From the Sublime to the Ridiculous

October 21, 2006 at 6:41 am 14 comments

I had to run south yesterday to pick up a truck title for the day job. I’m sure I’ve mentioned before that I have no sense of direction. I can get lost in my neighborhood. Anyway… “south” of me is deep into what most people think of as the poorest part of Ohio. Lots of little towns, not much in the way of jobs, nothing that resembles industry. No chain restraunts, no malls, no clothing stores. I don’t go that direction much, my little town minutes away from two cities is as rural as I’m capable of being.

Because I have no sense of direction, I usually use mapquest to get me where I’m going. Mapquest is frequently wrong. It is always the longest way to get anywhere, but I’ve forgiven it for that, because we are dealing with umpteen rural routes and obscure state routes down here. Once the rain stopped yesterday, it was a beautiful day, cold and a little gray, but dry. I set out with my mapquest directions on what should have been a trip lasting less than an hour.

Apparently I went right when I should have gone left. Because I’m lost a lot, these kinds of things don’t panic me. I know that if I stay on a paved road, eventually I’ll find a town I recognize and can get home from or one that Pap can get me home from. Cell phones are man’s greatest invention. Again, I digress…

I’m driving along, admiring the fall foliage that lines both sides of the road, jamming along with the radio and then the road curves and suddenly I’m looking out over the most stunning example of what makes Ohio one of the most beautiful states in the Union. I had to stop the car in the middle of the road (no big deal, it’s not like there’s traffic down there) and just gape. From this vantage there is a view of rolling hills covered with a crazy quilt of brilliant leaves in every shade of yellow, orange, lavender and red.

Years ago, while attending my favorite church, we had one of those Sunday’s where everyone came with their heart in the right place. The opening invocation was How Great Thou Art. On this one Sunday, something happened during that song that has never happened before or since. The notes were clearer and louder than ever before, you’ve heard the term the “spirit moved”, there was a presence so strong and so good that day that when the hymn attended, everyone just stood there … gaping. It was so powerful that our minister didn’t even speak for several minutes, and when he finally did it was to just say “let us pray”.

As I stood there looking out over this magnificent fall display of God made things, that memory came back to me. How Great Thou Art…. I was gone for over an hour, and never did get where I was supposed to go. But I don’t believe in random acts, I think all things are for a reason, apparently my soul needed a little bolstering.

And now to the ridiculous – on Wednsday, a fellow potential castmate for the Christmas Play I tried out for stopped me to ask if I’d gotten my e-mail about rehearsal on Sunday. I HAD NOT. So I gave the producer until yesterday to notify me, which she did NOT. I fired off a letter of my own asking nicely if I was the first person in the 17 year old history of the play, in which EVERYONE gets a part, to be cut. She answered that “tee-hee, I must have accidently left you off the list! tee-hee”. Left off the list indeed. I’m fairly certain my role will now be “second bush behind the cottage wall.”. Rehearsal is Sunday, I’ll know then!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

More Halloween Madness Rehearsal and A Lazy Weekend

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. twobuyfour  |  October 21, 2006 at 9:08 am

    Slim and I were just discussing the concepts of Destiny and Fate this morning. I’m not sure if your favorite deity deliberately steered you to that beautiful spot or not, but I absolutely agree with your choice to soak it all in and appreciate it while you were there. I’m all for that whole “Stop and Smell the Roses” stuff.

    If we never take the time to look at sunsets and dew on flowers and listen to childrens’ laughter and taste pumpkin pie like it’s the last thing we’ll ever do we’ll miss out on an awful lot.

    I find by doing such things it goes a long way towards keeping the bad days in perspective.

    Reply
  • 2. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  October 21, 2006 at 9:52 am

    I am so glad that you are one of those folks who can be like Moses and metaphoorically take of your shoes in the presence of God’s magnificence and glory.
    Sadly, I share your lack of direction but somehow, manage to get where God intends me to go (not necessarily where I was going of course!)
    Do let us know which bush behind the cottage you are and post a pic!
    I promise we’ll applaud loudly!

    Reply
  • 3. Ordinary Janet  |  October 21, 2006 at 10:46 am

    Don’t you love it when you come across something beautiful like that unexpectedly? I wouldn’t consider it a wasted trip.

    and give ’em hell when you get to rehearsal! Be the greatest bush behind the cottage anyone ever saw in a play!

    Reply
  • 4. Kat Campbell  |  October 21, 2006 at 11:24 am

    Two Buy – I do much more of that “stopping to smell the roses” than most people. Someday I’ll post about why.

    Dr. Kate and Janet – Thanks for encouraging words! There are no small parts, just small actors!

    Reply
  • 5. patsy  |  October 21, 2006 at 3:27 pm

    i hope you get a good part.

    Reply
  • 6. Linda  |  October 21, 2006 at 5:19 pm

    My father lives in West Virginia and there are very many poor places like the ones you mentioned in Ohio. In the little town where my Dad lives you are either a coal miner or work for ski areas, because there is not much else in the way of jobs. One thing that they do have is an abundance of natural beauty. In the fall, it is absolutely breathtaking. I sort of feel like I need to leave everything behind and just stay there forever. I can totally appreciate how you must have felt. In the end, I am sure that it was well worth the trip, missed turns and all!

    It should be interesting to see what part you do get. Maybe from now on you will actually get emails.

    Reply
  • 7. Catch  |  October 21, 2006 at 11:46 pm

    Ohio can be beautiful indeed! And good luck on getting the part…..hope its a good one!!!!

    Reply
  • 8. otownhandyman  |  October 22, 2006 at 8:21 am

    Not that this has anything to do with your post, but, “tee-hee” is the most annoying two words typed on the internet. Who laughs like that? Bugs the crap outta me.

    Unlike you, my sense of direction is acute. I am a walking “GPS.” Which is nice, because I don’t have to spend that $700 on one!

    It makes me happy when I find a place in my travels when I step back and say, “wow, there really is a God.”

    Great Post, Kat

    Reply
  • 9. Kat Campbell  |  October 22, 2006 at 9:13 am

    Linda – well worth the trip absolutely, I just regret that I didn’t have my camera!

    Thanks for the support Catch and Patsy!

    Otown – I agree that “tee hee” is annoying, exactly why I used it, the whole situation was annoying! My husband and son are also like living road maps, we frequently think about changing their names to Mr. Rand and Mr. McNally.

    Reply
  • 10. Stacy  |  October 22, 2006 at 11:16 am

    ‘How Great Thou Art’ is my favorite hymn. I can’t hear it without getting chills. Something about it just makes my spirit soar and it captures the majesty of God so well. I’ve often experienced moments like you described when nature ‘wows’ me and the song runs through my head.

    Reply
  • 11. NMOTB  |  October 22, 2006 at 3:34 pm

    That was a lovely post! Hope you get a good part in the play, although I suppose being the second bush has got it’s advantages……..or maybe not! Have a great day and what’s left of your weekend!

    Reply
  • 12. Sunflower Optimism  |  October 22, 2006 at 3:53 pm

    Well, Kat, if you ARE indeed the “second bush behind the cottage wall,” I sure hope there aren’t any DOGS in the play! Maybe the producer is so embarrassed at leaving you off the list that she’ll upgrade you to ***STAR*** – or at least a tree, LOL. Whatever you are, break a leg and knock ’em dead!

    As for your moment of peace and communion – I’m glad you recognized it 🙂 Most would have plowed right through, missing the glory.

    Reply
  • 13. Jay  |  October 22, 2006 at 9:07 pm

    I am so like that myself – I rely on mapquest, but this summer when I was travelling, I learned the hard way that mapquest often suggests roads that are ancient, unmaintained, or don’t exist anymore…when a perfectly good road that would have taken half the time is mysteriously left out!

    Reply
  • 14. David  |  October 23, 2006 at 11:00 am

    Even with a map I always get lost so you have my empathy and you have my empathy for being lost and finding something.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


