Can I Help You With That Mrs. C?

November 15, 2006 at 5:00 am 30 comments

Life, as I once knew it, officially ended today.

 old-woman.jpg

We live on a street that has always been generationally balanced.  One third young couples with tiny kids, one middle aged couples, one third senior citizens.  Just last summer, the old lady two houses down passed on and a young couple with a baby moved into her house. 

Today is Pap’s day off, so I took it off too so we could get the yard put away for the winter. He trotted around with his stupid, labor saving leaf blower whisking leaves into piles taller than me. I slaved over these mountains attempting to stuff the rapidly multiplying things into bags before the dog pushed them back out, bit a hole in the bag or dragged my rake off.  I was minding my own business when this pimply faced kid stomped his way into my backyard and STARTED HELPING ME.  The audacity of this younger generation.  He wasn’t happy just bagging two to my one, oh no, he had to talk while he was hopping around like super gardener.  Well, if you can call that senseless mumbling talking, library whisperers achieve more volume than this pain in the butt.  He did manage to sling his insults loud and clear.  “Let me get that for you Mrs. C.  No, don’t lift that, I’ll get it Mrs. C.”  Punkin’ headed young upstart.  My freaking mother- in- law is Mrs. C! 

It didn’t end there, he actually tried to help me up the stairs and then… he ran off down the street waving like some demented maniac.  Punk.  Show off.  You’ll have to excuse me now; I need the Ben-Gay, a hot bath and my rocking chair.  I have apparently been reduced to the neighborhood senior citizen.     

Entry filed under: rants.

Ethics and Extreme Wealth Something in the Breeze

30 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nessa  |  November 15, 2006 at 6:32 am

    What are these young kids coming to now a days. I would never have dared help a neighbor when I was his age. And calling you Mrs. C? The outrage, the unmitigated gaul. Have a drink to recover. I’m so sorry had to go through that.

    Reply
  • 2. cherlee  |  November 15, 2006 at 6:44 am

    Not sure what to say on that one. It is truly surprising. I hope he did a good job at least.

    Reply
  • 3. sunfloweroptimism  |  November 15, 2006 at 6:50 am

    I HATE when that happens! Damn whippersnappers!

    But seriously – what a wonderful neighborhood you live in 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  November 15, 2006 at 7:09 am

    Nessa – It’s just shocking, where are this child’s parents? The boy is obviously completely out of control.

    Cherlee – The beastely little man did an excellent job. Show off. Thanks for coming by! I hope you’ll feel welcome to come back.

    Sunflower – I feel like I need to run out for geritol. I’m not sure I’ll recover. Thank goodness this is such a wonderful neighborhood!

    Reply
  • 5. Mimi  |  November 15, 2006 at 8:03 am

    How dare that young whippersnapper. You should have tanned his hide! The youngergeneration has no respect!;-)

    This was pretty fun to read! LOL!

    Reply
  • 6. Hammer  |  November 15, 2006 at 9:32 am

    I used to go rake the old fart neighbors lawn on my own accord. He came out and yelled at me that he liked his leaves where they were and to get the hell off his lawn.

    I hope he liked the clorox fertilizer treatment.

    Reply
  • 7. Velvet Sacks  |  November 15, 2006 at 10:06 am

    Now, let’s think about this…either he thinks you’re getting old and need assistance…or he saw the first season of Desperate Housewives and thinks he might get lucky. Whether the raking is a result of his Boy Scout training or his adolescent fantasies, it looks like a win-win situation to me.

    Reply
  • 8. Catch  |  November 15, 2006 at 10:47 am

    I can think of about 20 kids who pass by my house everyday on the way to school and I doubt that very few of them would help anyone do anything. But once in a while if I am unloading groceries and someone comes along who knows my daughter they will help me…..I suppose they think I am old…lol.

    Reply
  • 9. katcampbell  |  November 15, 2006 at 5:03 pm

    Hammer – Nasty old man must not have had an outlet to rant on about getting old. In real life I not only thanked the kid, but gave him cookies and $10.

    Velvet – there is no question regarding his view on my elderly status. Punk.

    Catch – We have a couple of boys around the neighborhood that I see helping people… its the girls that are too self interested to notice anything.

    Mimi – Thank you for your sympathy.

    Reply
  • 10. Gela  |  November 15, 2006 at 5:46 pm

    Hahaha, this is sooo funny! Ok,ok, lemme show some pity. How dare he? These youngsters have no respect these days, what is the world coming to?

    Hehe.

    Reply
  • 11. katcampbell  |  November 15, 2006 at 6:25 pm

    I got your pity, Gela, you’re one of those young whipper snappers too! Good to see you!

    Reply
  • 12. delmonti  |  November 15, 2006 at 6:47 pm

    Now that was funny!

    Next time there’s a house up for sale in your street, let me know!

    Reply
  • 13. katcampbell  |  November 15, 2006 at 6:57 pm

    Hey, Delmonti, I will. Since you have medical skills I may need you here in my elderly condition. (damn kids).

    Reply
  • 14. Stacy  |  November 15, 2006 at 8:30 pm

    I am absolutely howling! I will never forget the first time I was called “ma’am.” I was only 30 and it sent me screaming for the hills.

    Reply
  • 15. katcampbell  |  November 15, 2006 at 9:08 pm

    Stacy – I’m really hating it. Kid wants to see old? He ought to check out the guy that services our adding machnes – 91 and he’s driving. Compared to him I’m an infant.

    Reply
  • 16. NMOTB  |  November 15, 2006 at 9:55 pm

    Ummm, well. Is it a bad thing for him helping out? That will never happen here as the kids of today just have no respect for thier elders! I also cant stand it if someone calls me “auntie” although the kids here were taught that anyone 10 years older that you gets “auntied” and “uncled”. Its not nice but look on the bright side – the kids got manners! or am I getting this all wrong? lol

    Reply
  • 17. DaveM  |  November 15, 2006 at 9:58 pm

    Let me adjust my hearing aid before replying. Pardon ..oh yes, right now where was I … …

    Its the kids who shout f*** off Grandad, when I cycling along that bugs me. I’m still young enough to be a hooligan.

    Grow old disgracefully.

    Reply
  • 18. katcampbell  |  November 15, 2006 at 10:42 pm

    New Mom – just being snarky because I needed help from a kid who’s diapers I once changed. You are apparently way too nice to be snarky!

    Dave – You made me laugh with that one! I’ll second the motion to grow old disgracefully, makes life worth living.

    Reply
  • 19. Linda  |  November 15, 2006 at 11:05 pm

    I am sorry to laugh, but that is funny! I am with you on being call Mrs. L, like you said that is my M-I-L. Oh well, look at it like this, at least you’ve got help, should you need it.

    Reply
  • 20. J.  |  November 15, 2006 at 11:11 pm

    Can you send him over here though? hehee

    Reply
  • 21. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  November 16, 2006 at 12:01 am

    How is this midguided young man with forsythia bushes? I will tolerate being called anything and having my middle-aged capablilities insulted if he will simply come this way. Trust me, Kat, my forsythia bush will teach him a lesson he won’t soon forget and he won’t trouble you further!

    Reply
  • 22. katcampbell  |  November 16, 2006 at 12:27 am

    Linda – do you think we’ll ever FEEL like Mrs. anything? I don’t think I will.

    J. and Dr. Kate – Despite my grievances with the young man in question… I believe I’ll keep him

    Reply
  • 23. bobciz  |  November 16, 2006 at 1:50 am

    My wife, the teacher, has always been known as Mrs. C. For her it’s a badge of honor. Now if I could just get those rotten little bastards to call me Mr. C instead of “hey you, old man”………

    Reply
  • 24. katcampbell  |  November 16, 2006 at 1:56 am

    That’s funny Bob! I guess I shouldn’t be complaining… I’m just not ready to accept being middle aged yet, much less in need of assistance.

    Reply
  • 25. Mr. Fabulous  |  November 16, 2006 at 3:15 am

    Nothing to do now but find a nice home to put you in…

    Reply
  • 26. katcampbell  |  November 16, 2006 at 3:30 am

    That, or ship all these wicked teenagers off to military school Mr. Fab. That would show ’em!

    Reply
  • 27. LauraJ  |  November 16, 2006 at 3:49 am

    *giggle*

    Reply
  • 28. Dr.John  |  November 16, 2006 at 4:02 am

    Well next time try to look older and a few more might stop and help. A cane would be a nice touch.

    Reply
  • 29. katcampbell  |  November 16, 2006 at 6:23 am

    Another young whipper snapper signing in I see Miss Laura J!

    Dr. John! You’re right, what was I thinking? If I play my elderly cards right I could end up with my roof fixed, my lawn mowed, the dog walked…

    Reply
  • 30. Janet  |  November 17, 2006 at 9:55 pm

    Don’t give up until a Boy Scout tries to help you across the street!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds


