Cinderella and A Flash from the Past

November 13, 2006 at 3:35 am 12 comments

jazz-and-bri-theater.jpgPeople in and out of the house like it had revolving doors this weekend!  I took Jazz and Bri to see Cinderella at that “other” community theater last night.  Their first theatrical experience.  It was hard to tell if they loved the experience or not after the event, one was “dieing of thirst” and the other said “her foot was falling off” from her new shoes.  But this morning when I came downstairs, they had already ransacked their dress up box and were dancing in the dining room, both of them being Cinderella with Prince Charming high backed chairs. 

Whimsy must skip a generation, because my own girls spent only a minute in the dress up stage.  But these two grandgirls remind me so much of me.  My older sisters were 50’s girls.  My biological mother had the petty coats they wore under their ball gowns or poodle skirts stored in the bathroom cabinet.  To me, these were long hair and a ballerina’s tu-tu.  I used to spend hours dancing in this get up, watching my reflection in the plate glass window, completely transformed into a dancing diva. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

G.I. – Kat Ethics and Extreme Wealth

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  November 13, 2006 at 3:39 am

    Isn’t it wonderful to see our history lived as present in the children we know!

    Reply
  • 2. Nessa  |  November 13, 2006 at 4:27 am

    I use Halloween to satisfy my dress up urges.

    Reply
  • 3. jackie  |  November 13, 2006 at 5:56 am

    Kat,
    your grandgirls are lucky to have a grandma to take them to the theater.

    This post reminded me of something I hadn’t thought about for years -our mom made my sisters and me, those billowy pettycoats out of layer upon layer of sheer curtains – to wear under the cinderella dresses she sewed for us – out of curtains, also. Since my mom passed away when I was 13, this is a nice memory – thanks.

    Reply
  • 4. bettygram  |  November 13, 2006 at 7:05 am

    I loved dress up and so do my grandchildren. It is so much fun.

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  November 13, 2006 at 6:52 pm

    Dr. Kate – It is! And on further thought, I think this is the way its supposed to be.

    Nessa – Me too! I’m so glad there are adults who still love this little bit of make believe.

    Jackie – I’m lucky to have grandgirls to take!

    Betty – Isn’t fun finding little bits and baubles to throw in the dress up box? I used to love to find sparkly things in mine.

    Reply
  • 6. sunfloweroptimism  |  November 13, 2006 at 9:10 pm

    I think you’re right, Kat – I was never a dress-up type (more tomboy, to be honest!), but my daughter loved to play dress-up! I still can picture her in the pink satin princess dress my mom made for her for Halloween one year – she wore it all year!

    I see your beautiful grandgirls dressed up for the show! Nowadays at a Broadway show many just wear jeans – it’s just not “special” anymore.

    Reply
  • 7. katcampbell  |  November 13, 2006 at 9:35 pm

    You’re right Sunflower, I see all kinds of unsuitable attire at the theater now days. Jazz, Bri and I dressed up. I explained to them that a night at the theater is special and the actors had worked very hard so we need to look our best to honor the night and the workers. They said “And we just like to dress up.” Whatever works.

    Reply
  • 8. DELMONTI  |  November 14, 2006 at 2:34 am

    Fantastic!

    Thanks for restoring my faith in the human race. I know its only a little thing…. but these little things (like your little’uns dressing up) are only possible because of all the dedication and hard work you’ve put into “Family”.

    Reply
  • 9. katcampbell  |  November 14, 2006 at 2:45 am

    Thank you Delmonti. You always say the nicest things!

    Reply
  • 10. Linda  |  November 14, 2006 at 4:29 am

    My three year old dresses up all day long. She loves to pretend she is a princess. I love to watch her play.

    We actually took Sophia to her first theatre performance last winter. My husband’s cousin and his wife are very involved with a small theatre in Baltimore. The wife wrote the Christmas play, a British Panto. She loved the music and had a wonderful time. It was a very audience participation piece, so it worked out great.

    Reply
  • 11. tony  |  November 14, 2006 at 4:58 am

    ok, ok…fine, I admit…I’ve danced in a tu-tu as well. There, I said it.

    Reply
  • 12. katcampbell  |  November 14, 2006 at 6:16 am

    Linda – so nice to see you! Figured out a name for that new baby yet?

    Tony – What? A Republican in touch with his feminine side? Now I know you’re joking!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds


