Suspicious Circumstances

January 9, 2007 at 11:17 pm 25 comments

Okay all you mystery, thriller, police procedural lovers… we have just released one whopper of a good book!  If you’ve been visiting here for any time at all, you know I talk about my little publishing company, but I haven’t bugged you even once to buy one of our othersuspicious_circumstances.jpeg books.  THIS one is a must have on your library shelf.  Written by Sandra Ruttan, a debut author who was once a journalist.  She’s also the editor of Spinetingler Magazine, which is also a great read if you like this genre (thriller, mystery, police procedural).  Sandra is one of members of Killer Year 2007, the fourteen best mystery writers of this new year as recognized by the International Mystery Writers Association. 

 Suspicious CircumstancesA suspicious death.  A missing baby. A corrupt police department.
When a man shows up in reporter Lara Kelly’s office with a video that
appears to show a woman falling to her death, Lara is intrigued but
suspicious. The man claims he went to the police, but that they refused to investigate. Under pressure from her editor to use the video to build a story about the incompetence of the local police captain, Lara gathers enough evidence to print a story about a suspected suicide.
Detective Tymen Farraday, the newest cop in a precinct plagued by scandal, is ordered to investigate and discredit the reporter if necessary. When potential evidence is stolen and Lara is attacked, Farraday is forced to put his grudge against reporters aside and work with the journalist to solve the murder while trying to protect her from the killer.
Just when they think they have the evidence to arrest a suspect, two more murders turn the investigation in an unexpected direction.
The guilty have already shown that they’ll stop at nothing to protect their
secrets. In a town where one person holds all the power, not even the police can be trusted.
Okay, click on the link and go get this book!

Entry filed under: Books.

Gators? Who? Oh! Those Guys! Rescue Me

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sunfloweroptimism  |  January 10, 2007 at 12:47 am

    Kat, congratulations on the publication! Sounds like an interesting read. I will look for it. I think your link may be wrong – the link you have for “Suspicious Circumstances” seems to be all about HTTP and other strange stuff. Or maybe it’s just me that’s weird and strange!

    Reply
  • 2. katcampbell  |  January 10, 2007 at 12:54 am

    Thanks Sunflower, the link was messed up but is fixed now. You won’t find my tiny company’s books in your book store, but you can get them to order it for you but giving them the ISBN number which is: 0977768899. Thanks for the heads up.

    Reply
  • 3. LauraJ  |  January 10, 2007 at 12:59 am

    oooh sounds like a great book!!

    Reply
  • 4. Mimi  |  January 10, 2007 at 1:56 am

    I have been wanting a new good book to read. Thanks for the recommendation. I will check it out!

    Reply
  • 5. Mr. Fabulous  |  January 10, 2007 at 1:58 am

    Women are writing books now?

    I’m kidding, I’m kidding! I’ll check it out!

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  January 10, 2007 at 2:22 am

    Laura J – You won’t be disappointed. I don’t even like mysteries, but I loved this one.

    Mimi – Always here to serve girlfriend!

    Mr. Fab – I won’t tell your wife you said that as long as you read the book.

    Reply
  • 7. Hammer  |  January 10, 2007 at 3:15 am

    Sounds really cool. thanks!

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  January 10, 2007 at 3:45 am

    You’ll like it Hammer, twists and turns and keeps you guessing all the time.

    Reply
  • 9. Stacy  |  January 10, 2007 at 3:53 am

    Oh boy, my favorite kind of book. I have to get through a couple I got for Christmas first, then I’ll order it.

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  January 10, 2007 at 4:57 am

    You’ll love it Stacy, its a remarkable book.

    Reply
  • 11. John Linna  |  January 10, 2007 at 6:27 am

    Sounds like a good read. If only it had a dragon in it.

    Reply
  • 12. Catch  |  January 10, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    Im thinking I may like this book very much.

    Reply
  • 13. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  January 10, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    I love mystery stories and police proceedurals. Thanks for sharing! If I live through this week of my doctoral program, I will go an acquire it – if my eyes will still focus!

    Reply
  • 14. jackie  |  January 10, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    Kat, I read at least two books and usually more each week – and they are almost all mysteries. I’ll be sure to read this one. Congrats.

    Reply
  • 15. katcampbell  |  January 10, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    No dragons, Dr. John, but that’s a good thing, because who could compete with yours?

    I think you will Catch, it clips right along and the characters are all very interesting.

    Finish the Doctoral Program first Dr. Kate, this is the perfect book to unwind with.

    You’re a mystery Pro Jackie, I’ll look forward to hearing your opinion on this book.

    Reply
  • 16. Diesel  |  January 12, 2007 at 1:23 am

    I’m a little gun shy after your last recommendation (no, I’m never going to let that go), but this does look pretty good. I hope it does well for you. Congrats!

    Reply
  • 17. katcampbell  |  January 12, 2007 at 6:14 am

    Diesel you goof ball! This one will keep you on your toes. If you’ll remember, I told you Eragon was LIGHT reading. No bother, little Chrissy is laughing all the way to the bank, ehh?

    Reply
  • 18. Shelli  |  January 12, 2007 at 8:45 pm

    Sounds like just my thing. I already have the link open in another tab. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 19. Gawpo  |  January 13, 2007 at 2:20 am

    Hmmmmm….I am the worst for critiquing when it comes to the portrayal of police procedure in any medium. The newest cop being assigned to discredit the journalist? The NEWEST cop? And he’s already a detective??? Sure makes for a good contrast (a la David/Goliath), but it just aint likely that that would happen in real life. Maybe Farraday has been a cop for at least 8 years and he’s transferring in from another outfit. If not, then it just smacks of the SMS (stupid movie shit) that I am always pointing out in film (i.e., the cops run code with sirens to a robbery in progress and pull up right in front of the scene. Yeah, that’s what they do. Rrrriiiiggghhhhtttt. Or better yet, they leave the scene with a custody in the back seat and their lightbar flashing the red and blue. Rrrriiiiggghhhhtttt). But what the heck, if there isn’t too much SBS (book) it could be a great read. Oh, and one other thing: Hi, Kat!!!!

    Reply
  • 20. katcampbell  |  January 13, 2007 at 8:43 am

    Gawpo – This author was a journalist and knows police procedure. Farraday was a transfer from another department, new only to this police precinct.

    Reply
  • 21. Gawpo  |  January 13, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    Right on. Little or no SBS, then. Good. I’m sold. Will purchase. Will read. Will report back. But not without lots of backup and never without body armor…

    Reply
  • 22. Gela Words  |  January 13, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    Congrats Kat, will look for it.

    Reply
  • 23. Janet  |  January 13, 2007 at 9:09 pm

    Sounds interesting, it’s on my list!

    Reply
  • 24. guyana-gyal  |  January 16, 2007 at 2:00 am

    Congratulations Kat!!

    I hope your publishing company takes off [but please don’t get toooo big, you might not want to know us anymore] 🙂

    I’m sitting here being a tad envious of all newly published writers, I’m in the 2nd phase of working on my manuscript.

    sigh.

    Reply
  • 25. katcampbell  |  January 16, 2007 at 3:22 am

    Don’t feel bad GG, I’m still editing mine too. And there will never be a time I will not need my blogging friends!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Feeds


