Back to Randomness

November 9, 2006 at 8:51 am 23 comments

stressed-cat-2.jpg What an afternoon.  A newspaper in the city wanted to interview me about my publishing company.  That’s cool… however, I’m used to DOING the interviewing and I just hate having my picture taken.  The thought of pictures makes me want to schedule appointments with my hairdresser and a plastic surgeon.  I hate that I just keep fussing!  One minute I’m me, the next hour I’m some twisted cross between Twiggy and Cindi Lauper on steroids.  I could give a speech in front of thousands of people in my pajamas with greasy hair – as long as nobody was taking pictures.  An irrational phobia, Princess needs to hurry up and finish college so she can psychoanylize me. 

The Prof. Squared, my second oldest daughter and her husband, are having a baby girl.  This is great news, my daughter has wanted a baby for several years and she wanted a girl.  I also will not have to change my terminology from “grandgirls” to “grandgirls and boy”.  We’ll have a basketball team of little ladies.  But… will we ever have a grandson before we’re too old to run around like maniacs with him?  Heavy pressure on my son….

The total smoking ban just put into place in my state is freaking me out.  If you’ve been reading my blog, you know that even though I am a smoker, this issue was more about taking away a personal right than smoking.  Some people will just quit to avoid the constant stress of finding somewhere to smoke.  Some will disappear into their houses and become hermit like.  But I know how we are.  It’s just a matter of time before some smokers on a nicotine jones are going to retaliate.  It won’t be pretty.   As for me, I think I’m going to try and quit.  My girl downunder quit in order to finance her trip back here in two years.  I’ve been feeling quilty about her sacrifice in my behalf.  It’s not good for me to be smoking anyway.  But I have no willpower in this regard.  The last time I quit I said the F word in front of my minister.  He was being patronizing.  It will take some time to talk myself into this… 30 year old habits are very hard to break.   

Entry filed under: randomness.

Once the Dust Settled Veteran’s Day

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sandy  |  November 9, 2006 at 9:45 am

    Kat…You’ll do just fine in your interview…get your hair done, if it makes you feel better and buy a pretty outfit and just be yourself.

    Congrats on the new grandgirl and I’m getting a new great grandgirl in January…that’ll make one of each for me.

    I don’t smoke, but if they are going to sell cigarettes then I don’t understand why they outlaw smoking in public places. In the nearest big city to us they had a smoking ban in restaurants & bars and after the smokers stayed away they had to reinstate smoking because the city was losing too much tax money. We live in tobacco country…well it used to be.

    Reply
  • 2. Barb-downunder  |  November 9, 2006 at 10:26 am

    Hi Kat.
    I am so glad that you appreciate the trauma I am putting my self though. Australia has had an anti smoking rule for years, they will never be banned just another thing the governments are not honest about, they make it hard for people to enjoy the smokes, but will never ban them for the taxes they bring in, The state governments do not get the tax the federal gov does. It is not good to be smoking around the grandgirls anyway. Princess will have her hands full on my return she will have to psychoanylize both of us, Will we get a group discount.Must stop before this comment becomes my normal ramble.

    Reply
  • 3. jackie  |  November 9, 2006 at 10:34 am

    Kat, just from reading your posts, I just bet you are great when interviewed. Afterall, your photo-phobia wouldn’t be visable to the naked eye. LOL

    Reply
  • 4. Stacy  |  November 9, 2006 at 3:59 pm

    You will do just fine, I’m sure, but thanks….I’m going to picture you as some mutant combination of Twiggy and Cyndy Lauper on steroids now. What an image!

    Reply
  • 5. vanessa  |  November 9, 2006 at 4:03 pm

    Good luck with the interview and the quitting smoking. Both are very stressful. And I feel the way that cat looks.

    Reply
  • 6. twobuyfour  |  November 9, 2006 at 4:09 pm

    Times like this remind me of how blessed I am. Thank you. It seems that I do not have an addictive personality. I had smoked for years, then decided to stop. Every few years I feel like a smoke, but halfway through one I realize I don’t want the rest. I have no doubt that quitting is a very difficult thing for most people and I sympathise.

    You know all the facts about living longer and having better smelling breath and clothing and saving a lot of money. I can’t really add to that. I wish you the best of luck.

    Not for nothing, but don’t your grandkids deserve a grandmother that doesn’t smoke?

    Reply
  • 7. Mr. Fabulous  |  November 9, 2006 at 4:17 pm

    The 30 year old habit: smoking or swearing in front of ministers? 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  November 9, 2006 at 4:51 pm

    Sandy – Congratulations on your new grandgirl! Exciting, since it’s the first girl, and I’m jealous of that grandboy!

    Barb – I don’t think even Princess can handle us both at the same time! She’ll need to be psychoanalyzed if she tries.

    Jackie – You are too nice to me. It went okay, the interview, but I talk too much and now I can’t remember what I said. Could be very scary.

    Sorry for the mental image Stacy. Nervous tends to make me end up with big hair and too much eyeliner.

    Nessa – isn’t that the greatest illustration of stressed? Love that cat picture!

    Two Buy – Lucky you! I do have an addictive personality so I guess I just ought to replace this addiction with something different.

    Mr. Fab – Noone has outlawed swearing at ministers yet, maybe I started the wrong habit.

    Reply
  • 9. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  November 9, 2006 at 9:01 pm

    May I say (as a member of the clergy) that swearing is my vice of choice. Hell, I don’t drink, never smoked and am celibate. I need a vice! If you are looking for curse words, I can help!
    Please be brave and post a picture of the cross between twiggy and cyndi lauper – I just can’t get a mental image!
    Your interview will be a smashiing success – your personality and energy will come through and THAT is what’s important!

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  November 9, 2006 at 9:32 pm

    Thanks Dr. Kate! There’s something marvelously decadent about the thought of the clergy swearing! I must say, my minister didn’t look all that shocked at my F-bomb. He probably swore like a trucker when we weren’t around.

    Reply
  • 11. DELMONTI  |  November 10, 2006 at 12:13 am

    I started stopping (??) almost a year ago…. because of the same reasons.

    Reply
  • 12. starbender  |  November 10, 2006 at 1:44 am

    hi Kat~ I fully agree with the smoking thing! I passed here also–I voted it down -more because they are taking away another right of ours–and the people(and I use the term losely)from the LOONEY LEFT keep allowing the gov. to take away our rights!!!! These idiots can F.O.A.D.!!!!!
    8)

    Reply
  • 13. katcampbell  |  November 10, 2006 at 2:26 am

    Delmonti – Its not that I keep smoking because I love it so much, it’s just that I don’t have the time to deal with the withdrawal crazies right now. Wicked nasty habit, but I still don’t want anyone legislating what I can and can not do.

    Starbender – It’s absolutely a violation of our rights and I can’t believe there isn’t a legal organization somewhere hopping on this bandwagon!

    Reply
  • 14. DaveM  |  November 10, 2006 at 2:32 am

    Like the rest you will be fine. You need a few nerves to perform at your best anyway, they are natural just manage them.
    Good luck on giving up smoking, you know it makes sense to do it. As an ex smoker I dont have a big thing about smoking but a no smoking environment is a nicer place. Ireland has managed it very well as nearly every pub has a little place out the back for smokers, some have TV’s in as well. You can have 2 guys at the bar fully loaded with Guinness and they wouldn’t dream of lighting up in the bar. Maybe the £1000 fine has something to do with it.

    Reply
  • 15. katcampbell  |  November 10, 2006 at 3:18 am

    Intellectually, I agree with you Dave, but despite my middle age, and sometimes professional demeanor, I’m mostly a squggly widget of a human being. I will eventually wrap my head around the idea of quitting, but I get so crazy, weepy and angry every time I quit it scares me to try again. I wish I had your calm, rational demeanor!

    Reply
  • 16. Linda  |  November 10, 2006 at 6:48 am

    I don’t like to have my photo taken either. I am not very Twiggy-like to begin with and with the added weight a photo adds, I don’t look attractive. YUCK!!! My hubby says I never smile when I get my picture taken. Somebody at Sophia’s preschool gave me a picture of Sophia and I on Halloween. It was okay, but not great. I definitely don’t look at fat as I did when pregnant with Sophia.

    Now to the smoking thing. I used to be a smoker, myself. I quit back when I first met my husband (he is an avid non-smoker). It was rough and I gained a lot of weight. I eventually went back to smoking, but only did it socially. I quit for good when trying to get pregnant with Sophia. I wish you luck with whatever you decide.

    Reply
  • 17. katcampbell  |  November 10, 2006 at 7:09 am

    Hi Linda – I am “twiggy” like only in that when nervous I can’t seem to keep the eyeliner in check. I LOOK more like Twiggy Ramirez, the bass player from Marilyn Manson.

    Reply
  • 18. Cindra  |  November 10, 2006 at 11:59 am

    Kat-I bet you were awesome…but I can so relate to comfort, or discomfort like that.

    I dunno…I understand your right…and I think if there were more coureous smokers it wouldn’t bug me as much, but i’ve had too many meals ruined and rushing my kids out of the clouds of smoke from smokers who don’t care about my right to breathe…so I feel like it’s a few bad apples ruining the whole barrel…you know?

    Be well…I loved your imagery…I want a picture of this!

    Reply
  • 19. Catch  |  November 10, 2006 at 3:18 pm

    Once I quit smoking for 4 years, and started again! You said the ‘F’ word in front of your minster! LoL…that cracked me up. Congrats on getting another little lady! They are soo precious!

    Reply
  • 20. katcampbell  |  November 10, 2006 at 5:27 pm

    Cindra – It is because of the inconsiderate smokers that the article I wrote for my paper was mostly about how to quit (information I had to take from others since I’m so dog gone good at it!) rather than a rant about rights.

    Catch – I’m drowning in pink!

    Reply
  • 21. Janet  |  November 10, 2006 at 6:55 pm

    What gets me is they don’t allow smoking on hospital grounds-you can’t even go to your car and smoke. When my dad was in the hospital before he died, I would go outside and smoke to relieve the stress. What am I supposed to do next time something happens? I don’t know if I’ll be able to go across the street just to smoke. I’m considering quitting, but I don’t want to give the anti-smokers the satisfaction. I was hoping to hold out until they stopped manufacturing cigarettes.

    Reply
  • 22. katcampbell  |  November 10, 2006 at 7:30 pm

    Janet, I know just how you feel. There’s a rebellious part of me that wants to keep smoking just because they told me not to! But we are two smart women, we know we should quit for our health. Maybe we should do it together?

    Reply
  • 23. Velvet Sacks  |  November 12, 2006 at 3:28 am

    Congratulations on the new grandgirl and also on what I’m sure must have been a good interview. You have a lot to say, you say it well…what interviewer could want more than that?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds


