Ticking Clock and A Touch of Ranting

October 25, 2006 at 5:49 am 23 comments

R.S.V.Ps for the party started rolling in yesterday. That’s no indication of how many kids will actually be here, people on the whole have no manners now days. There is this tendency to wait until the last minute in case something better comes along. That irritates me to death. Of course there is the possibility that they don’t know what R.S.V.P. means. But you’d think that little message on the invitation that says “who’s coming?” followed by R.S.V.P. with names and phone numbers would clue them in. Jazz and Bri were not only unterrified by Pap’s gruesome Pirate, they wanted to braid his hair and then spent an hour using the microphone to make him sing Christmas Caroles. Argh… the lassie’s are jaded scoundrels, ain’t they?

I’ve had to fight the word verification on my own blog for the last three days. It’s only on there because I kept getting these weird spam comments “I visited your site and didn’t find what I was looking for…click over here”. Half the time I can’t read the crazy letters they have strung together. Time to recite the Dr. John mantra…blogger is free, blogger is free.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

It’s All The Parents Fault Just Say BOO and Call Me in the Morning

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Delmonti  |  October 25, 2006 at 6:27 am

    thanks for visiting and leaving a comment Kat. and yes, people do seem rude nowadays… but at least you’ve got a great family… and thats all that really matters.

    Reply
  • 2. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  October 25, 2006 at 7:59 am

    I find the RSVP thing odd too – and no one writes thank you notes anymore either. But, as I am frantically calling around trying to figure how many children are actually coming to my child’s birthday party, I try and remember that we are all so busy and by the time folks can locate their phones they have been interupted by five other things needing attention and don’t remember why they needed the phone in the first place!

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  October 25, 2006 at 8:15 am

    I think manners are completely out the window this day in age. What I find ironic is those same people who do not RSVP get so mad when they host a party and nobody RSVP’s. My extended family is the worse for this….if they only knew their Christmas presents is direct effected by their ability to RSVP throughout the year. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Kat Campbell  |  October 25, 2006 at 8:53 am

    delmonti – thanks for coming by! I like your writing style and enjoyed my visit to your place.

    Dr. Kate, it’s not that I don’t agree, but I’m busy than practically anyone I know and I still RSVP. People have to be taught manners, I think it’s gone out of fashion.

    Ooh, Sarah, that’s the way to fix ’em!

    Reply
  • 5. Jay  |  October 25, 2006 at 10:37 am

    Only about 20% of guests to our wedding bothered to RSVP – stupidity is multiplying at alarming rates.

    Reply
  • 6. Dr.John  |  October 25, 2006 at 11:23 am

    Sometimes the RSVP is late because the person belongs to the procrastinators club. All club mebers have good intentions but it takes them a long time to get around to it. Glad my manta is being used. I am adding your blog as a link so I can visit more often.

    Reply
  • 7. Mike  |  October 25, 2006 at 11:37 am

    The word verification is a good thing. Really kills the spamvertising. And you’ll get better at reading it with experience.

    Reply
  • 8. Kat Campbell  |  October 25, 2006 at 12:18 pm

    20% for your wedding, Jay? OY, that would have given me a heart attack.

    Dr. John you’re always my first read of the day and I will be very happy to see you here more often.

    I know Mike, but it really ticks me off to have to do things twice!

    Reply
  • 9. J.  |  October 25, 2006 at 1:13 pm

    I hope you’re planning on taking a ton of pics!
    I think I’ll be headed toward the kiddie party next year.

    Reply
  • 10. Kat Campbell  |  October 25, 2006 at 2:01 pm

    I will take a million pictures and I’ll post ’em here. I love parties. Kids, adults, a mix of both, as long as there’s food, music and people, I am happy.

    Reply
  • 11. sandy  |  October 25, 2006 at 9:16 pm

    Hope you get all your replies in good time Kat without you having to chase everyone up. Sounds like you’ve got a great party planned, looking forward to the photos.

    Word verification! I know! I know! *groan* I have to battle with mine too (poor eyesight does’t help) Spamers got intomy blog too ~ creeps! Dr. John’s mantra helps haha

    Reply
  • 12. Linda  |  October 25, 2006 at 11:24 pm

    I’ll never understand why people don’t RSVP. Do they think that you are magically going to know the number of people attending your party. When I had the Christening for my daughter three years ago, I sent out ivitations and did receive a good deal of RSVP’s, enough to know that about 70 people were coming. On the day of the event, I had about a dozen people walk up to me at the church and tell me that they were not coming back for the reception. This would not have bothered me so much, but that was food for a dozen people and of course I had a ton of food left over. I am sure something better had come along.

    I hope that your party turns out great!

    Blogger has had some problems again this evening. I have also had problems with Blogroller, too, which really frustrates me.

    Reply
  • 13. otownhandyman  |  October 26, 2006 at 8:01 am

    Kat,
    Wordpress is free too, and, you can host it on your http://www.katcampbellwriter.com/ site. Of course you’d have to have all your pals change their blogrolls to point to the new blog…but it would be worth it. Blogger sucks. Migration is terribly simple, and you can make the wordpress blog look exactly like your blogger blog. I’d be happy to help you migrate if you decide to give it a whirl. Also, built in to wordpress is a plugin called Akismet. It stops all spam, so word verification isn’t necessary.

    By the way, thanks for the link-a-roonie. I’ve reciprocated!

    Reply
  • 14. David  |  October 26, 2006 at 10:30 am

    I can taste the excitement!

    Reply
  • 15. Jackie's Garden  |  October 26, 2006 at 11:16 am

    Kat, it was nice to get to my computer and catch up on your blog. Hope you get out of the chorus, if that is what you want. (I remember you saying you can’t sing either!) I never count on luck for anything – think it’s six of one, and half a dozen of the other. I like your way of looking at bringing up kids….to do better than our parents. I did that. And I can now see my kids doing better than I did. Hope you get enough RSVP’s back to figure out what to make/do, etc. It’s just a lack of manners; people don’t have them and then don’t teach them, so some don’t even know them. I like thank you cards, bread and butter cards, the whole bit. Seems to me like it’s only common curtesy.

    Reply
  • 16. Jackie's Garden  |  October 26, 2006 at 11:21 am

    courtesy!! For God’s sake – I spelled that one cute! LOL

    Reply
  • 17. starbender  |  October 26, 2006 at 12:34 pm

    blogger is free… blogger is FREE…
    hahahaaaa. (it’s true!)
    : )

    Reply
  • 18. NMOTB  |  October 26, 2006 at 12:49 pm

    I just love reading all the blogs where everyone is getting ready for Halloween! We don’t celebrate it here but last year I had the privelage of being in Vegas on Halloween and boy did we have a blast!!!!

    Reply
  • 19. Mimi  |  October 26, 2006 at 12:59 pm

    Blogger is free when it comes to money. But costs frustration and headaches!;-)

    Reply
  • 20. Kat Campbell  |  October 26, 2006 at 2:51 pm

    We’re keeping our fingers crossed Sandy, so far there are 10 responses – good enough.

    Linda – even worse when they say they’re coming and then don’t show! Expensive!

    Otown! Thanks for the tip, and thanks for the link (I guess if I had any manners I’d have asked you before I linked – I have a habit of just doing it when I find blogs I like to read so I can find them faster.) If I get brave I think I will move my blog, and I’m taking you up on your offer to help!

    David – How bored are you reading my blog? Nice of you to come by, you have excellent manners.

    Jackie! Hooray, you have remembered us! I’ll be hopping over to see if you’ve left pictures…

    Starbender – nice to see you. Maybe you should move to wordpress too, then you could post more cool pictures!

    New Mom – Halloween in Vegas??? That would rock. You have seen the ultimate.

    Mimi – We’re starting a movement. WordPress or bust.

    Reply
  • 21. W. J. St. Christopher  |  October 26, 2006 at 7:54 pm

    Manners are becoming the equivalent of a dead language, even among those whose age or background would indicate they know better. You’ll throw a fab bash in spite of them!

    Oh, and don’t you love it when you make a mistake in the word verification, then it comes back with an even longer, more warped, and more complicated string? Aaarrgh! (That is NOT a cute, pirate’s “Aaarrgh”!)

    Good luck with your WordPress migration!

    Reply
  • 22. Abandoned in Pasadena  |  October 26, 2006 at 10:25 pm

    With prices the way they are, wouldn’t it be nice if people would take the time to BOTHER with the RSVP. Give me a break!! It’s the least they can do is to let you know that they are coming or not. Whats happened to everyone’s manners these days?

    Word verification sucks…Sometimes it takes me 3-4 times to pass it…And I swear that I am getting each letter right…I double check it. I think it just doesn’t like me. Sometimes it even gives me a bad word.

    Have you tried using the handicapped verification? With its warped sound you’d better be able to hear good and be fast…it’s not much better.

    Reply
  • 23. Kat Campbell  |  October 26, 2006 at 10:48 pm

    W.J. – I think manners have become passe. Luckily my kitchen is always stocked, if more kids show up than what’s RSVPed, I’ll have something to feed ’em.

    Padadena – I know! I get these crazy strings of letters that all look alike. Makes me want to spit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


