We Give Thanks

November 22, 2006 at 5:16 pm 17 comments

thanksgiving.jpg

Thanksgiving is a holiday I think we should have once a month.  November’s can stay in honor of the Pilgrims and the generous Indians who kept their no farmin’ fanny’s alive.  But, I could use a couple more throughout the year.  I have an awful lot to be thankful for:  Friends in the flesh and here in this blogging world, family, productive work, pets, flowers, sunshine, health…tomorrow when my family stands in the circle around our groaning table I will bore them to tears with my list of “I am thankful fors”. 

Because I don’t particularly (hate) like to cook, when all my kids were home, they were required to help with this dreaded chore.  In the chaos that reigns with a house filled with people, pets and schedules it slipped my notice that rather than teaching five kids to cook, they all picked up a “specialty” and while we managed to get dinner on the table every night, once they left home they still only knew how to do their one thing.  For instance:  Michelle did all the baking, Tiffany always made the salad, Sheena cooked the vegetables, Bill can work wonders with a potato and Princess set the table.  I threw some kind of meat in a frying pan and we called it done.  When Tiffany moved out, Princess took over salad duty.  Then Michelle left for college… we could never figure out why we never had cookies in the jar, or worse, ice.  It wasn’t until the bowl in the freezer had been empty for a week before we realized it wasn’t that we were using more ice, just that the kid that always made it was gone.  When Bill left for college we rediscovered the joy of rice.  Sheena left and we started eating cereal for dinner.  Princess still sets a lovely table, but she doesn’t like to cook any more than I do. 

When Michelle got married and moved to her big, sprawling house, we suggested that she host our Thanksgiving celebration.  She was happy to do that and excited about showing off her lovely new home.  Three days before the event, she called and asked her dad if he would bring the turkey.  He said he’d be delighted to bring the turkey.  She then asked if he’d also bring the dressing, corn casserole, deviled eggs, sweet potatos, green bean casserole and the rolls.  Michelle provided a lovely setting and a great dessert that year. 

This year we add a new grandbaby to our mix, and remember the bachelors who used to always share our celebration and are now married.  We’ll make sure our on duty cop gets fed and any firemen that might happen to have to work.  We’ll do the dishes, plop the boys in front of the t.v. and then…. the fun begins! 

Happy Thanksgiving everyone, I am greatful for YOU!

Entry filed under: Holidays.

Heart Stories And We’re Off….

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mr. Fabulous  |  November 22, 2006 at 5:42 pm

    We are grateful for you too, my friend! Have a great holiday!

    Reply
  • 2. tony  |  November 22, 2006 at 5:48 pm

    Pap sounds like my Dad. If any of us kids asked Dad to bring the turkey, deviled eggs, sweet potatoes et al, he’d do it without blinking an eye.

    Kat, you may think I’m blowin’ smoke, but…I am truly thankful for you. You are one of my favorite morning reads. Most of the time you put a smile on my face. Some times you bring a tear to my eye. All the time, you are you. You’re completely real. I’m thankful for people like you who are able to share your lives with us.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply
  • 3. guyana-gyal  |  November 22, 2006 at 6:44 pm

    I like the way everybody found his / her own ‘thing’ to do…sounds like with us too, aunts, cousins, all of us pitching in to do.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family, Kat.

    Reply
  • 4. therevdrkate  |  November 22, 2006 at 7:39 pm

    Your system just means that the entire family is REQUIRED to be together if eating is to happen. I LOVE this idea! Thanksgiving blessings to you and your bunch!

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  November 22, 2006 at 10:48 pm

    Thanks Mr. Fab! You try not to eat too much turkey.

    Tony – I can only dream that my girls will marry somebody just like you! Thank you and have a wonderful Thanksgiving yourself.

    G.G. – Aren’t you flying in to Florida for the holiday?

    Dr. Kate – Truer words were never spoken! Happy Thanksgiving! Feed that dog something interesting.

    Reply
  • 6. Dave M  |  November 23, 2006 at 12:23 am

    Have a wonderful time and enjoy the fun.

    Cheers

    Reply
  • 7. drlinna  |  November 23, 2006 at 3:23 am

    Sounds like a great thanksgiving. We start a new tradition with the first Thanksgiving in the new house.The Pilgrim story , by the way, is the after the fact story for the origin of Thanksgiving. The real person that gave us Thanksgiving as we know it was Abraham Lincoln.

    Reply
  • 8. delmonti  |  November 23, 2006 at 3:59 am

    Have a good ‘un there Kat….. when they are all gone, you’re gonna miss ’em

    Reply
  • 9. jackie  |  November 23, 2006 at 5:35 am

    We definitely all need to be thankful everyday. I am. But OMG what if I ate like that everyday?!?!

    Seriously, Happy Thanksgiving, Kat – enjoy.

    Reply
  • 10. Nessa  |  November 23, 2006 at 6:07 am

    When I have the time and not trying to slap something on the table while doing 15 other things I like to cook. Otherwise, my hubby does the honors. My daughter never really learned to cook much either. I’m teaching her now, over the phone. Happy Thanksgiving.

    Reply
  • 11. totouchaunicorn  |  November 23, 2006 at 7:04 am

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. Hope you have a really fun time Kat.
    Sorry haven’t bveen around much will catch up with you soon.

    Reply
  • 12. Janet  |  November 23, 2006 at 7:49 am

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply
  • 13. Mimi  |  November 23, 2006 at 8:53 am

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family too! Sorry if I have not been here. Blogroll is not telling me when blogs are updated!

    Reply
  • 14. sunfloweroptimism  |  November 23, 2006 at 9:23 am

    Sounds like a happy house to me Kat! I am glad to have my babies home from college – we baked desserts all day for Thanksgiving at my SIL tomorrow. (I get everyone for Christmas!)

    Wishing you a wonderful Thanksgiving with family and friends! This year I am very thankful for all my new blog friends 🙂

    Reply
  • 15. Nessa  |  November 23, 2006 at 5:36 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving. Come see my attack hand turkey, Charlie.

    Reply
  • 16. Quilldancer  |  November 23, 2006 at 6:36 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving, Kat!

    Reply
  • 17. Linda  |  November 24, 2006 at 8:47 am

    I hope your Thanksgiving was wonderful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds


