Suitable for Ducks & Other News

January 16, 2007 at 3:53 am 23 comments

It has rained, rained and rained some more.  The creek that runs through the center of my small town is rising, something that puts us all on edge since it was just two years ago that we flooded and so many people lost their homes.  I didn’t used to mind rain.  As a little girl growing up in California I loved it.  Raincoats, boots and an umbrella were standard issue with the rest of our school clothes and supplies.  I don’t think I’ve ever found a simple pleasure as satisfying as jumping in puddles, especially if the resultant splash nailed my older sister.  But that was before it was my job to mop the mud off the floors, and dry the sopping dog.  Rain has lost some of its appeal. 

On Saturday I met with the Doctors that have hired me to ghost write their children’s book.  I’ve known for some time that Doctors are just people, but its safe to say I never had any running around in my social circle, and would have told you before that only analytical, non-creative people could succeed at being doctors.  What a dork I can be.  One of them is also a musician. His wife is a fine artist.   The last is the wizard of wild and crazy scenarios and characters.  Its my job to take these scenarios, the art and the music and make them into a viable book, that will also be a book on tape.   What a rush, that much creative energy at one table fueled by lattes, would light a small city.  Sunday, the musician doctor e-mail his original composition for Chapter One and completely blew me away.  This is such a fun project, I can’t wait until I can share some of the book with you complete with its accompanying art and the music. 

Entry filed under: randomness.

Rerun – Jeff Foxworthy on Ohio The Perfect Secretary

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hammer  |  January 16, 2007 at 4:22 am

    That sounds like fun. Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

    Reply
  • 2. Mr. Fabulous  |  January 16, 2007 at 5:05 am

    Very cool. I thought most doctors were dorks.

    Reply
  • 3. John Linna  |  January 16, 2007 at 5:31 am

    If they have so much time to be creativ e they can’t be seeimng many patients. Boy do you have a ghreat job.

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  January 16, 2007 at 6:28 am

    Oh it is Hammer, so much better than my day job.

    I still suspect that most doctors are dorks, Mr. Fab, lucky for me I found three cool ones.

    Now Dr. John, they see plenty of patients (one of them is my husband’s doctor), I just don’t think they sleep much.

    Reply
  • 5. quilldancer  |  January 16, 2007 at 7:05 am

    It rains so seldom here in Vegas, that when it does, we all run out and stand in it.

    Reply
  • 6. Gela Words  |  January 16, 2007 at 8:22 am

    Wow, Kat, that sounds like a really fun project.

    Reply
  • 7. Dave  |  January 16, 2007 at 12:01 pm

    Ahhh….the smell of wet dog in a warm room. Cant beat it.

    Reply
  • 8. Linda  |  January 16, 2007 at 2:45 pm

    Sophia loves the rain and even the smallest puddle becomes a big splash. She loves to put on her rain boots and just jump in puddles. I had to put special restrictions on the puddle jumping though, because she would do it in her good shoes. Now that she thinks her boots are cool, I have no problems.

    I have always loved children’s books and even before we had kids, Bob and I collected kids books. By the time Sophia was born we had a whole shelf of books for her to choose from. I hope it will help both Sophia and Nicholas love to read at they get older. I find that if I am a bit down a good kid’s book can take away the blues. I am jealous of your new project and am looking forward to hearing about the process. You must be having so much fun.

    Reply
  • 9. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  January 16, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    It’s been raining here forever it seems – we don’t get snow anymore (thanks to global warming, I think), but rain that floods the streets and my basement instead.
    I can’t wait to read the book! There is nothing like creative energy to get you going and excited. That was my experience last week in my doctoral program and it sounds as though you have had a similar experience!

    Reply
  • 10. jackie  |  January 16, 2007 at 6:10 pm

    Kat, hope the rain lets up there. You could send it here to the desert – they could use it.

    Nice to have a project you are so excited about. Makes that ‘number of days left’ fly by!

    Reply
  • 11. Stacy  |  January 16, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    We’ve had the same rain (and wet, smelly, muddy dogs) here. Now it’s turned to snow. Thank goodness. I can’t believe I’m happy it’s freezing.

    The project and people sound like a lot of fun. I had a similar experience with a specific group of people several years ago….ministers. I always thought they were these untouchables. What a shock to find out they’re just as goofy as the rest of us.

    Reply
  • 12. katcampbell  |  January 16, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    I wish I could pipe some of this rain to ya Quilly, its driving me crazy. Today its snow though, much better.

    Dave – Ugh…such a smell only a man can appreciate!

    Gela – Too much fun this project, if I could get the day job out of the way, I would be having the time of my life.

    Linda – How nice to see you out and about! How lucky Sophia and Nicholas are to have you and Bob as parents. A shelf full of magic carpets to take them new places. I love books.

    Dr. Kate – My silly kid book think tank hardly compares with the important work you were doing last week, but the energy rush will be quite similar I think.

    Jackie – When I’m piping the slop to Quilly I’ll be sure and leave a branch there for you!

    Stacy – Ours has turned to snow too. Thank goodness. It’s prettier and much less messy.

    Reply
  • 13. sunfloweroptimism  |  January 16, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    Kat, so glad to see you “back” and excited about this new book. But really, I don’t know why science people always get such a bad rap! LOL If I had a dime for every time someone told me – “You can’t paint, you’re an engineer!” Well, I wouldn’t be so worried about paying college tuition for two right now! LOL Science is not cut and dried – it takes a huge amount of imagination. Hmmm – maybe a good topic for a post someday, thanks Kat! 😉

    Stay warm!

    Reply
  • 14. katcampbell  |  January 17, 2007 at 2:09 am

    An excellent topic for a post Sunflower! My Dad was an engineer, and I can’t say he was the most creative person I’d ever met. There are always exceptions though. I’m an accountant by trade, people are shocked when they find out I can write.

    Reply
  • 15. rel  |  January 17, 2007 at 5:00 am

    Hi Kat,
    Thanks for stopping by.
    This book project of yours sounds top shelf. I’ll look forward to your sharing.
    rel

    Reply
  • 16. katcampbell  |  January 17, 2007 at 5:37 am

    Thanks Rel! Welcome to Kat Land.

    Reply
  • 17. Gawpo  |  January 17, 2007 at 9:30 am

    Freezing rain here. Orange peel on the vehicle and had to cancel my appointment in Corvallis. Can’t wait til it rains again. Hope your creek doesn’t rise. Stay dry and high.

    Reply
  • 18. Catch  |  January 17, 2007 at 10:07 pm

    this sounds very exciting Kat!!! and how nice that you work on something you enjoy so much!

    Reply
  • 19. Diesel  |  January 17, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    Cool. I’m interested to hear more.

    Do you have a post that gives a little more background on your company? I’m interested to know what you publish, how you got started, etc.

    Reply
  • 20. Velvet Sacks  |  January 18, 2007 at 5:38 am

    I empathize completely about the muddy, wet dog! Glad you have such an interesting project to take your mind off the rain for a while.

    Reply
  • 21. katcampbell  |  January 18, 2007 at 8:17 am

    Gawpo – Freezing rain is the worst! I’ll wish you sunshine.

    Catch – I love this project. Even if it doesn’t turn out financially lucratrive, the process is such a rush!

    Diesel – I’ll e-mail, or go check out the website:www.ticopublishing.com

    Thanks Velvet! Now if I could just unload the day job early.

    Reply
  • 22. smileymama  |  January 18, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    The kids-book sounds fun. The Suspicious book sounds great. I need to put some money in my Paypal, I miss shopping online just a little, and being nowhere near a good bookstore…..oh, and you Ohio list is so funny, it is almost exactly the same as “You Know You Live in New Brunswick/Northern Maine if…” (right down to the Halloween costumes designed to fit over a snowsuit, ha!!)

    Reply
  • 23. guyana-gyal  |  January 18, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    Doctors are some of the whackiest folks I know, they have an odd sense of humour…they need it after all the sickness they have to deal with.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Feeds


