Birthdays and Other Nonsense

December 16, 2006 at 6:48 pm 16 comments

Monday will be my 48th birthday, no big deal, half the time I must do the math to even remember how old I am.  This year there are a series of celebrations beginning yesterday with The Sag Party.  A gathering of my girl friends who’s birthdays all make them sagitarians. We had so much fun, laughed until our sides hurt.   It took only a simple lunch of chicken salad and breadsticks, one bottle of wine, the movie Waiting for Guffman and each other.  moms-birthday-card.jpgDriving home (in the daylight) I was thinking how my birthday parties had changed over the years, thinking about what it took to have that much fun when I was younger.

At 8 it was my six best friends, a new dress and being first in line for pin the tail on the donkey.

At 18 – It was as many people as we could stuff into two Monte Carlos and an all night cruise of every bar and jazz club in the French Quarter, my military ID working better than any fake drivers license at getting me served.  I think I sobered up just before Christmas Eve.

At 28 – I was hugely pregnant with Princess, and all it took was a babysitter for the other four heathens and a romantic dinner out with Pap. (Like we needed any more romance).

I turned 38 with 25 of our closest friends in a perfectly planned and orchestrated party at our house.  Great fun during, exhausting cleaning up the mess afterward. 

So now I’m turning 48, and it takes several events to mark the occasion apparently.  Today we have the annual Christmas gathering of the clan.  The families grown too big to really fit at anyone’s house anymore, but we hang on to the old traditions no matter how squishy it gets.  Luckily, I’m not the relative with the biggest house…hosting this crowd is only for the brave or demented. 

The card and badge above pictured, was a gift from my daughters… silly girls!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

When Good Nutcrackers Go Bad Reunions and Other Dramas

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janet  |  December 16, 2006 at 7:55 pm

    Happy pre-Birthday! Gee, you have a good memory-I can’t remember my birthdays. How did you find girlfriends who were all born in the sign of Sagittarius? A gaggle of Sagittarians must be a sight to behold!

    Reply
  • 2. katcampbell  |  December 16, 2006 at 8:00 pm

    Freakish coincidence Janet… we have crazy, wild debates when its just us Sags. If the “other star signs” in our usual group saw how we act without them, they’d stop hanging with us altogether.

    Reply
  • 3. sandy  |  December 16, 2006 at 9:06 pm

    …or they’d probably trample you in the stampede to join in the fun Kat :p Happy Birthday wishes for tomorrow and may the years and celebrations go on for well, AGES more. haha Ha e a great time and enjoy the holiday season.
    Happy Christmas, love and laughter to you and yours.

    Reply
  • 4. Davem  |  December 16, 2006 at 11:33 pm

    48……stil a spring chicken.

    Have a really good time and enjoy it all. From what you have told us, it sounds as if its going to be a good one.

    Reply
  • 5. Hayden  |  December 17, 2006 at 12:27 am

    I know what you mean about doing the math. Recently I did the math and found out that I had tacked a couple of EXTRA years on somehow… don’t know how that happened, LOL. I guess it means I’m pretty casual about the getting older thing….

    Reply
  • 6. Velvet Sacks  |  December 17, 2006 at 5:09 am

    Happy birthday from yet another Sagittarian, Kat. Enjoy your celebrations.

    Reply
  • 7. Linda  |  December 17, 2006 at 7:49 am

    Happy Birthday, Kat! I hope that your day is wonderful.

    You are so right about how birthdays change over the years. For me now, even on my birthday, I think I focus on my kids. It is strange how they have changed me. I also enjoy just getting out for a dinner with a good friend. It does not have to be a crowd, just time away from home with another adult. Right before my newest baby was born, my very good friend took me out for brunch (I guess it was the calm before the storm) and it was so peaceful and it was nice to be able to eat a meal without having to worry about what my three year old was going to do during a meal. Anyway, I hope your day is great!

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  December 17, 2006 at 9:14 am

    Sandy – You’re probably right (so we won’t invite ’em)

    Dave – Thanks! I don’t know about spring chicken, but I’m definately not in the winter of my life yet.

    Hayden – I’ve done that before! I was saying I was 40 when I was just turning 39.

    Velvet – Rock on! Next year you’ll have to come to our Sag Party.

    Linda – Once the kids come along, Peace and Quiet is the best gift ever, then they grow and you can get wild again.

    Reply
  • 9. Shelli  |  December 17, 2006 at 9:38 am

    I hope you really enjoy yourself. I will be passing a big milestone birthday next July. My last milestone birthday was ignored. I was pissed. It still pisses me off when I think about it. It probably wouldn’t have bugged me but the same milestone birthday of others that came before me and after me were all celebrated with great fanfare.

    I should probably warn someone that it better not happen again. LOL

    Reply
  • 10. Catch  |  December 17, 2006 at 9:55 am

    Happy Birthday Kat!!!

    A day out with your girlfriends sounds like great fun to me!! I love the card and the pin…lol…so cute!

    Arent you glad you dont have the biggest house?lol Have a fun celebration with your family. Being with family is what its all about.

    Reply
  • 11. sunfloweroptimism  |  December 17, 2006 at 10:43 am

    Happy ALMOST birthday, Kat! My hubby’s is today – another sag – you’ll have to explain about the sags to me – maybe it will help me understand him better! LOL.

    I think I spent my whole 42nd year thinking I was 43 – I was pleased to have an “extra” year when I finally did the math! This year is a tough one to screw up – done turned 50. But, hey, I’m not complaining!

    Reply
  • 12. DELMONTI  |  December 17, 2006 at 4:22 pm

    does life really begin at 40? I’m 39….. but I think I’ve been in my 40’s since I was 23.

    Have a good’un me owld fruit, from your regular limey reader.

    Reply
  • 13. Stacy  |  December 17, 2006 at 5:22 pm

    Loved the comment about hosting the crowd being only for the brave or demented. It sounds exactly like how I view having Tim’s family all together. There are 30 of us in the immediate family. A couple of new members are expected in the new future. Most gatherings include aunts, uncles, cousins, family friends, etc. We rotate so everyone gets a turn (except for those who truely can’t pack everyone in). I cringe when it is my turn. I only like hosting summer get-togethers when they can all picnic outside and swim in the pool.

    Reply
  • 14. katcampbell  |  December 17, 2006 at 5:55 pm

    Shelli – Who should I start nagging to remind them about your next milestone birthday…I like you out of jail better than in.

    Thanks Catch! Family is everything.

    Yahoo Sunflower, another candidate for our Sag Party, we’ve never let a man in though… Fifty is nifty, now you can be a red hat.

    Demonti – I’d have to say you have a an old soul, and most people would tell you life begins whenever you’re ready to start it.

    Stacy – I feel your pain! So far I’ve only been stuck hosting the family in the summer and we always do it outside.

    Reply
  • 15. Gela the city dweller  |  December 18, 2006 at 12:58 am

    Hey Kat, happy birthday. I’m discovering that a few of my fave bloggers are saggies too. Guyana Gyal and I share the same birthday (16th). I tell you, we saggies rock!

    Reply
  • 16. Mr. Fabulous  |  December 18, 2006 at 2:34 am

    Oh good, someone out there is older than I am, if only by a little bit 🙂

    Early Happy Birthday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds


