Beggars Night

October 30, 2006 at 8:22 am 16 comments

Here in my little town, with a population of less than 3,000, we have a church on just about every corner. The town is dry, no hard liquor sales, and sometime in the past the Council decided that children trick or treating on October 31st was too dangerous. So they changed the name to Beggar’s Night and move the date every year to accomodate … well, the council or sometimes the Mayor.

I really try not to be a poop about things like this, but come on! This is ridiculous. Their attempts at safety didn’t change anything but the insertion of razor blades into chocolate one day early… if that was something some wicked person was going to do anyway. What the council gained was two nights of opportunity for teenagers to soap windows and break pumpkins. Oh, and the influx of kids from other towns who don’t practice this wonky policy and trick or treat in our town one night and theirs the next. Dorks.

I woke up this morning with the mother of all snotty, sneezy, head pounding, eye leaking colds. I blame this on the music director of my play. Last night we did SERIOUS singing.

The poor woman started rehearsal by asking: “Sopranos? Where are my sopranos? Okay, Altos, tenors….” until finally she got down to me. I suffer from the need to be honest, I should have just pretended I could sing with the alto’s or something. She looks at me over her podium, and says “let’s just try some parts out for you Kat”. We eliminated the two soprano groups right away without even trying, then muddled through the high altos and the low altos. Finally she says “just try singing with the tenors.” I’m pretty sure I warbled along on my own thing all night despite the fact that I was trying to stay in tune with somebody. The somebody just kept changing. That kind of stress and throat punishment would give anyone a cold.

Despite several years of piano and clarinet lessons, I don’t have a good grasp on reading music. I know when to hold a note, when to sing higher or lower, just not higher or lower than what. She can pound that keyboard with my starting note all night and it still does not relate to me as a sung note. When she started directing us to go back to “the 13th bar” or “hold that three beats”, I was completely lost. What I need is someone who sings really loud and in my range, then I’ll just hum along. Which won’t work for long, because once we start actual rehearsals – we’ll be walking and singing. One more rehearsal and they cast the speaking roles. That’s my new mantra. Oh, and never, ever try this again.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

If It’s Sunday, I Must Be Brain Damaged The Power of Numbers

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacy  |  October 30, 2006 at 11:36 am

    Trick-or-Treat is actually on Halloween in our area this year and at night! I can’t remember the last time that happened. It’s been on the closest Saturday afternoon for years. Who the heck wants to trick-or-treat in the daylight?

    Reply
  • 2. Jackie  |  October 30, 2006 at 12:29 pm

    Kat, interesting that no one thought of this down side to Beggar’s Night that you mention. Sounds like the city council where I live – always a little on the short sighted side.

    I think you are so brave to sing when singled out! You are. sure to get a GREAT part, you deserve it

    Reply
  • 3. DaveM  |  October 30, 2006 at 1:16 pm

    Halloween is Halloween on the 31st. You cant change that. we have problems will people using trick or treat as an excuse for vandalism. This year there is an instant £80 [$150]fine for offenders. As someone who loves music but is tone deaf when it comes to singing I admire you for getting involved. Me …I would be a scenery painter.

    Reply
  • 4. DaveM  |  October 30, 2006 at 1:22 pm

    Kat …just found this for you
    http://www.extremepumpkins.com/pukingpumpkin.html
    Hope you have the same sense of humour?

    Reply
  • 5. NMOTB  |  October 30, 2006 at 3:34 pm

    Hi Kat, that is so ridiculous!!! I mean the 31st is the 31st???? Silly twits! Hope you get a good part in the play!

    Reply
  • 6. Mr. Fabulous  |  October 30, 2006 at 5:48 pm

    Yeah, this sort of stuff burns my cookies.

    Hey, singing girl, how about an audio post showcasing your talents? 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. twobuyfour  |  October 30, 2006 at 6:02 pm

    How much singing does the Third Bush Behind the Wall really need to do? How long and drawn out is this play you’re in? I would think with that role you’d be pretty safe just mutely opening your mouth during the big numbers where everyone sings along. And looking like a damned fine bush.

    Reply
  • 8. FRIDAY'S CHILD  |  October 30, 2006 at 7:36 pm

    You mean you won’t get to celebrate your Halloween? You’ll be singing instead? Oh poor you. How deep are you in this anyway. (Lol)
    Thanks for dropping by and Happy Halloween.

    Reply
  • 9. BobCiz  |  October 30, 2006 at 8:15 pm

    I remember, as a kid, that halloween night meant NIGHT and that we would get to run around collecting all that tooth rotting candy. The candy collecting was simply an excuse for being out after dark, which is what made the whole halloween experience special. There was never any lurking danger from pedofiles and madmen that we were aware of. Such a much more innocent time.

    And despite those rather fond memories of childhood halloweens, I still don’t quite get it. I’m not saying you shouldn’t have fun with it, stroking your inner child and enjoying the fantasy of witches and goblins and ghosts and scary creatures. I’m just wondering how we arrived at all this fantasy. I’m hoping that someone will offer a lesson in our cultural journey to this point that will satisfy my question. Yes, I’m too lazy to do the research myself.

    Singing is an expression of joy. At least it should be. So even if you think you can’t sing, if you look as though joy is accompaning the notes from your mouth, it won’t matter how you sound to others. So enJOY.

    Reply
  • 10. goldennib  |  October 30, 2006 at 8:54 pm

    I love to sing. Unfortunately, there is a restraining order against me for singing within 10 miles of any other being with ears.

    Reply
  • 11. Kat Campbell  |  October 30, 2006 at 9:53 pm

    Trick or Treat in daylight is only for toddlers, huh, Stacy?

    Jackie – I’ve never understood how six grown men could consistently be so short sighted. Makes me crazy. That’s our problem, no mothers on Council.

    Dave that pumpkin site was hysterical! I do unfortunately have a rather twisted sense of humor.

    Thanks New Mom, we’ll just have to see.

    Mr. Fab – I can’t carry a note in a bucket, can’t buy a tune. I have many talents, I totally suck and singing, and it’s safe to assume that even the people who attend this play will not hear me singing. I was bamboozled into trying out with promises of a speaking part. They’ll pay up or I’m calling my Uncle Guido.

    Two buy – Even though this is a charity event that they let anyone perform it, they put on their usual quality of show. We’ll have rehearsed from October to production which takes place Dec. 8,9 and 10.

    Nope Friday, singing and Halloween are on two different days. You’ve just experienced an attention deficit disorder post.

    bobciz those were good old days, and gone forever. I’m also too lazy to do this research that’s why I pretend it just sprang up one day for no apparent reason.

    goldennib – we could start our own society of non-singers, then maybe we’d sound good.

    Reply
  • 12. Jay  |  October 31, 2006 at 3:11 am

    I admire anyone who gets out of their comfort zone to try something new.

    Reply
  • 13. Sunflower Optimism  |  October 31, 2006 at 7:13 am

    Very silly, that Beggar’s Night idea. Halloween is Halloween – let the kids enjoy! When my kids were little, we used to take them around after school – but hardly anyone was home, so we started going a little later. As they got older, a troop of them would go around the block themselves – and a few of us moms (armed with a bottle of wine) would get together and wait for them to return.

    Sing your heart out! If they don’t like it. . . well then, they can just give you a speaking part!

    Reply
  • 14. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  October 31, 2006 at 7:31 am

    Don’t you just love the law of unintended consequences. God bless the town council. As for the singing – God only said to make a “joyful” noise. There is no requirement that it be in tune, on pitch or blend with anyone else’s joyful noise. Sing your heart out and we will all pray you wind up with a speaking part! In the meantime, green tea and honey for that cold> Take care of yourself!

    Reply
  • 15. Kat Campbell  |  October 31, 2006 at 9:55 am

    Jay, stepping out of the box isn’t all that admirable, there are some who would even call it reckless and insane… but I appreciate your support!

    Sunflower – no halloween should be spent without a bottle of wine (we enjoyed a lovely chardoney last night while handing out candy.)

    Dr. Kate – Thank you for reminding me that I need only make a joyful noise! Of course that’s been my problem, I’ve been trying to be good. There is a children’s choir as part of this production, last rehearsal I watched them just singing their hearts out, their little eyes all bright and sparkly and thought – I should approach this just like those kids.

    Reply
  • 16. Ordinary Janet  |  November 1, 2006 at 10:12 am

    If nothing else, you’re getting blog posts from that experience! Hope you feel better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


