Prisoners

December 2, 2006 at 6:11 pm 14 comments

As if yesterday wasn’t gnarly enough with the crazy weather,  t-shirt temperatures in the morning – parka weather by four o’clock, wildly whipping wind (there are Christmas decorations blown all over the street but not mine, we know to wire things down!), it was made more heinous by being the first day I was supposed to stop smoking in the house.  And then, every time I turned on a radio or TV somebody was doing a story that made my nerves jangle.

Maybe I’m judgemental, but  I don’t think we, as a society, owe death row inmates anything.  They’re darn lucky to have  food and a place to sleep.  Anyway…This very nice priest was pleading for people to be pen pals to the men on death row.  Internet pen pals, which means these twisted people convicted of murder are now free to murder the minds of the kind and innocent people attempting to help them.  They allege their punishment is “death”, so they have rights up until the lethal injection.  Ugh… that makes me crazy.

The second story had to do with prisoner art being featured at a gallery in Manhatten.  “Art” created with hair, skittles, dirt … give me a break.  If they have talent in sufficient quantities to deserve a gallery show, shame on them for squandering that talent and landing in jail. 

And then… this one really makes me burn… the rights to O.J.’s stinking book have reverted back to him since publication was cancelled.  He’s talking about self-publishing.  There are not enough foul words in the universe to adequately describe this lower than pond scum, walking, talking demon. 

I failed completely at keeping my smoking outside yesterday.  But I did move to a room that nobody ever goes in but me.  The kitchen.  There are many advantages to smoking in the kitchen, the first is that its far away from the living areas where Pap and Princess hang out.  There are lots of windows so I can keep an eye on the neighborhood, convenient access to the refrigerator and while I was hanging out there anyway, I went ahead and tidied up some drawers and cabinets and actually cooked something.  That sure got my housemates off my back. 

Today will be a better day.  Here’s something pretty from my kitchen:

kitchen-christmas.jpg

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

This Roller Coaster Day… Make Diesel Read a Book

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Quilldancer  |  December 2, 2006 at 6:22 pm

    It’s just the opposite here — turn the heat on mornings and run the airconditioner afternoons!

    Reply
  • 2. therevdrkate  |  December 2, 2006 at 6:48 pm

    We decorated our house and put up our tree yesterday and it was 70! Not what you expect in New England on December 1. I couldn’t tell if it was really unseasonably warm or if I was having a hot flash!

    Reply
  • 3. guyana-gyal  |  December 2, 2006 at 8:16 pm

    Ooh, your kitchen is lovely.

    When my mum goes overseas, I’m going to dump every bit of clutter she’s collected there. I hope she still talks to me after that hehehe 😀

    Reply
  • 4. guyana-gyal  |  December 2, 2006 at 8:19 pm

    Clutter in our kitchen, I mean.

    Reply
  • 5. Hammer  |  December 2, 2006 at 8:23 pm

    I smoke cigars in the house. It keeps unwelcome visitors at bay 😉

    Nice looking decorations BTW!

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  December 2, 2006 at 8:43 pm

    Quilly – But that’s normal for Las Vegas isn’t it? We’re used to having snow by this time of year!

    Dr. Kate – You’re having the same unusual weather as us! And people poo-poo global warming. Sheesh.

    GG- My kitchen is also cluttered, thats why there is a picture of only one little arrangement instead of the room! You dump your mothers stuff and I bet you’ll be in way BIG trouble girl!

    Hammer – I’ve never minded the smell of cigars or pipes. The rest of the residents around here just don’t appreciate the finer things in life.

    Reply
  • 7. sandy  |  December 2, 2006 at 9:25 pm

    Well, I just discovered I’m putting my comments on the wrong posts…stupid me. I’m so used to comments at the end, not at the beginning…that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it. *LOL*

    Prisoners and rights??? I get tired of hearing about their rights. I don’t think they should have any.

    I don’t smoke, but I do enjoy the smell of a pipe and cigarette smoke doesn’t bother me in the least. We have ashtrays all over our house…You can come over and smoke here if you’d like.

    Oh I love that thingy in your kitchen. I tried cooking yesterday and blew up the stove…Well it sounded like it blew up. It made a loud pop and scared the crap out of me. Now it doesn’t work…Yeah!

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  December 2, 2006 at 9:27 pm

    Its okay Sandy, no matter where you put the comments I find ’em! I’m moving in with you so I can smoke in peace. I’ll bring my decorations.

    Reply
  • 9. Nessa  |  December 3, 2006 at 4:51 am

    I don’t even know what to say about prisoners rights…ugh!

    Your decoration is pretty.

    Reply
  • 10. Catch  |  December 3, 2006 at 11:41 am

    Im with you….they dont deserve anything and I sure as hell dont want to be their penpals. And since when did they get computers???

    Your decoration in your kitchen is lovely….good luck on the smoking…I know its tough!

    Reply
  • 11. Mr. Fabulous  |  December 3, 2006 at 3:24 pm

    Deep breaths…deep breaths…

    Today will be better 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. Velvet Sacks  |  December 4, 2006 at 12:18 am

    I know a woman (only casually) who started a penpal relationship–and later MARRIED–a man whose murder of his wife was the subject of John Dillman’s book, “Unholy Matrimony.” He actually got out of prison and set up a local computer repair shop a number of years ago. They’re no longer married, and I think (hope) he’s moved away. Everytime I see this woman, the first thing that comes to my mind is what was she thinking?

    Reply
  • 13. katcampbell  |  December 4, 2006 at 1:22 am

    Nessa – Just kinda makes the hair stand up on your neck doesn’t it?

    Catch – The computer bit shocked me too. I can almost see computer time for prisoners in general population, but death row????? Our tax dollars at work.

    Mr. Fab – Nowhere to go but up, eh?

    Velvet – What WAS she thinking? Jeez people do the craziest things.

    Reply
  • 14. rose anne  |  January 26, 2007 at 3:02 pm

    Caught the last of this through a website search after reading Unholy Matrimony. Sam Corey WAS on death row, but had the sentence commuted to life imprisonment. Jim Giesick (whom I’m supposing the last two posts were about) was only charged with manslaughter (although he was as guilty as hell) and never on death row. Hence he probably would have been granted computer time. And you’re right – it does make one sick to think he’s out and about.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds


