This Roller Coaster Day…

December 1, 2006 at 9:43 am 21 comments

Some days its necessary to strap on the seat belt right out of the bed.  I’m hoping by the end of this post, my ups will have atleast equalled my downs.  If they don’t, I’ll look harder…

For the first time in months I made it to the day job on time, and actually dressed for business.  That was an up moment.  It was my plan to complete the priorities and skip out around noon for a birthday party for one of my friends and her sister (I was on time, you didn’t actually expect I’d stay all day did you?)  I’d just finished the last of my necessary work and was packing up to leave when the phone rings. 

Pap.  He has had another dizzy spell at the (freaking) Doctor’s office and can’t drive.  He needs to be chauffered to the city to pick up prescriptions (one hour each way) and then to the hospital for blood tests.  Scary illness and I missed my friend’s party.  Down the slope we go. 

We finished all that in time for me to get to the theater to record my “favorite thing about Christmas” for the video they’re showing during the show.  A super up, wasn’t that nice of them to still include me after I had to drop out? 

Back home, I decided to unpack the box of Christmas music I’d left in the craft room.  The usual assortment of everyone and his dog singing Christmas songs, several instramental onlys (Manheim Steamroller, Celtic and Appalachian stuff), the obligatory Alvin and the Chipmunks and my all time favorite.  A battered cassette tape, its case cloudy from age and random crayon scribbles.  Raffi’s Christmas. This was my children’s favorite tape for years.  They sang with Raffi, performed to Raffi… they’re all grown and frequently burst into “Baby Beluga” or “Must Be Santa”.  A definate up that went immediately down when I remembered the last piece of equipment we had that played cassette tapes died over the summer.  I’ve been trying to replace that cassette with a CD for years, just isn’t happening. 

Tomorrow will be a better day.  In the mean time, I think I’ll go hang out in my dressing room, which just happens to be all ready for Christmas!

 dressing-room-angels.jpg

poof-side.jpg

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Miracles and Other Business Prisoners

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cindra  |  December 1, 2006 at 10:28 am

    You are INSANE! Look at that. I am amazed. I want to come do a photo essay on your whole house. can i do that next year? really.

    poor pap.

    i do hope he starts taking better care of himself. that’s frustrating and scary for you, i know. sheesh.

    hang in there, toots.

    Reply
  • 2. CarletonB  |  December 1, 2006 at 10:38 am

    Kat – amazon.com has it:

    http://www.amazon.com/Raffis-Christmas-Album-Raffi/dp/B00006LHYO/sr=8-4/qid=1164951418/ref=pd_bbs_sr_4/104-5368365-6527903?ie=UTF8&s=music

    just a click and a credit card away……

    – carl

    Reply
  • 3. Delmonti  |  December 1, 2006 at 2:01 pm

    Come on Pap…. You’re not allowed to be ill around Xmas time, leave it ’till the new year.

    Ok Kat… no more decorations! a fella can only take so much, just as well I aint got a significant other half or she’ll be e-mailing you for tips.

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  December 1, 2006 at 4:42 pm

    Cindra – Sure, you come on down any time! Pap will eventually decide he’s tired of feeling this bad all the time. Hopefully.

    Carl – You’re my hero! My grandgirls will love this music…off to Amazon…

    Delmonti – Lacking a significant other, you’ll have to dive in on your own… or wait, PRINCESS could be of assistance…

    Reply
  • 5. tony  |  December 1, 2006 at 5:10 pm

    You’re too funny. I was wondering, do you have any Christmas deco out in the garage? Do you have that wreath on the front grill of your car as you zoom down the highways and biways?

    More prayers for Pap, btw. That poor guy. I have an uncle who had the same spat of dizziness. He actually passed out, fell and tore ligaments in his foot. They can’t operate because his ticker isn’t up to snuff. It’s a bummer.

    Reply
  • 6. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  December 1, 2006 at 5:45 pm

    Keeping both you and Pap in my prayers. Yes, invent a seat belt for the bed and I think you could make a fortune. I HATE days that go up and down. I can deal with up – I can deal with down. I don’t do well moving back and forth!

    Reply
  • 7. Quilldancer  |  December 1, 2006 at 7:22 pm

    Kat – we’ve had the same kind of week — well, except for the compulsive decorating ….

    Pap is in my prayers — and so is his over-extended wife!

    Reply
  • 8. Hayden  |  December 1, 2006 at 7:42 pm

    poor Pap, poor you! that stuff is no fun any time, and Christmas time just makes it worse.

    ever consider going to a 12 step program for that decorating obsession you’ve got?

    Reply
  • 9. Mike  |  December 1, 2006 at 9:08 pm

    Hi Kat,

    I’m off-topic here, but you said that you’d be interested in seeing some of the existing “Best Blog Post” books. Here’s the one that I had seen before. I have no idea if there are others:

    http://www.miscbooksandpress.org/

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  December 1, 2006 at 10:54 pm

    Tony – Ha Ha smart guy! Sadly, my convertable doesn’t have a grill, so I must leave the wreath at home!

    Dr. Kate – They’re just the worst… too much emotion all in one day. Thanks for the prayers, we need them.

    Quilly – Something in the air maybe…

    Hayden – LOL, Look who’s talking Miss Striped Dining Room! Some of us must have an overabundance of Christmas cheer to make up for those that don’t. Have you purchased Jake’s Santa hat yet?

    Mike – Thanks! I’ll go check it out. No sense duplicating someone’s effort, or reinventing the wheel.

    Reply
  • 11. Mimi  |  December 2, 2006 at 1:46 am

    I am sorry the day went downhill. I hope Pap is okay.

    You have a dressing room???? And it is pink taboot! Gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 12. LauraJ  |  December 2, 2006 at 2:36 am

    I second the above post^^

    Reply
  • 13. Nessa  |  December 2, 2006 at 4:47 am

    I hope Pap is doing better.
    I want a dressing room, too.
    I love all of your Christmas-ness.
    And you are amazing to get to work on time and on a Friday, to boot.

    Reply
  • 14. Nessa  |  December 2, 2006 at 4:47 am

    Hey, how come the comment date says Dec 2nd? Where the heck are you?

    Reply
  • 15. katcampbell  |  December 2, 2006 at 4:51 am

    Mimi, Laura and Nessa – You CAN have a dressing room, just boot one of your kids out of their room and put up racks. This little room is attached to our master bedroom and used to be the nursery for Princess. As the older kids started moving out, everyone shifted bedrooms for more space leaving this tiny room all mine. After YEARS of keeping my clothes on portable racks, and in other peoples drawers… I love it.

    Reply
  • 16. bobciz  |  December 2, 2006 at 7:23 am

    the occasional downer makes the uppers all that much sweeter. Still, Pap needs to take better care of himself to keep those downers to a minimum.
    Hate to be a scrooge, but how long does it take to take down all those Christmas decorations? Or do you leave them up all year but just don’t take any pictures after January?

    Reply
  • 17. katcampbell  |  December 2, 2006 at 8:14 am

    LOL, Bob! No time at all, they go up between Thanksgiving afternoon and Sunday morning, I’ll have them down and packed away before New Years. I can’t start a new year with Christmas still hanging around.

    Reply
  • 18. DaveM  |  December 2, 2006 at 11:51 am

    Hope Pap is ok. I suppose if your are going to have a turn then being in the Docs is a good place. Your are a whirlwind of activity Kat, take care not to burn yourself out.

    Reply
  • 19. katcampbell  |  December 2, 2006 at 5:12 pm

    Thats the general consensus Dave, better at the Doctors than on the road.

    Reply
  • 20. sandy  |  December 2, 2006 at 9:15 pm

    Hope this was a one time thing for Pap and that he’ll be okay for the rest of the season (& beyond).
    Sorry you missed the birthday party, but there’s always next year.

    Reply
  • 21. katcampbell  |  December 2, 2006 at 9:27 pm

    True Sandy, about the birthday party, but I’m going to pout about it a little longer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds


