Joy to the World

December 20, 2006 at 7:18 pm 14 comments

christmas-cat.jpgJazz and Bri are officially installed in my house until their mother gets on her feet (or somebody wrests them from my fiercely protective grasp…whichever comes last).  They are joyful. 

My dog, who apparently had been asking Santa to provide him with a kid… is JOYFUL, he got two.  As I write this, he’s wiggled himself inbetween them on the couch and is happily watching Elf, as tangled and dirty as I’ve ever seen him. 

Pap survived a basketball game yesterday, found a deal when shopping for my Christmas present and was assigned a task by his father.  He’s so freaking joyful he’s getting on my nerves.

The cats have managed to rearrange the packages and remove enough ornaments to make a comfortable den under the tree… joyfully shedding all over the velvet tree skirt with the cross-stitched 12 days of Christmas it took me two years to make. 

Princess has plates of cookies to nibble her way through, finals are over and I’ve freed her from laundry duty until after her birthday.  She’s downright joyful. 

I have only two more parties to cook for and attend, one writer’s meeting to chair, one meeting with a potential author, a towering stack of reports that need to be completed before Christmas at the day job …and I am joyful too, just more quietly than in previous years.  

The elements that make up a perfect holiday season for me are like a big puzzle:  family, friends, decorations, surprises, gifts, food, worship, faith, charity… I always have high expectations for finishing the Christmas Puzzle, and most years are missing a piece or two.  That’s okay with me, one thing I learned raising a huge family was that any game missing only one or two pieces is still playable, it just takes some creativity.  Any puzzle with a piece lost under the sofa cushion, or accidently put in the wrong box, is still workable, its just a little harder fitting all the rest of the pieces around the hole. 

Entry filed under: Holidays, Music and Theatre.

Happy Birthday…to ME! Randomly Seasonal Stuff

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janet  |  December 20, 2006 at 7:46 pm

    What a great post! Sounds like your house is full of life, the way it should be.

    Reply
  • 2. delmonti  |  December 20, 2006 at 9:53 pm

    Kat! is there ANYTHING else you could get involved with? I need a lie down just reading that.

    Thanks also for your thoughtful message about AddieCat. I did turn off comments, it felt right to do that, but very pleased you persevered and got your message through. It meant so very much to me.

    She lost the fight not long after I posted.

    I’ll be giving the blog a rest for a time, but will be an avid reader of your postings.

    Have a good’un over the festive period, cherish every moment (even the fights!) and dont forget take a break every now and again.

    Reply
  • 3. DaveM  |  December 20, 2006 at 10:05 pm

    Kat ……what do you do after lunch?

    Reply
  • 4. Stacy  |  December 20, 2006 at 10:15 pm

    It sounds wonderful at your house…family, pets, friends and fun. I love your puzzle analogy.

    Reply
  • 5. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  December 20, 2006 at 11:57 pm

    Wonderful words about the puzzle and the missing pieces. I think God works very much the same way -kind of “Oh – that piece isn’t living up to potential, or doesn’t want to participate, how do I go about completing this big project working around this?”

    Reply
  • 6. Quilldancer  |  December 21, 2006 at 12:16 am

    How do you do the big puzzle thing when you have cats? At night while the puzzle is unattended, my beasties scatter those pieces they don’t munch.

    Reply
  • 7. katcampbell  |  December 21, 2006 at 1:25 am

    Janet – Thanks, there’s never a dull moment around here, that’s for sure.

    Delmonti – I am a rather persistant busy body… I hope you won’t stop writing for too long, you have such a gift for both funny and sad.

    Dave M – I eat bon bons and watch soap opera’s like everyone else….wishes they could.

    Stacy – Your house always sounds as cracy as mine so feel free to adapt that analagy as your own.

    Dr. Kate – I bet God must!

    Quilly – That’s when you know its time to get rid of the cats (speaking allegorically).

    Reply
  • 8. jackie  |  December 21, 2006 at 2:42 am

    Kat, glad to hear the grandgirls are all settled in, and that all is as it should be this time of year. I can tell we’re kindred spirits – I do my best work when I’m going in all directions!

    Reply
  • 9. John Linna  |  December 21, 2006 at 5:57 am

    The wonder of the Christmas puzzle is that different pieces fit in the same place so that every year it is different. Now if you can make sense of that your a good puzzle solver.

    Reply
  • 10. Velvet Sacks  |  December 21, 2006 at 7:21 am

    What a delightfully JOYFUL post, Kat! Thanks for spreading your good cheer. It’s just what I needed.

    Reply
  • 11. sunfloweroptimism  |  December 21, 2006 at 10:17 am

    Well, I finished my Christmas shopping today, so you can add me to your JOYFUL list! LOL

    What a beautiful family – I’m glad you don’t let a few missing puzzle pieces ruin the “big picture.”

    Wishing you continued joy and every Christmas blessing!

    Reply
  • 12. Hammer  |  December 21, 2006 at 10:40 am

    Pets and kids make the holidays more enjoyable.

    Reply
  • 13. Nessa  |  December 21, 2006 at 4:09 pm

    I like the way you describe our Christmas expectations as a jigsaw puzzle. Very appropriate. Merry Christmas and a very Healthy, Happy New Year.

    Reply
  • 14. katcampbell  |  December 21, 2006 at 4:38 pm

    Jackie – If there isn’t “too much” to do, I feel adrift!

    An interesting thought Dr. John!

    Velvet – I’m glad! You have so often lifted my spirits with something you’ve written.

    Yahoo! Sunflower has finished fighting the madding crowds and she is JOYFUL!

    Hammer – There’s a difference between kids and pets?

    Merry Christmas Nessa!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds


