Maudlin Monday

November 6, 2006 at 9:58 pm 11 comments

Weirdest weekend, I feel like I’m straddling 1976 and 2006, half my mind in each decade.  I interviewed the cast and Director of Cinderella yesterday, they’re singing “The Prince is Having a Ball!” and I’m hearing “With Your Love”.  Remember that old song by Jefferson Starship?  I liked them as Jefferson Airplane too, sell outs.  Normally when I’m troubled or fussing about anything, I write it out.  But the story won’t get on the paper (or the screen).  It is incomprehensible to me that a thirty year old romance could still be impacting my life today.  Its difficult to write what you don’t understand.  I’d have better luck with rocket science. 

Anyway, I attended their dress rehearsal, took a bunch of pictures, finished up my notes and strolled out the door with the intention of dropping in on the grandgirls until my rehearsal later that night.  Then I remembered I’d forgotten my music.  So I had to drive the forty miles back home to get it and then back to the theater.  I hate when I do that.  I need to pin notes to my shirt now days “don’t forget the camera”, “are you wearing shoes?”, “Wait!  Have you brushed your hair today?”  Next week they cast the skits.  I’m sure I’ll be assigned something smashing like:  char woman in the window.  In the mean time, I’ve found a way to contribute to the chorus without lip synching.  I just start out with the altos for a bar or two, then shift over to tenor for a measure and wrap everything up in bass!  It’s working for me. 

Election day tomorrow, I hope everyone has plans to vote.  Tuesday is also grant us peace day. 

Entry filed under: Music and Theatre, randomness.

Tea and Talk Dona Nobis Pacem

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. NMOTB  |  November 7, 2006 at 1:11 am

    Sounds like fun! hope you get a good part! Good luck for the elections! Take care and have a good week

    Reply
  • 2. Vanessa  |  November 7, 2006 at 2:07 am

    It is not that your memory is going, it is that you have way more things to remember.

    Reply
  • 3. katcampbell  |  November 7, 2006 at 3:19 am

    What a nice thing to say Vanessa! If only it were true!

    Reply
  • 4. John Linna  |  November 7, 2006 at 6:34 am

    We were always about half way to Green bay when I would say did you pack the camera? The answer was always O! No!.

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  November 7, 2006 at 6:57 am

    Notes pinned to shirts Dr. John, I’m positive that’s the key to life!

    Reply
  • 6. Velvet Sacks  |  November 7, 2006 at 7:19 am

    I’ve learned that there are chunks of my day when I’m on autopilot (getting ready for work in the morning, for example). I do fine as long as I operate within that familiar zone, but let one little thing happen to disrupt my sequence, and I’ll forget to turn out the light, lock the door, something or other. I thought it was an age thing until I opened the cabinet the other day and found the jug of milk my daughter had left in there next to the glasses.

    Reply
  • 7. J.  |  November 7, 2006 at 9:47 am

    I like Vanessa’s thought. Let’s just go with that, okay?

    Nice new digs!!!

    Reply
  • 8. jackie  |  November 7, 2006 at 9:56 am

    oh, yeah, kat – i know about the need to pin notes to your shirt! i’ve finally accepted that if i don’t write it down – it’s gone forever. i have notes for everything now. the trick was learning to always keep the same ones in the same place so i’d know which one to take with me where. (hope you followed that!) darn, life is complicated. LOL

    Reply
  • 9. Hammer  |  November 7, 2006 at 11:23 am

    Best of luck! and yep I’m voting.

    Reply
  • 10. Catch  |  November 7, 2006 at 2:05 pm

    I am just like you, I go out and forget whatever I needed. What I have been doing for a while now is..when I am going to work ( which isnt often) I put everything in a bag that I want with me at work, or I set it on my coat! I have even gone so far as to set stuff in front of the door !!! But you know what Katt? It works!!!! lol

    Reply
  • 11. totouchaunicorn  |  November 9, 2006 at 6:17 am

    You certainly have a full and interesting life Kat, no one could ever say you are a wallflower lol No wonder your memory puts some tiny things on hold. Very impressed with your vocal range too. :p Hope you get a good part.
    Sandy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds


