Halt In The Name of My Sanity!

November 28, 2006 at 4:10 am 15 comments

Back to the day job today. Ugh.  Before lunch had even arrived people were yanking my chain.  A project that has a $90,000 shortfall.  “Find the money, we really need to do this project!” the superintendent says.  Like I can just trot outside with my trusty cash box and gather it from under the bushes.  Mail to be opened and dealt with, a meeting tonight and my assistant is in near coronary arrest at having to have missed two days of work at near year end.  gasp.  I couldn’t do this job at all without her, but some days her intensity just wears me out.

Home was not much better.  All the grandgirls and Tiffany woke up this morning coughing, hacking and sneezing snot all over themselves.  I love them, but I’m glad they’re all going home today.  The baby is the only one not sick, but she has the dog to contend with.  My stupid dog has discovered he’s just the right height to scratch his back  by rubbing it on the edge of her bouncy seat.  But only if she’s in it. His frantic rubbing gets her tossing around wildly, usually from a dead sleep which startles her awake and makes her cry.  That sends him into a frenzy of barking and chasing for someone to fix his baby.  He’s too stupid to make the connection between his scratching and her crying.  As if that behavior isn’t bad enough, he’s also decided that the crocks filled with poinsettias around the house are great places to pee.  We won’t even talk about the cats today, its making me break out in hives just thinking about what mischief they’ve been causing.

Remember that newspaper interview I did a few weeks ago?  It came out in the paper today.  The picture is horrible, I look like some kind of spongy, old, bloated toad thing leaning over my books.  I’m too scared to read the article, if he could make me look that bad in a picture, there’s no telling what he did with what I said.  Rooky.  I’m sure I’ll forgive him if the article happens to drum up some new authors or interviews for me.  If it doesn’t, he’s definately off my Christmas card list.  Well okay, I can’t get myself to go that far, but I won’t be putting a cute stamp on THAT  envelope. 

I also decided to withdraw from performing in the play.  We’ve been blocking for the last few rehearsals.  I can’t sing sitting still with the music in front of me.  To sing while walking about AND emoting something besides terror is just beyond my capabilities at this time.  I slept about two hours last night worrying about whether to quit or stay.  I’m certain they won’t miss me in the least.  Especially since despite my vast dancing experience, they gave the dancing parts to teenagers.  Yes, I know it’s nearly unbelievable that any director would prefer slim, blonde, beautiful teenaged dancers to an aging, slightly graying, plumping by the minute ex-disco diva… but its true.  I will be happily cheering them on from the audience however, and I may even sing along. 

My upcoming effort to quit smoking begins December lst.  I’m banning myself from smoking inside anything…buildings or vehicles.  It will get cold soon, and that will make me smoke less.  January lst I appeal to my doctor for drugs, or a medically induced coma until I get past the crabby stage. 

A crazy, busy day, that will end most satisfactorily with hot chocolate, shortbread cookies and the end of Stephen King’s new book, Lisey’s story. 

dining-room-2006.jpg

The dining room is ready for Christmas.

Entry filed under: randomness.

The Power of Tradition Opinions Solicited

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mr. Fabulous  |  November 28, 2006 at 5:52 am

    I have to say, and keep in mind I say this with a complete unblemished record of staunch heterosexuality…that table cover is FABULOUS!

    Reply
  • 2. Catch  |  November 28, 2006 at 7:05 am

    The table looks great! I have always found when I quit smoking, I dont set an exact date…because it seems to put to much pressure on me…..so….I just wait for a time…..hopefully soon…and Im going to quit. But no promises on the date. I wouldnt be suprised if they soon ship all of us smokers out of the country…we are such horrible people…the last time I quit it was 4 years before I was dumb enough to lite up another cigarette. I hope Im never that stupid again.

    Reply
  • 3. sunfloweroptimism  |  November 28, 2006 at 7:36 am

    Oh dear, you sound a wee bit stressed. Is this the best time to quit smoking? LOL I’m sorry the play didn’t work out for you, I know you were so looking forward to it. If it’s going to make you crazy and anxious though, it’s definitely not worth it.

    But look at you! Your daughters and grandgirls (including one on the way!) are doing wonderfully; you’re all decorated for Christmas already; Pap is home. Take a deep breath – life is good!

    Now – tell me about those walls! Is your dining room really periwinkle? I agree with Mr. Fab – great tablecloth!

    Reply
  • 4. Quilldancer  |  November 28, 2006 at 8:13 am

    Your dining room looks lovely and your day sounds much like mine — hysteria and disaster galore. I am so glad to be home where it is quiet.

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  November 28, 2006 at 9:13 am

    Mr. Fab – purple is the color of royalty, and one of my very favorites.

    Catch – After 30 years of smoking, if I don’t start mentally preparing, I’ll neve be able to quit. I still think accupuncture, a hypnotist and that medically induced coma are going to be necessary.

    Sunflower – Those walls are purple, but they do look a little periwinkle through my digital camera.

    Quilly – It’s just this time of year, so much to do!

    Reply
  • 6. Hayden  |  November 28, 2006 at 11:23 am

    you wear me out just reading! too funny about the dog – classic. I think that sometimes things like the theatre event are much more fun to anticipate than to DO. There is so much effort in the DOING part.

    Reply
  • 7. NMOTB  |  November 28, 2006 at 8:09 pm

    The dining room looks beautiful! Sorry to hear about the newspaper pic. I will keep my fingers crossed that you get something positive out of it!!! Take Care!

    Reply
  • 8. Delmonti  |  November 28, 2006 at 9:26 pm

    Kat, I gave up last december… I’m still a smoker, only the gaps between ciggys get longer. Last gap was for 4 months….

    Oh well!

    Reply
  • 9. Mimi  |  November 28, 2006 at 11:18 pm

    *Poinsettas are poisonous to cats!* And I am not sure but dogs possibly too. Cats sometimes like to chew/eat plants and if they eat yours poinsettas they could get sick or worse. We lost a dog to a poisonous plant so I just have to spread the word!

    The story with the dog and baby is just too cute and funny!

    Your dining room looks beautiful!

    I hope work gets a bit better! And good luck with the smoking thing! You can do it!

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  November 28, 2006 at 11:28 pm

    No worries Mimi, I knew that, these are fake poinsettias because I have two cats…who would definately chew them!

    Hayden – If they’d let me ACT instead of sing, it wouldn’t have been so much of a chore. I’ll try again after I quit smoking, maybe I’ll do better.

    Thanks NMOTB! I am getting some feedback from the article, so I’ve forgiven the writer for the really creepy picture.

    Delmonti – That’s my biggest fear, that I’ll spend the rest of my life wanting a cigarette.

    Reply
  • 11. guyana-gyal  |  November 28, 2006 at 11:38 pm

    Kat, you are truly, truly HILARIOUS! I can’t pick which part of this post is the funniest.

    I hope you log your no-smoking, crabby stage.

    Reply
  • 12. guyana-gyal  |  November 28, 2006 at 11:39 pm

    Oooh, I love your Christmassy home.

    Reply
  • 13. John Linna  |  November 29, 2006 at 5:13 am

    I am suprised that with all you had going on you were able to do such a great job decorating. You must be a miracle worker.

    Reply
  • 14. katcampbell  |  November 29, 2006 at 6:18 am

    GG- Thank you, should you ever visit the states at Christmas time you can stay with me and get the full effect! I’m sure I’ll torture everyone with my withdrawal rants.

    Dr. John – Thank you! But no miracles, the things that go in each room are packed in labeled boxes. As long as I have help carrying the boxes up and down from the basement, it doesn’t take long to pull the room together.

    Reply
  • 15. exsmoker  |  September 26, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    Hello All,

    I was reading around some of the posts here and I found interesting things that you guys talk about, I just made a blog about quitting smoking resources and ideas that you might want to check out.
    If someone is interested in this topic just go to; http://endthehabitnow.blogspot.com and let me know what you think.
    Thanks in advance.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds


