When One Door Slams…and other News

December 29, 2006 at 4:51 pm 18 comments

Yesterday I opened my e-mail and found the saddest news.  Our Town Living, the local newspaper I freelance for, has gone out of business.  They just couldn’t generate enough advertising dollars to keep afloat.  I’ll miss this paper for more than just the extra money I earned writing for it.  OTL was a paper filled with encouraging news and the stories of people making a contribution to our community.  It was the first publication that paid me to write.  A door has closed for me, but another has opened…

Just after Thanksgiving, I met with a Doctor who was looking for an editor for his children’s book.  He definately needed an editor, but the theme of his story is something I have never seen addressed in children’s literature.  He worries about copyrights, and I don’t have his permission to even say this much, but since then we have added an artist and a musician and in about three months, I think our team might just have a little something to brag about. 

The case of the haunted nutcracker is finally solved!  As you know, he sits on an old cabinet in the dining room with a crowd of other nutcrackers and some decorative greenery.  He’s supposed to face the table, but turns and looks at the Christmas tree or falls off the cabinet completely several times a day.  Okay… once we started packing up the greenery and some of his buddies, I noticed that his stand is not completely flat.  Its warped only the tiniest bit, just enough that when you combine the moving air from the ceiling fan that is always running in there, with the movement of his cabinet when people and pets walk by, he starts to rock.  Just a little, a jitter really, rather than a rock.  While he’s jittering he’s bumping into the other Nutcrackers and greenery which ricochets him into a turn.  Scientists would have figured this out long ago and saved me grief.  Jeesh, that’s what I get for hanging out with a bunch of writers instead. 

426 days to freedom.

Entry filed under: Day Job, Holidays, writing.

Big Box Killed the Pot and Book Unfit for Human Habitation…

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Quilldancer  |  December 29, 2006 at 7:17 pm

    Kat, I think I liked the nutcracker mystery better than the explanation. Still, I guess i’m glad you’re not haunted.

    Reply
  • 2. Stacy  |  December 29, 2006 at 7:31 pm

    That’s got to be a relief. Me? I probably would have disposed of the haunted little fellow a long time ago…..then he’d probably really come back to haunt me.

    Sounds like things are really moving along with the book. I wish you well with it.

    Reply
  • 3. katcampbell  |  December 29, 2006 at 8:05 pm

    A haunting is definately more fun, Quilly, but the fellow was creeping me out. Figure it out or toss him.

    Stacy – Thanks for your good wishes Stacy.

    Reply
  • 4. J.  |  December 29, 2006 at 8:18 pm

    LOL! Mystery solved!
    I probably would’ve buried him in the backyard. No, scratch that – too close. Landfill site? hehe …

    Your career always sounds so interesting to me.

    Reply
  • 5. Hammer  |  December 30, 2006 at 2:04 am

    I still think the nutcracker is haunted. he grew that little uneven spot so he could travel.

    Sorry about the newspaper, hope the childrens book deal works out for you.

    Reply
  • 6. John Linna  |  December 30, 2006 at 2:10 am

    I liked the nutcracker better when it was haunted. The ex-lanatyion was not nearly as much fun . Sorry the newspaper closed and good luck with your doctor’s book.

    Reply
  • 7. Mr. Fabulous  |  December 30, 2006 at 4:40 am

    Well, now there is nothing for me to do but sneak into your house at night and move the damn thing manually.

    I like the news on the children’s book.

    I am planning to write one. But obviously, not a real one LOL

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  December 30, 2006 at 6:01 am

    J. -Mostly my career is work. The writing/editing part I love, it’s the mandatory day job to keep the bills paid thats sucking the fun out of my passion.

    Oh thanks, Hammer, I was just getting over the heebie jeebies!

    Thanks Dr. John, what’s not to love about a haunted anything?

    Mr. Fab – You’d write a great children’s book, you’ve stayed in touch with your inner child. Scare me in my own house at your own peril…remember I have a killer shitzu.

    Reply
  • 9. jackie  |  December 30, 2006 at 6:33 am

    Kat, who needs scientists!? You solved the mystery all by yourself. 🙂 I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you’ll have ‘bragging’ rights in near future.

    Reply
  • 10. Shelli  |  December 30, 2006 at 6:52 am

    That is sad about your newspaper. Ours stopped for awhile until our town got a little bigger and then it started up again.

    Exciting about the book. How awesome. I can’t wait to hear more about it.

    I liked my explanation of the nutcracker mystery better.

    And finally, did I miss something about the 426 days to freedom? I looked back and didn’t readily see anything. It seems that no one else asked, so I may just be the only idiot who doesn’t know or pay attention.

    Reply
  • 11. katcampbell  |  December 30, 2006 at 7:06 am

    Thanks Jackie! As with all books by new writers, we need all the luck we can get.

    Reply
  • 12. Janet  |  December 30, 2006 at 7:43 am

    Yeah, I want to know what the 426 days to freedom thing is about, too!

    and I liked the haunted nutcracker theory better. Though if I was living with it, I’d want the mystery solved, too. I was wondering if you were having mini-earthquakes. That would be a good explanation, too!

    Reply
  • 13. Janet  |  December 30, 2006 at 7:50 am

    Oh, I forgot to add that I’m sorry about the newspaper. If I had money, I’d want to start a small one. It’s too bad that a community paper with good news in it will no longer exist. There’s so much bad news in the big papers.

    Reply
  • 14. sunfloweroptimism  |  December 30, 2006 at 10:36 am

    Yes, I’m a firm believer in doors opening and the universe cooperating with us (Julia Cameron.) Good luck with that book!

    Glad you figured out the wandering nutcracker – nail that sucker down!

    Oh and “426 days to freedom”? What’s that about – not too exact here – but what’s happening end of February/beginning March 2008???

    Reply
  • 15. Velvet Sacks  |  December 31, 2006 at 2:27 am

    Now that you’ve solved the nutcracker mystery, I, too, have moved on to the next nut to be cracked: What happens in 426 days?

    Sorry about the newspaper closing, but the children’s book sounds like a nice open door for you to walk through. Good luck with that.

    Reply
  • 16. guyana-gyal  |  December 31, 2006 at 2:46 am

    I read about the oldest newspaper in the world, is going out of print too, a Swedish paper, but they’ll be online.

    I’m glad another door’s opened for you.

    That nutcracker fella only grew that little spin thing so you can THINK that’s what happened. But we know the truth. About girls in black fishnet stockings and smoky jazz bars…

    Reply
  • 17. hayden  |  December 31, 2006 at 2:59 am

    Ok, add me to the chorus. What’s the countdown?

    One of my top resolutions for 2007 is to submit the childrens book I wrote 9 months ago, LOL! NOW I have to do the letters – much more fun just to write another book.

    Reply
  • 18. FatWhiteMan  |  January 1, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    Regardless, taking a nutcracker out and shooting it into oblivion is always an option.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds


