Monday, Monday….

December 4, 2006 at 6:18 pm 23 comments

It’s snowing this morning, nothing that will hinder traffic, not even a dusting, just a few random flakes you must look very closely at to even see.  Snow is one of those things I feel guilty wishing for.  A nice foot or so looks really pretty and gets kids out of school, but it also causes many problems for other people.  I can’t imagine trying to get the ambulance through deep snow to the hospital, or how much harder a routine patrol for a cop is when that shift is complicated by idiots doing donuts in the middle of Main Street.  So I don’t wish for it, but if it comes naturally, I am happy.

Speaking of happy… this morning on the news I heard a story about the newest fitness fad.  Laugh Yoga.  Apparently people are gathering with “laugh counsellors” and basically acting silly while they force themselves to laugh.  Proponents of this new fad rave about increased lung capacity, improved spirits, blah…blah…blah…  Since when do people need instruction on how to laugh?  I can’t even imagine how much they’re getting charged for this.  Haven’t these people heard of the comedy channel?  Robin Williams?  Sheesh… its free there.

Princess and I went to see Deck the Halls at the movies yesterday.  I can’t recommend it.  Mathew Broderick being himself in a weak, cliched story line.  There were some cute moments, and it may have been a disappointment had I not been viewing it with the Ruler of Snark, Princess.  She and I know how to laugh, those guys behind us in the theater?  Not so much.  Somebody should tell them that the more you “shush” somebody the  funnier they find it.  We aren’t usually that rude, but there couldn’t have been more than ten people in the whole theater and these two yucks decide to sit right behind us.  

Today, being the first full week of December, begins the YEAR END ACCOUNTING race for me at the day job.  If I really have a friend in this world somewhere, they will come to my office and put me into a coma until the New Year is well under way.   

Entry filed under: randomness, Uncategorized.

Make Diesel Read a Book Tomorrow is Today

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. NMOTB  |  December 4, 2006 at 7:50 pm

    I can just imagine what chaos our roads will be in if it had to snow here, as it is the people drive like idiots when it rains!!!!!!!!! Year end rush, tell me about it, our rush has started at work too but luckily I am going on leave from the 15th to the 15th, I cant wait – I am tired and just need some time out!!!! Hope all is well with you and pops!!! Take Care

    Reply
  • 2. Stacy  |  December 4, 2006 at 8:03 pm

    Oh, say it isn’t so! I’ve been wanting to see Deck the Halls and haven’t made it yet. Are you sure it isn’t cheesy enough for me?

    We’ve also got a flake or two coming down today. Nothing to amount to anything.

    Reply
  • 3. guyana-gyal  |  December 4, 2006 at 11:04 pm

    There’s a laugh club in India…but no intructions, they just go and laugh and laugh.

    Some folks, I swear, need instructions on how to laugh.

    Reply
  • 4. Catch  |  December 4, 2006 at 11:21 pm

    I feel guilty wishing for snow too…its so beautiful but causes so many problems for some. I wish everyone could just stay home and enjoy it!!!

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  December 5, 2006 at 12:38 am

    New Mom – Lucky you! 30-days of freedom! I won’t be able to escape until atleast March lst. *sigh*.

    Stacy – Cheesy it is, you might love it. Princess and I just got fed up with how mean Mathews character is to Danny Devito’s in this movie. Do you ever watch My Name Is Earl? Earl’s exwife is Danny DeVito’s wife – she is magnificent!

    GG – A laugh club… is it just me, or does sound insane?

    Catch – Blizzards let everyone stay home…lets wish for one of those?

    Reply
  • 6. DELMONTI  |  December 5, 2006 at 12:58 am

    I work for IBM where any outbreak of mirth can result in disaplinary action.

    Reply
  • 7. LauraJ  |  December 5, 2006 at 1:12 am

    May I suggest you go watch Happy Feet??!! Oh I loved it and can’t wait for it to come out on video!! The music! The story! The music! Oh it was just wonderful!!

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  December 5, 2006 at 2:03 am

    Delmonti – LOL! That doesn’t surprise me!

    Laura J. – I was the babysitter when my whole family went to see Happy Feet, they are raving about it too.

    Reply
  • 9. Velvet Sacks  |  December 5, 2006 at 5:14 am

    Well, you made ME laugh when you put together the words “cop” and “doing donuts” in the same sentence but in an entirely unexpected way.

    Reply
  • 10. Mr. Fabulous  |  December 5, 2006 at 5:32 am

    I can put you in a coma. We’re good like that…

    Reply
  • 11. katcampbell  |  December 5, 2006 at 5:53 am

    Velvet – You witty thing! It was unintentional, I don’t think that fast first thing in the morning.

    Fab – You see the kat signal flashing over your house, you know I’m screamin for that coma right now.

    Reply
  • 12. John Linna  |  December 5, 2006 at 6:31 am

    I hate snow. I am so afraid of falling. Don’t wish for a coma I spent two months in one and aftreward I had to learn to walk.

    Reply
  • 13. katcampbell  |  December 5, 2006 at 6:47 am

    Dr. John – I will strike that from my wishes. If I had to learn to walk again, I don’t think I’d have the determination.

    Reply
  • 14. bobciz  |  December 5, 2006 at 8:03 am

    Laughing really is good for you. There have university studies that say so , so it must be true. All I know is that when we get to laughing around here, which we do a lot of, I always feel better.
    I hope to die laughing some day. What a way to go.

    Reply
  • 15. Barb  |  December 5, 2006 at 9:47 am

    To Kat’s blogging friends.(That almost sounds rude)
    wishing you all the best for Christmas, will swap you just a little of your snow, for our 100 plus temps at Christmas Please vist this site just Beautiful,
    Kat you can wish for no snow this year, but not
    2008
    .

    HAVE A WONDERFUL HOLIDAY SEASON.

    TURN UP YOUR SPEAKERS AND ENJOY THE CHOIR.

    MERRY CHRISTMAS!
    http://ecard.ashland.edu/2004admission/index.html

    .

    Reply
  • 16. katcampbell  |  December 5, 2006 at 9:56 am

    Barb! That was beautiful! I will put in our order for tons and tons of snow in 2008!

    Reply
  • 17. Hammer  |  December 5, 2006 at 11:20 am

    I can’t stand Broderick, I was anxiously awaiting the new producers movie. Then I was so disgusted at his lack of acting ability I had to go watch the 1968 version again.

    Laugh Yoga? I would probably puke if I went to one of those classes.

    Reply
  • 18. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  December 5, 2006 at 5:52 pm

    There is a classic yoga pose called “Happy Baby pose” that consisits of laying on your back and grabbing your toes while laughing. You can also roar like a lion in lion pose!

    Reply
  • 19. katcampbell  |  December 5, 2006 at 7:45 pm

    Hammer – I liked Broderick as Ferris Bueller, but everything else he’s done since is the same. I wouldn’t even waste my money…when I need help with laughter I round up some kids or some bloggers.

    Dr. Kate – I must be hopelessly uptight…

    Reply
  • 20. Mimi  |  December 5, 2006 at 11:18 pm

    We had a nice dusting of snow thos morning too. But it is long gone.

    Sorry the movie wasn’t great. Even the good ones aren’t worth it anymore with the prices. It is cheaper to wait and buy the DVD.

    Reply
  • 21. katcampbell  |  December 6, 2006 at 9:25 am

    Mimi – Arn’t the prices just crazy? We paid $8 for tickets, and $15 for refreshments. If I had a brain, I’d sneak the popcorn and raisonettes in.

    Reply
  • 22. smileymama  |  December 6, 2006 at 9:04 pm

    Firstly, I think Matthew will always be Ferris Beuler. Secondly, I think that stand-up comedians should get the new titles they deserve as newly-appointed “laugh counselors”. And possibly a pay increase. It’s only fair!!
    😉 T

    Reply
  • 23. katcampbell  |  December 6, 2006 at 9:07 pm

    Smileymama that’s funny!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds


