Energy Vampires and Other Crazy Folks

December 12, 2006 at 7:39 pm 13 comments

I’m an introvert married to, and mother of, a clan of extroverts… energy vampires, each and every one of them.  To complicate matters, I also seem to have a neon sign on my forehead announcing the fact that I am willing to let any old energy vampire feed off me.  I’m giving like that. 

Eventually, there’s just this character walking around that sorta resembles a deflated balloon of Kat.  People will talk to me and I’ll see their mouths moving, but the words just don’t register.  Its time to recharge.  Since its December, I took care of pumping up my battery here, in the dining room:

christmas-view.jpg

That’s the best seat in the house.  Big ole fan overhead to blow my smoke away. Dark and dim because there are no windows. Far from the noise and drama that is my family with their TVs, video games, small children, bickering and ringing telephones, all of which can be drowned out just by turning on the CD player in the kitchen.  Pot of tea, plate of cookies… Now that’s livin’, at least for a day or two. 

Last week was a doozy! It started with an absent assistant (Crisis!  She does everything for me!), and then all my grown kids went nuts, the grandgirls staged a protest, the baby caught a cold, one of our authors got upset and left these hostile time bombs in my e-mail box.  By the time I realized I’d missed my newspaper deadline and forgotten to drop a manuscript off with a reader… I knew it was time to fall out and regroup. 

There was fun stuff last week too… Jazz and Bri’s school Christmas Pageant.  Hilarious, I can’t even describe it, organized chaos with every lst and 3rd grade child on stage at once.  I would have had a video, but –  it was meltdown week, so of course, the batteries in my camera were dead when I got to the show.  It was also the Angel Tree Show weekend.  Beautiful show, even without me!   It’s just amazing what they can do with a bunch of volunteers. 

I’m back up and running, thank you all for your kind words, advice and good wishes.   Better than angels….

P.S.  to Tony: I’m working on that Why I’m Weird tag… I’m not, so it’s a strain…probably the reason I had a meltdown, worrying about what to write about such a non-weird woman… people will discover I’m boring and dull… the stress is unbearable…

Entry filed under: Holidays.

Time Out Six Weird Things

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacy  |  December 12, 2006 at 8:25 pm

    Yikes! That sounds like a week that would have anyone running for the inner sanctum. Glad you’re feeling better.

    Reply
  • 2. Sandy  |  December 12, 2006 at 9:01 pm

    Kat…I hope that this week has started out fine for you and I can see that you have your camera back up and running. Maybe some other mother took some pictures of the pageant and can share them with you.
    Isn’t this that time of year when everything & everyone goes nuts anyway? *LOL*
    That does look like a nice place to sit, relax and recharge your batteries.

    Reply
  • 3. LauraJ  |  December 12, 2006 at 9:08 pm

    what a great place to hide out from everyone! Can I join you?

    Reply
  • 4. tony  |  December 13, 2006 at 4:11 am

    You can borrow some of my weirdness. I’ve got plenty to go around!

    I think there are a lot of us bloggers out here in recharge mode. I know I am.

    Reply
  • 5. Mr. Fabulous  |  December 13, 2006 at 4:48 am

    Energy vampires…wow, I like that term.

    In my last job, I had to be an extrovert even though I am at heart an introvert.

    It was EXHAUSTING.

    Reply
  • 6. Mimi  |  December 13, 2006 at 6:55 am

    I just saw a special about vampires on Discovery Channel. They actually call themselves energy vampires now and literally do that instead of drink blood!

    Reply
  • 7. katcampbell  |  December 13, 2006 at 7:13 am

    Mimi – I should sue! The literary thieves, my family has been using the term “energy vampire” since I was a little kid. I think it was my Georgia brother-in-law that coined it in response to the fact that me and my sisters all talk at once thereby “sucking all the air from the room.”

    Mr. Fab – Isn’t that the truth! I perform extrovert all the time, and can usually recover at night…holidays throw a monkey wrench into the plan.

    Tony – Oh good, I’ll be happy to borrow some of your weirdness since I STILL can’t find much of my own.

    Laura J – Come on over! I’ve got plenty of chairs.

    Sandy – Its definately the time of year for over scheduling and the occasional melt down!

    Stacy – I’m just a whiner, or is that a weiner? Hmmm…

    Reply
  • 8. Nessa  |  December 13, 2006 at 7:29 am

    Glad you are up and running again. I’m an introvert by nature, too, and expend alot during the day. When I get home everyone knows to give me some time to recharge. Or I just yell and run and hide.

    Reply
  • 9. katcampbell  |  December 13, 2006 at 8:04 am

    Nessa – Usually things work out better, I’m usually the first one home and have an hour or two before Princess and Pap roll in… not last week, I just couldn’t escape people!

    Reply
  • 10. Hammer  |  December 13, 2006 at 9:44 am

    Energy vampires, I hate em and they love me.

    I did a post about them a while back I think I called em energy suckers.

    Reply
  • 11. Quilldancer  |  December 13, 2006 at 10:15 am

    On a post about energy vampires you end by sayng you aren’t weird ….

    Glad you’re back, Kat. We all need to regroup sometinmes!

    Reply
  • 12. katcampbell  |  December 13, 2006 at 10:57 pm

    Hammer – Isn’t it amazing how they find us? It’s crazy, its like we glow or something.

    Quilly – Thanks! I’m feeling much better and I agree, everyone needs time out.

    Reply
  • 13. Velvet Sacks  |  December 14, 2006 at 7:30 am

    Kat, I’m right there with you on the introversion thing. I really do like people, but I like ’em in small doses.

    I think that’s the best thing about meeting so many nice online friends. Blog World seems to have a higher proportion of introverts than the world in general. It’s so cool to be able to drop in and socialize when I’m up for it, and I can lurk online without getting any of the strange looks I’d get if I were lurking in a quiet corner at a party.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds


