Author! Author!

November 4, 2006 at 6:40 pm 11 comments

This afternoon I’ll be attending a tea with the author of Lady’s of the Sacred South, Raleigh Marcell.  The community theater is performing this play now, and he graciously agreed to come up for a visit to see it.  I interviewedraleigh-marcell.jpg him last week for the paper.  He’s an interesting free spirit with that wonderful accent that musters visions of mint juleps on the lawn and sunny days at the Kentucky Derby.  That’s him in the center of this picture, during a reenactment.  His wife is a museum director, and Raleigh is a part of the programming she’s scheduled at her museums.

Raleigh is the kind of guy our parents would have called a bum.   In 1964 he graduated from High School and got married.  He then decided that he’d work “catch as catch can” because all he wanted to do was write.  He’s managed to supplement his wife’s income over the years with odd jobs and some success at playwriting, mostly for community theaters.  He scripts the action for civil war reenactments and does adaptions of novels for the stage.   In his own words “I write plays because I couldn’t put a paragraph of prose together if my life depended on it. I think in dialogue”.

When my writer’s group rants and wails about how tough it is to get published in the future, I will remind them about Raleigh.  About the need for single minded determination, and finding your niche.  I’ll ask them to clearly identify their measure of writing success.  He’ll be my example to my girls.  The importance of finding a life partner that will let you chase your dreams. 

Entry filed under: Music and Theatre, writing.

A New Attitude Tea and Talk

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janet  |  November 4, 2006 at 8:21 pm

    You better tell us all about it! I’ll be waiting!

    Reply
  • 2. tony  |  November 4, 2006 at 8:44 pm

    Hey! I resemble that “bum” monicker! My Mom always said that I could do whatever I wanted to do. I guess I just enjoy creating things and working with my hands. I have been a salesman in my day, and a darned good one at that. Sure sometimes I don’t pay the bills on time. But I pay ’em!

    Reply
  • 3. katcampbell  |  November 4, 2006 at 8:46 pm

    My parents would have considered you a bum Tony, but I am more enlightened. I call this “free spirited” and “chasing their dreams”… all admirable qualities!

    Janet – You couldn’t stop me from telling all about it!

    Reply
  • 4. Hayden  |  November 4, 2006 at 11:29 pm

    I think many of us have trouble finding the right mix between responsibility – which includes not only oneself, but the others in one’s life – and daring.

    I know I’ve certainly buried a lot of dreams – over the last nine years I’ve been slowly unearthing them, and it’s been a freeing experience.

    but I haven’t taken the real leap yet, and given up the corporate job that I know full well is killing me.

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  November 5, 2006 at 1:29 am

    You’re right Hayden, I’ve done the same thing. As of December, I’ll have one year left to let the day job suck out my soul. It’s very hard to give up security in favor of pursuing one’s dreams and talents. I think that’s why I like Raleigh so much, he wasn’t afraid.

    Reply
  • 6. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  November 5, 2006 at 7:27 am

    It is so important to have dreams and to find a life and a life partner that let us live out our dreams. Raliegh sounds like a pretty cool guy!

    Reply
  • 7. katcampbell  |  November 5, 2006 at 9:22 am

    I certainly liked him Dr. Kate, and apparently his wife does too, they’ve been married for a very long time.

    Reply
  • 8. delmonti  |  November 5, 2006 at 2:09 pm

    There you are!

    Reply
  • 9. totouchaunicorn  |  November 5, 2006 at 8:42 pm

    As you say Kat you have to be single minded and brave to let go of security and live your dream, and you need a partner like Raleigh’s wife who will let you, encourage you to live that dream. It isn’t easy to get published (as of course you know :p) rejections can be soul destroying,lack of money can be daunting, so easy to put your dreams on hold.

    Will look forward to reading about the interview.

    Reply
  • 10. Jackie  |  November 5, 2006 at 10:59 pm

    Kat, sounds like you got to do a really interesting interview. I think it’s not only special to be able to follow your dreams and talents – but special to even have them and be able to recognize them. Some people never do either.

    Reply
  • 11. mrsjosegoldbloom  |  November 6, 2006 at 9:19 am

    Jose never lets me chase my dream of spending mass quantities of money! Oh well I guess there are other dreams.

    Hope you had a wonderful time Kat!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds


