If It’s Sunday, I Must Be Brain Damaged

October 29, 2006 at 8:09 am 13 comments

Pap and I worked hard for our calm, adult life. We planned for it. Had all our kids in our 20’s so they’d be gone in our 40’s. We assumed our progeny would do the same, which would leave us ten years to do our own thing before grandkids started showing up on the scene. In Pap’s case that meant running around naked a lot. In mine, it involved tidy dinner parties with six witty guests, weekend trips to tropical places and endless hours of free writing time. Oh well.

Operation cleaning was almost a success. We did bring order to the den, library, craft room and the grandgirl’s bedroom with a minimum of tears and broken knick-knacks. Just as Jazzmin threw down her dust rag and declared “I’m sick of cleaning, I’m ready to make a mess!” Briauna distracted me with the lure of a rousing game of Risk and the three year old had a total meltdown. Juliette can scream like Jamie Lee Curtis in any of her slash and gash movies, scared my poor dog to death. I gave up, we carved pumpkins. Then watched Monster House.

Tonight is play practice, where I will once again attempt to croak my way through Christmas songs. One more week of this and they cast the skits.
In which I will have a part, or they will have a scathing review in my paper. I don’t mean that.

Most of the freelance jobs I apply for ask for a resume and a writing sample. Every now and then, they look at these things and then follow up asking for a link to my blog and/or website. Since I never land one of these jobs, I have come to the conclusion that my best writing must be here, and the look inside my head is way too scary and unorganized for an employer.

Note to self: It’s going to be one of those ADD kinds of days, probably best to start the day with something less twisted than Pink Floyd… ooh, look at that duck….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Party Countdown Beggars Night

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ordinary Janet  |  October 29, 2006 at 10:01 am

    You know what they say about the best laid plans of mice and men…

    Spontaneous is the best way to go! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. DaveM  |  October 29, 2006 at 12:08 pm

    I dont know the things you do for Gandmom of the year award. Good on you, and as Janet says the best laid plans etc.

    Reply
  • 3. Catch  |  October 29, 2006 at 12:17 pm

    I just bought monster house movies for both of my grandsons….was it good???

    Reply
  • 4. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  October 29, 2006 at 2:52 pm

    My mother’s favorite line is “Life is what happens while you are making other plans.” Chin up about the play and the music – we’re with you!

    Reply
  • 5. goldennib  |  October 29, 2006 at 3:29 pm

    Tell those prospective employers to come see me. I’ll give you are hearty thumbs up.

    Reply
  • 6. Hayden  |  October 29, 2006 at 9:58 pm

    I figure one room cleaned is a MAJOR accomplishment. And the only excuse I have is boredom with cleaning.

    Reply
  • 7. Kat Campbell  |  October 29, 2006 at 11:02 pm

    Janet – What a sweetie you are, feel free to say I told you so!

    Dave – what a nice thing to say, I just love kids, they give me an excuse to be silly.

    Catch – Monster House was okay, if you liked Polar Express, you’ll like this.

    Thanks Dr. Kate! I’m trying to be professional about the singing.

    Goldenib – Thanks! I just might have to!

    Hayden – Very true, we managed four so I shouldn’t be complaining.

    Reply
  • 8. Jay  |  October 30, 2006 at 7:39 am

    I wonder if I can throw down my dust rag with a similar statement. I, too, am an unhappy cleaner. But these things usually sound better out of the mouths of babes, right?

    Reply
  • 9. Kat Campbell  |  October 30, 2006 at 8:01 am

    LOL, yeah Jay, I think once you’ve gone through puberty these kinds of statements are no longer cute.

    Reply
  • 10. Dr.John  |  October 30, 2006 at 8:25 am

    Happy grandkids are better than a clean house. Trust me on that. It sounds like life is good for you at the moment.

    Reply
  • 11. Kat Campbell  |  October 30, 2006 at 8:56 am

    Dr. John life is always good for me, you have to work at it a little, but there’s usually something cool in everyones world.

    Reply
  • 12. jackie  |  October 30, 2006 at 12:21 pm

    Kat, lol, I like to think about you up there “mouthing words” in the chorus – am anxiously awaiting hearing whether or not you get to play a part you want. And I’d think you’d get any job you wanted!

    Reply
  • 13. sandy  |  October 30, 2006 at 6:51 pm

    But Kat, it’s party time ~ once the kids let rip it’ll need cleaning/tidying AGAIN! Have fun, enjoy, save time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


