Once the Dust Settled

November 8, 2006 at 5:33 pm 14 comments

Is it just me or was that the most emotionally draining Tuesday we’ve had in a very long time?  I like topics that get people talking.  I find it very interesting to see many different angles on the same problem.  Thank you to everyone who commented here yesterday, I appreciate that even the opposing positions were made in the spirit of debate rather than ridicule or hostility. You are magnificent people.

Locally, the vote was more social commentary than any I’ve ever seen.  Across Ohio the majority said NO to gambling, smoking in public, and adding any more liquor licenses to their towns and villages.  They said YES to raising the minimum wage to $6.85, cemetery, school, tax and fire levys.  A grievous piece of crooked politics was corrected in the County auditor’s office and in this mostly red state, a whole lot of Democrats won seats at everything from commissioners offices to the Govenors Mansion. 

Democrat or Republican, these new leaders campaigned on a platform of change.  Now it’s our job to watch them closely and make them pay up on their promises or explain why they can’t.  I’m registered as a Democrat, but I’ve voted across my party lines on many occasions, in an attempt to pick the best “person”.  We asked for change, we definately got it.

Entry filed under: Social commentary, Uncategorized.

Dona Nobis Pacem Back to Randomness

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tony  |  November 8, 2006 at 5:43 pm

    Undoubtedly, we live in the most amazing country on the face of the planet.

    I visit the blogs of people from all over the world, and, they can’t have the spirited debate that we had on your post from yesterday. They’d be stoned to death in some instances.

    I read a blog written by an Iranian man living in Dubai. He’s very outspoken and wants regime change in his native land. Every time his boss asks him to return to Iran for business, he cringes, thinking they’ll stop him at the Teheran Airport…and that will be it. The End. Kaput.

    Nobody likes war. Especially me. Every time I hear that one of our soldiers, or an innocent bystander in Iraq is killed…my heart sinks. I hope and pray that the conflict in Iraq ends, but not before the Iraqis can fend for themselves and the terrorists are unable to get a foothold and launch their ideology of fear from there.

    Keep on truckin’, Kat. I thoroughly enjoy your blog!

    Reply
  • 2. J.  |  November 8, 2006 at 7:57 pm

    I hate to do it, but I have to admit to my complete ignorance when it comes to american politics and the way thing work.

    Reply
  • 3. J.  |  November 8, 2006 at 7:59 pm

    And fix my name on your blogroll, chick.
    It’s JAN.
    *wink*
    (errr … that sounded a little demanding, didn’t it … where’s my coffee, wench?)

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  November 8, 2006 at 8:05 pm

    Hey Jan – I was spelling your initial phonetically! That’s what a girl gets for trying to protect the identity of her blogroll. Jeesh!

    Tony we do live in an amazing country. My family and Pap’s have a long history of military service right through he and I, which is why my views on war are rather unwaivering.

    Reply
  • 5. Linda  |  November 8, 2006 at 9:15 pm

    It was a crazy day here in MD. We had over 192,000 people request absentee ballots, including myself. I am an independent voter and usually try not to vote for republicans or democrats (weird, I know). Where I live, it is almost an exclusive republican government. It is very frustating at times. If you look at the votes in our county, they are usually opposite of thoses of the rest of the state.

    I usually stress that no matter what the outcome, people need to be informed and get out there and vote. If you don’t vote, you shouldn’t complain.

    I am sorry that I missed yesterdays post, I am sure there were some great reads!!

    Reply
  • 6. mrsjosegoldbloom  |  November 8, 2006 at 10:29 pm

    Nice Post Kat, and I too enjoy being able to discuss things openly. That’s one of the Great things about being an American. I learned a long time ago that it’s okay to disagree, now I wish Jose would learn that. 🙂

    Anyway thanks for sharing your views in such an eliquent way.

    Reply
  • 7. katcampbell  |  November 8, 2006 at 11:09 pm

    Linda, getting informed and voting is the most important thing. The post from yesterday is still there, take a look.

    Mrs.Jose – Your input was most welcome yesterday. I’ve also walked away from a debate agreeing to disagree, and that’s the American way. I remember how I felt when Pres. Bush was reelected for a second term, he was never my choice, so I know how my Republican friends must be feeling today. I think you will find that the real Democratic agenda is to seek answers – and everyone will benefit from that.

    Reply
  • 8. tony  |  November 8, 2006 at 11:42 pm

    Remember 9/12/2001? President Bush was everyone’s favorite. Our nation stood unified. You’re either with us, or you’re with the terrorists. Remember that? Everyone, and I mean everyone, agreed that Saddam had Chemical and Biological Weapons. Pelosi, Kerry, Reid, Durbin…the whole lot of them agreed. Then, instead of keeping our country unified the Dinosaur Media (ABCNNBCBS) and the Democratic Party started their spin cycle. It’s all about power, money and deception. Those people don’t give a flip about us. All they care about is their name. Quite honestly, it sickens me. Can you tell?

    Reply
  • 9. katcampbell  |  November 9, 2006 at 3:47 am

    Yes, Tony, I remember 9/12 very well. While I’ve never been a fan of George W., I respect his position and what I was saying in those days was “he’s damned if he does and damned if he doesn’t”. There was no decision this President could have made that would not have set off a firestorm. Everyone agreed that Saddam had weapons of mass destruction because that was what we were told by the people who should have had a definitive answer. I was looking, in those days, for truth, and an exhaustive investigation proving this maniac had chemical weapons before we stepped off, on our own, without the support of the United Nations and our allies. I was a young two stripper in the Air Force when America’s nuclear missile was trained on Russia’s nuclear missile. I know personally what it feels like to live under the threat of imminent destruction. We did not have a nuclear war, we all did begin reducing our arsenals of nuclear weapons through talk and negotiation. It was time for a change Tony. To quote our president regarding the resignation of Rumsfeld “Secretary Rumsfeld and I agreed that sometimes it’s necessary to have a fresh perspective,” Bush said in the abrupt announcement during a postelection news conference.
    Its very hard to convey tone in a written document, but know that if I was saying this, instead of writing it, it would be in my quiet voice, because you don’t need dressing down. You are a man whose love for his country is obvious and I respect you for that. With a little time, I hope you’ll take the President’s second bit of advice and find what common ground you can with these new leaders. Never lose your passion, Tony, our right to free speech is our greatest asset as American’s.

    Reply
  • 10. Mr. Fabulous  |  November 9, 2006 at 4:23 am

    It is about time things got shaken up a little bit.

    Now we shall see…

    Reply
  • 11. katcampbell  |  November 9, 2006 at 4:24 am

    Couldn’t agree more Mr. Fab.

    Reply
  • 12. vanessa  |  November 9, 2006 at 4:52 am

    Here’s hoping it is not just something different, but also something better.

    Reply
  • 13. bobciz  |  November 9, 2006 at 5:28 am

    As the dust settles, those of us voting for change are congratulating ourselves prematurely. Now the real work begins. It’s one thing to cry for change, another to actually bring it about. Time will tell if anything different really happens. I for one, have my fingers crossed.

    Reply
  • 14. jackie  |  November 9, 2006 at 10:30 am

    No, it wasn’t just you, Kat. I’m emotionally exhausted, as well. I tried and couldn’t even catagorize all that I was feeling/thinking. Worn out from it all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds


