Look Into My Eyes….

December 8, 2006 at 8:07 am 22 comments

isabelle-lounding-4.jpg 

It’s tricky maintaining a consistently pleasant attitude.  The grumpy and curmudgeonly of the world seem to find happy people a challenge.  A test of their gloom spreading skills.  They find a joyful persona somehow…suspicious, abnormal, less informed, dare I say it…silly. 

This is Princesses wicked cat Isobelle.  She isn’t really a cat.  She’s an offspring of the Grinch, disguised as a cat, spirited into my house through a deceptive farmer.  Probably wasn’t even a real farmer, just some mean guy DRESSED as a farmer.  It is Isobelle’s mission to destroy my Christmas Spirit.  She will fail as miserably at stealing my joy as those who came before her:

   “If being grounded for one week is so darn funny, you can have two.”  Still smiling.

   “Airman!  Wipe that smile off your face and give me twenty!”  Still smiling.

   “Mom, I just crushed the bumper of your new car into grandpa’s truck.”  That very nearly worked, but then I remembered I had insurance and laughed out loud. 

This cat is a rookie.  She’s wreaked havoc on the shiny ornaments at the bottom of all my Christmas trees, completely shredded a wreath I’ve had since Tiffany was a baby and knocked wise man number three off the dresser breaking his little turbaned head off.  She’s debeaded the chandelier in my dressing room and then dragged the beads all over the house, chewed through the cord that normally lights up the wreath in the guest room and turned a “blanket” of snow into “cotton balls” of snow.  She drinks out of Pap’s Ice tea glass and eats the dog’s food, but I’m still smiling.  She’s just a cat.  These are just things.  I’m secure in the knowledge that whenever these antics cease to amuse me, there’s a large German Shepard just up the street that would enjoy a cat snack.    

Entry filed under: Holidays, Social commentary.

Tomorrow is Today Time Out

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nessa  |  December 8, 2006 at 8:24 am

    But those eyes are so scary.

    Reply
  • 2. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  December 8, 2006 at 5:44 pm

    Will be happy to trade your one destructive cat for my accident prone dog! Perhaps a minor exorcism for the cat might work?

    Reply
  • 3. sunfloweroptimism  |  December 8, 2006 at 6:05 pm

    I’m glad your enthusiasm can’t be dampened! Somehow I didn’t think it would be, LOL. Now where’s that German Shepherd. . . ?

    Reply
  • 4. Catch  |  December 8, 2006 at 7:08 pm

    Great post today! I laughed all the way through it. That kitty is sure testing you isnt she? lol.

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  December 8, 2006 at 9:14 pm

    Nessa – I’m positive she’s possessed.

    Dr. Kate – Your dog is one of my favorites…just because he lives with you…many miles away!

    Sunflower – Just two houses down, licking his chops and staring intently at my cat infested house.

    Catch – Somebody told me you needed a kitty…

    Reply
  • 6. Quilldancer  |  December 9, 2006 at 7:31 am

    Lol! This was funderful! I have a couple of Isobelle’s relatives at my place.

    Reply
  • 7. Claire  |  December 9, 2006 at 10:04 am

    Geez she looks like Tiger’s sister. He just recently completed shitting out yet another bratz doll belt. I guess I should be happy they come out and do not have to be removed expensively in surgery…

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  December 9, 2006 at 5:24 pm

    Quilly – I knew it… they’re infiltrating the country like stepford wives.

    Claire – LOL, you’re cat may be related to Dr. Kate’s dog.

    Reply
  • 9. Twobuyfour  |  December 9, 2006 at 7:57 pm

    That’s the spirit! Don’t let one satanic cat keep you from enjoying yourself. If everyone had your optimistic outlook we’d all be much better off.

    Reply
  • 10. Shelli  |  December 9, 2006 at 8:43 pm

    OMG! That is hilarious. I have a cat who has similar antics. Maybe I shall blog about her one day. LOL

    Reply
  • 11. Shelli  |  December 9, 2006 at 8:44 pm

    Ignore that last blog url. It isn’t my real blog and I don’t blog there anymore. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 12. katcampbell  |  December 9, 2006 at 8:46 pm

    Two Buy – If things don’t go awry, what in the world would we write about?

    Shelli – I look forward to hearing someone elses miserable cat tale. No prob. with the URL, I have two also.

    Reply
  • 13. Gela Words  |  December 10, 2006 at 12:59 am

    I laughed when I read the first paragraph. I remember working with this lady who was out of the world cheerful and upbeat all the time. And we use to wonder what the hell she has to be happy about all the time. Hehe.

    I’ll take someone who’s forever cheerful over a regular grouch anyday though.

    Reply
  • 14. katcampbell  |  December 10, 2006 at 5:23 am

    So glad you clarified that Gela, as one of my favorite people, I’d hate to think you were among the grumpy and curmudgeonly!

    Reply
  • 15. Linda  |  December 10, 2006 at 5:48 am

    Having two cats myself, I can appreciate your situation. Cats can be so sneaky. My house is like a zoo; the cats, a large dog, a husband, a pre-schooler, and a new born. There is never a dull moment.

    The first few years that I was married my cats tormented my tree, now they are approaching 14 years of age, they leave the tree alone. They do like to hide out behind it, though. My three year old has left things alone in the past. This year, we have a new dog who is huge and daffy, I think he may give the tree a run for the money this year.

    Reply
  • 16. katcampbell  |  December 10, 2006 at 6:21 am

    Hi Linda! I’ll keep my fingers crossed that your dog leaves everything alone – you’ve got enough to do with that precious little girl and new baby.

    Reply
  • 17. Velvet Sacks  |  December 10, 2006 at 6:43 am

    Too funny, Kat! And the kitty looks soooo comfortable.

    Reply
  • 18. Hammer  |  December 10, 2006 at 9:58 am

    Battery operated squirt guns do wonders for misbehaving cats. They really really hate being sprayed and will cease a behavior quickly when confronted with water.

    Don’t ask me how I know this…

    Reply
  • 19. katcampbell  |  December 10, 2006 at 10:21 am

    Velvet – Yes, thats MY chair this miserable cat has assumed as her own.

    Hammer – I’m going to try it, but I’m not sure it will work with this cat. She sits on the edge of the tub when we’re in the shower and plays in the dog’s water bowl. I’m positive she’s possessed.

    Reply
  • 20. Janet  |  December 11, 2006 at 8:37 am

    There was a long period when I was convinced Spot was possessed by the devil, and even considered asking our parish priest to bless him, hoping that it would drive the evil spirits out of Spot. I was too chicken to ask, and eventually Spot mellowed out. I think. I don’t know what he gets up to in the middle of the night, though.

    Sounds like you’ve had your hands full lately!

    Reply
  • 21. smileymama  |  December 11, 2006 at 9:03 am

    Ok, your cat is worse. I’m going to stop complaining. Although my cat is really a dog in cat skin. He flips over to have his belly rubbed, he sleeps on my face, he is uncoordinated and knocks over shelves full of cleaning supplies, he licks my eyes to wake me up, he tries to eat the dog food, he sucks his toes at night (which is VERY loud at 3 am)….and, well, he’s a sweet baby, okay, nevermind….yours is definitely worse.
    🙂 T

    Reply
  • 22. Sandy  |  December 12, 2006 at 4:28 pm

    Well, I can see that I’m not the only one with cat troubles around Christmas. I’m still waiting for the cats to pull down my cotton roll and crash my little NEW Christmas village to the floor in pieces. That’s the last remaining thing they haven’t bothered and surprisinly they haven’t touched the Christmas tree either, but it’s on the fake cotton snow. I still have my cats convinced that it’s real snow, which they hate.

    Love the picture of Isabelle.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds


