Miracles and Other Business

November 30, 2006 at 6:58 am 19 comments

Overwhelming opinion seems to be a traditional book of profound blog posts.  I’ll work on some guidelines, legalities, procedures and all that other stuff and definately put a plan together.  Then I must pitch it to my partner, and then I’ll get back to all of you.  This is exciting, realistically it can be done very quickly, because I’m asking for outstanding posts already in archives.  If you missed commenting on the blog project yesterday, please feel free to do so here, eventually I’ll add a page, when time permits.

Our volunteer fire department has had Santa handing out goody bags on Christmas Eve for as long as even the oldest citizen can remember.  Its a beautiful little community event for the kids, something to help that long night pass a little quicker.  Parents look forward to it too, a little bit of a breather with their friends – happy kids to watch, beautiful Christmas caroles playing from the Church of Christ nearby.  The money to pay for these treats used to come from donation cans that were set in the businesses around town.  For the last few years, that hasn’t been possible because people were stealing the money from the cans.  A fact that was known only to the fire department until just a few days ago, when they didn’t have enough left in the treat fund to buy supplies for this year.  Today, one of my cops  came to my office to tell me there was old gentleman on the phone who had moved away many years ago but was thinking about the Christmas’ of his childhood and getting a treat bag from the Fire Department.  Sometimes the only thing he got for Christmas.  He wanted to know where to mail his check to pay for this year’s treat bags. 

Christmas miracle number two, and its not even December yet.  And people wonder why I love this time of year above all others. 

Miracle number three is that my fat cat Ophelia has not knocked this little tree in my bedroom off its table:

ophelia-under-the-tree.jpg

Speaking of the master bedroom…it’s all ready for Christmas too!

master-bedroom.jpg

bedroom-2.jpg

Very sedate for me, wouldn’t you agree?  An angel or two, nativity and a single tree!  Pap put his foot down here….

Entry filed under: Holidays, Music and Theatre, randomness, writing.

Opinions Solicited This Roller Coaster Day…

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bobciz  |  November 30, 2006 at 7:49 am

    Christmas miracles happen all year long. We just don’t call them “Christmas” miracles. I think at this time of year we are all just more tuned in to the gooodness around us becasuse we expect it more.

    Reply
  • 2. katcampbell  |  November 30, 2006 at 8:36 am

    Perhaps you are right Bob, I think I’ll keep track of miracles after December. I love those warm, fuzzy moments.

    Reply
  • 3. Mimi  |  November 30, 2006 at 8:37 am

    What a beautiful Christmas story! You so rarely hear stories like this anymore! Thanks for helping to remind us all what the season is about!

    Your home looks beautiful! You remind me of my mom decking all out for the holiday. Except she did not start it until I moved out! LOL!

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  November 30, 2006 at 8:47 am

    Mimi – Thank you! Shame on your Mom for not doing it for you… my gang was all thrown into service, the stories they tell!

    Reply
  • 5. Velvet Sacks  |  November 30, 2006 at 8:50 am

    I love your enthusiasm for Christmas decorations, and I love this example of a Christmas miracle. I wonder if anyone has ever written a book about these kinds of “miraculous” incidents. Reading a collection of stories like this would make it difficult for someone to assume that mere coincidence was behind the stories.

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  November 30, 2006 at 6:23 pm

    Velvet – I like little miracles too. It would be interesting to look for such a book. Surely someone has already done it!

    Reply
  • 7. FatWhiteMan  |  November 30, 2006 at 7:33 pm

    It’s despicable what is happening to small towns in Southern Ohio. I blame meth and other drugs mostly but when it boils down to it–it’s the people.

    When I moved to Southern Ohio 23 years ago, I was amazed at the small town environment. Everyone knew everyone, there would be a few festivals throughout the year and there was very little crime. Now you cannot leave your cars unlocked and I sometimes carry a firearm to the convenience store if it is late at night.

    We still have a wonderful volunteer fire department and they and the ladie’s auxilary are putting together another Christmas parade and visit by Santa Saturday. The local Boy Scouts helped them move the slay from storage Tuesday.

    It is still a good town–now, if we can just get rid of meth and a few idiots, it will be great.

    Reply
  • 8. FatWhiteMan  |  November 30, 2006 at 7:34 pm

    Whoops, slay = sleigh.

    Reply
  • 9. smileymama  |  November 30, 2006 at 8:05 pm

    Oh, that’s great! I hope he is remembered with a card or some token of appreciation…isn’t it nice when everyday angels appear and make a difference!?

    Reply
  • 10. Stacy  |  November 30, 2006 at 8:20 pm

    Go Grandpa! Don’t you just love miracles and the folks who make ’em happen?

    You’re still decorating!! And I’m still wallowing in boxes.

    Reply
  • 11. katcampbell  |  November 30, 2006 at 8:52 pm

    FWM – The meth labs are despicable and it was a sad day when crime found our small towns here in Southern Ohio. We are small, so even our police force is mostly auxiliary. Its hard for them to keep up with everything. Freudian slip…slay?

    Smileymama – if he doesn’t deliver his donation anonymously, he will be recognized in many ways.

    Stacy – I actually finished the decorating over the Thanksgiving weekend, I’m just posting the pictures slowly… Quit fussing! You have one more day until December!

    Reply
  • 12. John Linna  |  December 1, 2006 at 2:09 am

    I love Christmas miracles as well. People just seem to get more loving at Chrtistmas time.

    Reply
  • 13. Quilldancer  |  December 1, 2006 at 7:17 am

    This is why I don’t have to decorate my house. Just the Nativity and all is well ….

    Reply
  • 14. sunfloweroptimism  |  December 1, 2006 at 8:19 am

    I love when things “fall into place” like that, Kat. I just emailed a whole post to a friend about that very thing. I agree with Bob – I think miracles happen all the time – we are just more attuned at this time of year.

    Boy, that Pap is a spoil sport! Such “understated” Christmas decor in the bedroom, LOL.

    Reply
  • 15. katcampbell  |  December 1, 2006 at 9:11 am

    Dr.John – They do indeed.

    Quilly – People should only do what gives them joy at the holidays. Overdecorating, sending too many cards, cooking too much food… gives me joy! I suspect its because I’m so practical the rest of the year.

    Sunflower – I know, that Pap is definately my burden… however, wait until you see what HE’S done to the outside of my house… I hesitate to even call it tacky…perhaps an act of revenge?

    Reply
  • 16. Hammer  |  December 1, 2006 at 12:46 pm

    Nice looking setup. The firetrucks used roar down the street when I was a kid blaring the sirens with Santa sitting up top throwing bags of candy to everyone.

    I miss that kind of stuff.

    Reply
  • 17. katcampbell  |  December 1, 2006 at 4:49 pm

    That would have been fun Hammer! We moved around so much when I was a kid that community traditions didn’t really stick with me.

    Reply
  • 18. sandy  |  December 2, 2006 at 9:07 pm

    How nice of that gentleman to think of his past and donate to the volunteer fire department. I think I will inquire about it myself and follow his lead just because I want some children to have a nice Christmas to remember. Thanks Kat for the reminder.

    Reply
  • 19. katcampbell  |  December 2, 2006 at 9:28 pm

    You are just a sweety Sandy, all the fire departments can use everyone’s help.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds


