Drama to the Left of Me, Drama to the Right!

November 19, 2006 at 9:56 pm 15 comments

Its Sunday, which means I have rehearsal for the play.  Due to my inability to sing, this requires prior concentration which just isn’t possible today.  I did have an e-mail asking that we wear comfortable shoes since the choreographer will be there.  Woo-hoo!  Dancing I can do, 60 pounds ago I could execute eight versions of the hustle in competition winning fashion.  There’s nothing this choreographer can toss out that I won’t be able to shine at.

In other news… grandgirls mom broke up with the scum sucking, woman beating, idot, loser that fathered my grandchildren this weekend.  That was interesting, especially since it meant Nana was in charge of the children while they battled out of earshot.  I can’t recommend watching the biggest game of the season around four grandgirls, (why do kids feel the need to be constantly MOVING?), but you do what you must.  Briauna, to be a smarty pants, was rooting for that team that got beat by OSU, so we made her wear the mask of shame for the rest of the day.  She took it pretty well.

goofy-bri.jpg

As if all that drama wasn’t enough, Pap decided he needed a little vacation and collapsed at a basketball game he was refereeing.  Nobody is quite sure why…could be sugar, could be his heart stopped for a second.  Frustrating to have no answers, but I guess that’s why they call it “practicing” medicine.  The result of this episode has him trapped in the hospital while they run a gajillion tests and then do a heart catherization tomorrow.  If this reads like a cold hearted and detached narrative… it is.  He’s a diabetic with recurring heart problems who won’t leave the cookies and red meat alone or make any other attempt to keep these genetic problems at bay.  He and I have recurring discussions about quality of life and he’s decided his life won’t be worth living without pizza, 90 hour work weeks and chocolate chip cookies.  We agreed that I wouldn’t have to live at the hospital everytime he decided to eat himself into a sugar coma, and he won’t have to station himself by my side when I get emphasema from smoking.  I show up for the big stuff and keep the phone line busy between home and the hospital.  That’s actually more than he’ll probably do for me if the circumstances are ever reversed. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ohio State VS Michigan Heart Stories

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dave M  |  November 20, 2006 at 12:13 am

    Sounds like an interesting weekend all round. Hope your Pap is ok. As you say we all have a choice as to what we eat and drink. To a certain extent I sympathise with your Pap and quality of life is an individual choice. Try and meet it half way and balance things out. Hope all turns out ok……… with Pap and your daughter.

    Reply
  • 2. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  November 20, 2006 at 2:07 am

    Prayers for both Pap and your daughter coming your way. Good for her that she is making a healthy choice to put this man behind her. Now, shall we work on Pap and some healthy choices?
    Actually, it seems like the both of you have come to a reasonable understanding of how to make your lives together work.
    Dance your heart out at rehearsal and show them what you’ve got!

    Reply
  • 3. Catch  |  November 20, 2006 at 3:59 am

    How would we survive all this drama without a smoke? lol. I have lots of drama in my life too….between my Mother, who lives with me and my kids( they dont live with me), (3) I could take this show on the road! Good luck with your dancin!

    Reply
  • 4. Janet  |  November 20, 2006 at 5:11 am

    My goodness, drama is right! Hope Pap is okay, I understand your agreement, it sounds reasonable enough to me.

    BTW, I used to be pretty good at the Hustle, too. I even managed to be able to dance in *gasp* heels. I wish I kept that polyester dress I wore to the contest at college. I could probably manage to get it over my head but no farther now.

    Reply
  • 5. bobciz  |  November 20, 2006 at 6:05 am

    Jeez, the wife and I had a big fight today about where to hang the artwork, and I thought we had problems. After the descriptiion of your weekend, I’m ashamed to think we even qualify for a problem. Hope life smiles on all of you real soon.

    Reply
  • 6. sunfloweroptimism  |  November 20, 2006 at 10:17 am

    Oh dear, Kat – great news about the daughter, not so good about Pap. Prayers for both. My doc put me on a no sugar, alcohol or caffeine diet last March. It’s not easy and the holidays are not going to be fun. I occasionally cheat, but not much – if everyone is having a slab of cake, I’ll have a teaspoonful. On the plus side, I’ve lost 16 pounds and my inner ear problems seem to be under control.

    Reply
  • 7. Cindra  |  November 20, 2006 at 11:43 am

    Holy crap! Never a dull moment. You sure do keep your humor about you. Hang in there sistah. Yer doing great. Hope Pap recovers soon.

    Reply
  • 8. delmonti  |  November 20, 2006 at 4:24 pm

    Oh my word! You’ve got it by the lorry load!

    Just goes to show, you cant have the ying without the yang.

    Ok, here’s hoping all get back to normal-ish fairly soon.

    Reply
  • 9. LauraJ  |  November 20, 2006 at 9:26 pm

    Big big big hugs for you both!!

    Reply
  • 10. jackie  |  November 20, 2006 at 10:03 pm

    Kat, so glad to hear grandgirl’s mom is getting out of that relationship. She’s a lucky girl to have you to support her. Sorry to hear about Pap’s issues – here’s hoping they give him a clean bill of health.

    Reply
  • 11. katcampbell  |  November 21, 2006 at 3:36 am

    Thanks everybody for your good wishes and prayers, we buckeyes are rubber folk, just keep bouncing back!

    Reply
  • 12. tony  |  November 21, 2006 at 4:04 am

    I was hoping when I came to your blog this evening you would have posted something new. I’ve had the song, “Jokers to the left of me, Jokers to the right, here I am stuck in the middle with you.” Ok…I did change it up a little, and say…”Stuck in the middle with Jews.”

    Reply
  • 13. Linda  |  November 21, 2006 at 9:26 am

    What a weekend. Your other half sounds like my father-in-law. He does not check his blood sugar and eats like crap. I am sure that you were worried no matter what your agreement is. I am glad to hear that you daughter is getting out, that is a very brave thing to do. Best wishes to both your husband and daughter.

    Have fun with your dancing that is something that I totally suck at!!

    Reply
  • 14. Nessa  |  November 21, 2006 at 5:06 pm

    I hope your week has started out better. Besy wishes for your daughter. Good luck with the diabetes and smoking stand off; D

    Reply
  • 15. Linda  |  November 22, 2006 at 7:35 am

    I thought I had posted a comment, but I guess I didn’t.

    I hope the hubby is up and feeling sassy real soon.

    Best wishes for a speedy recovery.

    Also, glad to hear that your daughter is moving on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds


