South – the playwrite is coming to visit the November performances, so I’m sure that’s all they’re thinking about right now. Not how to keep their standing tradition of including ANYONE who comes out for the Christmas play a part. At least Christmas Tree #4.

Having been home babysitting Pap after his surgery, yesterday was my first day back at the day job for almost a week. You could wallpaper a room with the sticky notes left on my desk. I didn’t even listen to the voice mail, too scary. Oi. Back to it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Inevitabilities More Halloween Madness

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ordinary Janet  |  October 19, 2006 at 9:52 am

    Isn’t it nice to be missed, though? πŸ˜‰

    And what is Grandma Kat going to dress up as?

    Reply
  • 2. DaveM  |  October 19, 2006 at 1:11 pm

    First day back after a break and all you really want is to be kleft alone to sort through the dross of emails and things needed to be done. But do you get that time………?

    Reply
  • 3. sandy  |  October 19, 2006 at 4:53 pm

    Sounds like a fun time ahead Kat. My you are going to be, ARE busy. You must be the Fairy Godmother! πŸ™‚ Hope we get photos of the costumes. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 4. Kat Campbell  |  October 19, 2006 at 5:40 pm

    Janet – Nana has no time to make herself a costume this year, and my favorite old costume now lives on the dummy (see yesterday’s picture).

    davem – I hate being at the day job because noone will leave me alone to actually do work. Phones ringing, citizens, employees… ugh. It’s now almost 6 and I just finished yesterday’s mail.

    Sandy – I’m a nut case, if I were a child in 2006 they’d probably say I was ADD or one of those other initials! I will definately be posting costume pictures!

    Reply
  • 5. Hayden  |  October 19, 2006 at 7:28 pm

    I’m glad someone still makes their own costumes. My mom made ours and it seems so wrong to buy them – not nearly as much fun!

    that said, I bought Jake’s costume – he will be a skunk!

    Reply
  • 6. Guyana-Gyal  |  October 19, 2006 at 7:28 pm

    This is all so different from my life…yet in some ways, similar…like the time my cousins and I, very young girls, decided we were going to act out our version of The Sleeping Beauty we and dressed up in costumes.

    Couldn’t the goth bride wear black? πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 7. Kat Campbell  |  October 19, 2006 at 7:39 pm

    Hi Hayden! Ruger has settled on his OSU Jersey. Jake will look so cute as a skunk!

    GG – A goth bride could certainly wear black, but we’re trying to discourage “goth”.

    Reply
  • 8. Melli  |  October 19, 2006 at 8:41 pm

    Ahhhhhh yes! Those were the days! A witch is cute! CAN BE… oh… I guess she wants scary huh? My witches were always cute! LOL!

    I LOVE my gazelle! For $98 I think it’s gotta be one of the best items on the market! (but my kids got me mine for my birthday – so it didn’t cost me a thing!) πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 9. Kat Campbell  |  October 19, 2006 at 9:01 pm

    We’re all into cute witches around here too Melli. I think I’ll ask for a gazelle for Christmas, they look like fun!

    Reply
  • 10. Dr.John  |  October 19, 2006 at 9:20 pm

    We didn’t do the grandkids costumes this year.But other years we have. I should say Betty has .I just kibitz.

    Reply
  • 11. Kat Campbell  |  October 19, 2006 at 10:01 pm

    The dad’s always get off lucky Dr. John. Pap is in charge of handing out candy, I do everything else.

    Reply
  • 12. Mimi  |  October 19, 2006 at 10:04 pm

    I always hated having time off and coming back to a desk full of post its! ARG!

    That is so great you make the girls costumes. I wish I had someone to do that for me when I was a kid! My Binker is going to be a Scarecrow. But I say he is going to be a Cutiecrow because there is no way he could scare anybody! He is just too darn cute!LOL!

    Reply
  • 13. Linda  |  October 19, 2006 at 10:12 pm

    My daughter is still young enough that we choose her costume for her, but I think next year she will choose her own. Her Grammy makes her costumes for her, just like you do for your Grandbabies. This year she is going to be Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz. My M-I-L did a fabulous job on the costume.

    I think it is great that you make the costumes fo the girls. They will always remember that!

    Reply
  • 14. Kat Campbell  |  October 19, 2006 at 10:24 pm

    Mimi – Cutiecrow! LOL, that is too darn adorable. I did the scarecrow thing once, with real straw at wrists and neck…home by lunch itching like crazy!

    Linda – I love making their costumes, it’s the control freak in me.

    Reply
  • 15. Annie  |  October 19, 2006 at 10:33 pm

    You are another grandmother who is a heroine, I see. Making costumes at the last minute (well, almost) is really making memories for a lifetime, for you and your grandchildren. Because of your post I’m remembering my own grandmother right now. She is my heroine, that’s for sure.

    Reply
  • 16. Catch  |  October 20, 2006 at 12:39 am

    I am a grandmother too, but if I had to make a costume…it would have to be something made of tin foil!!! LoL…I cant sew a stitch! Bless you for being able to!

    Reply
  • 17. QuillDancer  |  October 20, 2006 at 2:29 am

    I am going to be a mean old hag — no costume necessary. muhahahahaha

    Reply
  • 18. Kat Campbell  |  October 20, 2006 at 5:54 am

    Annie – what a nice thing to say.

    Catch – no sewing? How’d you get out of home ec as a kid?

    Quilly – LOL, makes me think of my son. This is the time of year he’d be ticking off his sisters by telling them to “take their masks off” every morning at breakfast.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


