Lucky People

October 23, 2006 at 6:38 am 18 comments


Did you see this story in the news? This guy from Wisconsin is visiting the Crater of Diamonds state park in Arkansas and finds this 5.47 carat flawless yellow diamond. Now that is a lucky guy.

Luck is an elusive theory to me. I think you either have it or you don’t, and I don’t. Nobody ever believes me when I say this, but let me give you an example. One year for my birthday a friend gave me twenty dollars worth of Christmas Cash scratch offs. Odds of winning were one in 10. I didn’t win on any of those tickets. Not even a $1. When I was a kid we took a weekend trip to pan gold once. People all up and down this river swishing and hollering. I swished and came up with sand and rocks. That’s it. Not even fools gold. Traffic lights turn red and the train track crossing bars go down at my approach. Some would consider my good health and the health of my children lucky. I think genetics has more to do with that than luck.

I’m not bothered by the fact that I’m not lucky, I’ve know it since I was a kid so I don’t count on luck for anything I really truly want.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Rehearsal and A Lazy Weekend It’s All The Parents Fault

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Catch  |  October 23, 2006 at 3:50 pm

    For my 50th birthday my family threw a big bash for me….I got close to 100 scratch offs in birthday cards…..I think I won about 20 bucks! lol, but at least I won something!

    Reply
  • 2. twobuyfour  |  October 23, 2006 at 5:09 pm

    Maybe it’s not “bad luck” but karma? Have you been kicking the dog or giving the bird to homeless people? Tipping cows? Making prank calls? Cheating on your taxes? Doubting The War On Terror?

    Reply
  • 3. Stacy  |  October 23, 2006 at 5:24 pm

    I don’t have any luck, either, but hope springs eternal. I keep right on buying those Powerball tickets.

    Reply
  • 4. Sunflower Optimism  |  October 23, 2006 at 7:16 pm

    Kat, I once won 50 scratch-off lottery tickets from a radio station (that was lucky!) but netted only $16 (not so lucky.)

    I used to think getting stuck at the train tracks was bad luck. But when my children were little, they were so excited when we got “stuck” – they loved to watch the train go by. Although they are both in college now, whenever I am stopped at the tracks I have to smile as I watch the train go by, remembering the fun we used to have.

    Reply
  • 5. land.downunder  |  October 23, 2006 at 8:07 pm

    Oh! Kat
    luck good or bad has nothing to do with anything. Just fate.
    Look at all the people who thought that they were unlucky to be late for work on 9/11

    Reply
  • 6. Kat Campbell  |  October 23, 2006 at 8:48 pm

    Catch – I feel your pain!
    Twobuy – I’m nice to everyone and everything…my Karma is aokay.
    Stacy – Pap and I spring for a lottery ticket every now and then. Craziest thing, we can consistently pick 4 out of 6 numbers until we actually buy a ticket, then we hit 1 or less.
    Sunflower – then you know exactly what I’m talking about~!

    There’s my girl down under! How nice to see you on my blog BB!

    Reply
  • 7. Velvet Sacks  |  October 23, 2006 at 9:20 pm

    Don’t discount the luck of being born with good genes. I sure see a lot of people running around out there who weren’t very lucky in the gene department. Everybody loves designer genes.

    Reply
  • 8. Kat Campbell  |  October 23, 2006 at 9:54 pm

    True, Velvet, I must of used my lucky quotient up all at once on excellent genetics!

    Reply
  • 9. Linda  |  October 23, 2006 at 10:06 pm

    I agree, some people are lucky and some people are not. I am with you, I am never lucky. I used to work with this guy who always won tickets to concerts from local radio stations. He won so much that they actually got to know him. The bad thing was that this particular guy ended up passing away in an industrial accident at the age of 31. I guess his luck must have run out. He was a really nice guy and is missed.

    So like you, I never really worry about not being lucky, because things can always change.

    Reply
  • 10. QuillDancer  |  October 23, 2006 at 10:12 pm

    Gloom despair and agony on me,
    Deep dark depression,
    Excessive misery.
    If it weren’t for bad luck
    I’d have no luck at all.
    Gloom, despair and agony on me.

    Today at the drive thru the bebop girly dropped my debit card and it went under my car. While I am trying to retrieve it unapologetic bebop girl says to me, “You wanna sign this credit slip before you get our hands all dirty?”

    I could not see the look in my eyes, but whatever it was, Bebop girl stepped back and kept the window closed until I was again in my car.

    Reply
  • 11. Kat Campbell  |  October 23, 2006 at 11:30 pm

    Linda – Wow, died at 31. It does make it seem like “luck” is issued and can be used up doesn’t it.

    Quilly – LOL! I’m trying to imagine just how withering a teachers look would be…you probably scared two years off that little girl! Good for you, she was rude.

    Reply
  • 12. Just Tom  |  October 24, 2006 at 1:54 am

    When you think of all the hominids that had to survive the saber tooth tiger or getting trampled by the mastodon in the hunt– or the ice age, survive long enough to make sperm meet egg and have that offspring survive long enough to do the same– the fact that every one of your ancestors survived wars, famines and plagues long enough to carry that genetic line along until your father met your mother, you realize that we are all lottery winners. What are the odds on that lottery?

    I think your pretty lucky.

    Reply
  • 13. Barnze  |  October 24, 2006 at 3:55 am

    Luck is a myth,Its all about the secret society that picks the winners,They control the traffic lights unall,I know i’m one of um.

    So mote it be.

    Reply
  • 14. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  October 24, 2006 at 7:32 am

    My father always told me that I would have no luck at all if it wasn’t for the bad luck that followed me rather consistently! I gave up on luck a long time ago and settle for putting my head down and working my butt off – seemed to work out ok.

    Reply
  • 15. Kat Campbell  |  October 24, 2006 at 9:37 am

    Spoken like a true optimist and historian Tom! Good genetics are a lucky thing.

    Part of that secret luck society Barnze? Send some this way!

    Yup, hard work has mostly worked for me Dr. Kate.

    Reply
  • 16. BobCiz  |  October 24, 2006 at 12:24 pm

    I hate to think luck has anything to do with what happens in my life. If I ascribed all the good and bad to luck, I would just get lazy and let whatever happens be the determinant in my life. I like to think I have more control than that, but that may just be wishful thinking.

    Reply
  • 17. Hayden  |  October 24, 2006 at 2:21 pm

    I used to say I had no luck, or bad luck – but last year I won three nice things, so I’ve had to stop saying that. Maybe it was just all saved up to hit at once – you never know what might be coming down the road!

    Reply
  • 18. Kat Campbell  |  October 24, 2006 at 4:32 pm

    Good point Bob. If all we had was luck, how would we ever feel a real sense of accomplishment?

    Hayden! You lucky thing! I hope its the start of a roll for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


