Buyers Remorse

November 17, 2006 at 6:00 pm 27 comments

I believe its part of my destiny to never rise economically past my present level becausemoney.jpg of a genetic flaw.  I am shamefully afflicted with buyer’s remorse.  Even when it isn’t justified.  Even if what I’m buying is for someone else, the rush of the purchase ends with a sleepless night worrying about spending the money.  This condition is inconvenient at best, and sometimes just doggone frustrating… like yesterday.

 

But wait, you’ll need a little background… Pap likes to buy those scratch off tickets that come out only during this time of year (Pap has no problems with buyer’s remorse…obviously).  On Sunday night he comes home with a string of them and hands one to Princess.  The two of them are scratching away while I’m lecturing about the evils of gambling, wasting money, buying things that were not pre-approved by the big boss (that would be me).  Neither of them are paying the least bit of attention to me, as usual, which is why Princess felt free to say “What does it mean when every line has a star?” right in the middle of my best rant on the irresponsibility of frivolous spending.

 

Turns out she scratched off a ticket worth $5,000.  Technically, she was only the scratcher and the ticket belongs to Pap.  Realistically, all money coming into the house belongs to me.  Its right in our marriage vows:  What’s mine is mine and what’s yours is mine.  Anyway… because she scratched it, we decided to let Princess go and cash it, ably assisted by me.

 

Yesterday we took the ticket and the three sets of notarized forms we needed to the bank to cash the ticket and then go Christmas shopping.  The teller asks how we’d like the money; Princess and I look quizzically at each other like dopes until I said “Oh, 5’s and 1’s, maybe a couple rolls of quarters.”  And Princess added “We know how to spend those denominations.”  She and I should never be allowed out in public unsupervised. We traipsed the mall, the big boxes, and the craft stores.  We came home with:  nothing. 

It’s “found money”; there is no reason at all to worry about buyer’s remorse.  She and I know that no matter whether we spend it or give it away, it makes no difference – it wasn’t in the budget in the first place.  We are dorks.

 

What would you do with it?

Entry filed under: Flaws.

Something in the Breeze Ohio State VS Michigan

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. NMOTB  |  November 17, 2006 at 8:24 pm

    That is so funny! I am exactly the same though when it comes to spending my hard earned money but I have absolutley no problem spending someone else’s!!! Geez, go and spend it girl!!! lol I could do with $5000.00 (times that by about 8 – Mmm could make for a lovely shopping spree.

    Reply
  • 2. Stacy  |  November 17, 2006 at 8:25 pm

    Holy cow! Didn’t you have a post a while back about having no luck? I think that might have changed a little bit.

    Hmmmm….$5000 in found money. I’d probably be good and pay a few bills off first. Then I’d buy the flooring for the livingroom so at least one project could be finished.

    Reply
  • 3. Mike  |  November 17, 2006 at 9:23 pm

    I’d just hand it to my mechanic. He gets it all eventually.

    Reply
  • 4. Janet  |  November 17, 2006 at 9:48 pm

    Oh. My. Gosh. $5,000!! Go hog wild, girl! This isn’t a time for worrying, it’s a time for spending.

    Reply
  • 5. Janet  |  November 17, 2006 at 9:49 pm

    Oh, what would I do with it? I’d pay for new carpeting all over the first floor and a new vinyl kitchen floor. Anything left over goes towards paying for the new furnace and a/c unit we’ve been told we’ll need next year.

    Reply
  • 6. LauraJ  |  November 17, 2006 at 11:10 pm

    Electronics baby, all the way!! Then I could spend an afternoon with Mr Electonics at Superstore and he wouldn’t even know that’d be our first date. I’d take my time choosing things of course, the longer I’m there the longer my time with him.
    A girl can dream. Thank you for the pause.

    Reply
  • 7. bobciz  |  November 18, 2006 at 2:05 am

    I’d have to give it all to the “big boss” around here and that would not be me. Maybe she’d raise my allowance though.

    Reply
  • 8. DELMONTI  |  November 18, 2006 at 4:00 am

    Well, I’d take my little fruitloop (my six year old daughter) to lapland to visit santa. I guess time is running out for her to still believe in these things.

    Maybe in another life?

    Reply
  • 9. katcampbell  |  November 18, 2006 at 4:24 am

    New Mom – must be a motherhood affliction.

    Stacy – Isn’nt that crazy? Maybe fate reads my blog and decided to make me look like a liar!

    Mike – In all honesty, that’s probably where part of it will go. My car is in such need of a new lid before I’m able to surf inside it.

    Janet – Look at practical you! True, we have carpet that needs replaced, crown molding, windows…

    Laura J – Still crushin on Mr. Electronics? March in there and ask him out girl!

    Bob – Now I’ll have to raise Pap’s allowance, darn, you had to remind me!

    Delmonti – your little fruitloop will believe as long as you keep making the magic happen. I’ll tell you a funny story about that when it gets closer to Christmas!

    Reply
  • 10. Nessa  |  November 18, 2006 at 6:07 am

    I get like that, too. It makes no sense. I have no problem spending my paycheck, though.

    Reply
  • 11. katcampbell  |  November 18, 2006 at 7:14 am

    Nessa – we don’t have much choice about spending those paychecks do we? Mine goes out faster than it comes in.

    Reply
  • 12. FatWhiteMan  |  November 18, 2006 at 7:31 am

    Being the caring, giving person that I am, I really want to help you with your problem. Please send the cash to me and I’ll spend it frivolously. I’ll send you constant email reminders as to how better it could have spent by you. That way, the next time you fall into this predicament, you’ll know better how to handle it.

    Reply
  • 13. katcampbell  |  November 18, 2006 at 8:11 am

    Laughing noisily FWM! I’ve been waiting all day for someone to post something like that, I should have known it would come from a fellow buckeye. (Janet is slipping!)

    Reply
  • 14. Janet  |  November 18, 2006 at 9:31 am

    Drat! I wish I’d thought of that. Go buy more tickets so I can be the first one with that idea!

    Reply
  • 15. Cindra  |  November 18, 2006 at 10:31 am

    That is hilarious! I am a lot the same…I think I’d give some to the local relief nursery and then buy some Christmas gifts. If I take my daughter it helps. She doesn’t suffer that same affliction that we do.

    Reply
  • 16. Catch  |  November 18, 2006 at 5:08 pm

    I would still be shopping!!!! lol. I have no qualms about spending money! No guilt! For years I did without and bought for my kids…..now its my turn!!!! I have a blackbelt in shopping!

    Reply
  • 17. katcampbell  |  November 18, 2006 at 5:38 pm

    You know Catch, I’ve spent a lot of years sacrificing for my children too… Its my turn too! I really need to just get busy and blow this bundle.

    Janet – No more tickets! That lightening bolt of luck was a freak accident.

    Cindra – I’m just itching to give half of it to the theater (they need a snow machine) but Christmas is coming and we have such a big family, I have plenty of places to spend it.

    Reply
  • 18. Gela Words  |  November 18, 2006 at 8:30 pm

    Omigod, you won $5000!!

    Oh you poor thing, let me help you with that. I’ll be travelling to the USA next week. I’ll email you the address where I’ll be in Florida and you can just send it on over.

    I certainly wouldn’t want you to be stressed out with guilt, you poor, poor thing.

    Whoweee, it’s going to be a great xmas!!!

    Reply
  • 19. Gela Words  |  November 18, 2006 at 8:32 pm

    So what’s the name of these ticket things now? Cuz after I’ve finished spending yours, I’ll need some more.

    Reply
  • 20. jackie  |  November 18, 2006 at 9:15 pm

    Woohoo! No worries this Christmas! I’m gonna send money and have Pap buy my lotto tickets.

    Reply
  • 21. Linda  |  November 18, 2006 at 10:46 pm

    I would definitely give at least some away. I usually buy some stuff for Toys for Tots, so I would probably buy a bit more than usual and then give some food to the local food bank. Then I would do something nice for myself, but not extavagant and then I would put some in the bank.

    Isn’t it funny how we have ourselves trained about not spending money, even if it is free and clear money!

    Reply
  • 22. katcampbell  |  November 19, 2006 at 1:21 am

    Gela – Thanks for your offer but FWM beat you to it! While you’re in Florida pick up some Holiday Cash tickets and then let us know how much you win!

    Jackie – Pap has to buy them and Katie will scratch them – she’s the lucky one!

    Linda – You are just rockin with holiday spirit! I will definately be giving a chunk to the Salvation Army through the theater.

    Reply
  • 23. sunfloweroptimism  |  November 19, 2006 at 1:54 am

    For anyone who asks what I would do with the extra money – for the next four years, I have only two words for you: college tuition.

    But I think I would like to slice off a bit for our local soup kitchen and for my church which gives diapers and other baby items to needy families with newborns.

    Reply
  • 24. Quilldancer  |  November 19, 2006 at 4:39 am

    1.) new computer
    2.) Christmas
    3.) Bills

    Now you see why I’m broke. Any financial planner will tell you that my list is upside sown.

    Reply
  • 25. smileymama  |  November 19, 2006 at 5:18 am

    You are incredibly funny! I think this is the first time I’ve stopped by your blog. I share this reluctance to part with money, hard-earned or not….but I think I’d pay some bills and, considering the time of year, get some holiday shopping done (just some), treat the family to one meal out at a restaurant, stock the cupboard (so you can feel like it was a productive day), and put the rest in the bank or fire-safe box and think about it later!!
    Have a great weekend-
    -T

    Reply
  • 26. katcampbell  |  November 19, 2006 at 6:11 am

    Sunflower – Yup, that’s what I should do with it, but Soup and Princess have managed to finance their own education so far… I wouldn’t want to insult them!

    Quilly – Your list looks much like mine! Christmas overindulgence is definately crossing my mind.

    Smileymama – Welcome! I hope you’ll come back, what a practical list you’ve made.

    Reply
  • 27. Hayden  |  November 20, 2006 at 1:40 am

    no buyers remorse here, even when I should be feeling it. Not difficult to decide though – 1/2 would go into my account to spend on ‘stuff’ whatever, 1/2 would either go straight into my savings or against my mortgage. The half/half deal is the one discipline I possess. Other than that, I’m hopeless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds


