The Perfect Secretary

January 19, 2007 at 2:24 am 13 comments

Jazzmin didn’t have school today, the third grade teachers were all attending a seminar, so she went to the day job with me.  If you ask my oldest grandgirl how old she is, she’ll tell you “8 years, 11 months and 18 days.”  Apparently the need to count things down is genetic.  After spending a day at the office with her, I’ve decided all office jobs should be done by third graders. 

Who else but a third grader finds joy in punching the holes in the payroll sheets, or running the mail through the postal meter?  Everyone likes third graders, so she didn’t have any office dramas today.  We needed to go to the bank twice, a trip too short to drive the car and too far to walk comfortably in this freezing weather.  Unless you’re a third grade girl.  She alternately hopped, skipped, trotted, strolled and sashayed her way up the street and back, taking time to perform an entire gymnastics routine on the railroad ties beside the park.  I was exhausted just watching her. 

Jazzmin kept busy today sorting out the paper clips, pens, and misc. flotsam that lives in this plastic thing on my desk.  She ran messages between offices and watered every plant in the building…whether they needed it or not.  She drew a picture of our street (complete with the pet that lives in every house on the street) on my extra desk blotter.  She kept the used paper torn off my adding machine.  When I told her it was time to go home she said “Oh Nana!  I was just getting started!”  All office jobs should be held by third graders.

Entry filed under: Day Job, The Grandkids.

Suitable for Ducks & Other News A Mental Health Day…

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hayden  |  January 19, 2007 at 7:29 am

    Isn’t that just perfect? Kids are so amazingly in the moment, and every moment is so fresh and new! What a joy she must have been making the day fly by!

    Reply
  • 2. Gawpo  |  January 19, 2007 at 8:14 am

    And I thought I was a bit strange knowing that I will be 636 months old in March. (Definitely six hundred thirty four and eighteen days today, definitely, definitely, yeahhh….yeahhhh.)

    Reply
  • 3. katcampbell  |  January 19, 2007 at 8:39 am

    Hayden – She’s always a joy. My little “do over”, she looks exactly like her mother did at that age.

    Gawpo – Are you sure we aren’t related?

    Reply
  • 4. sunfloweroptimism  |  January 19, 2007 at 8:46 am

    What a fun day for you and Jazzmin. To look at life through the eyes of children – what a treat and how it changes our own lives! We should try it more often 😉

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  January 19, 2007 at 10:29 am

    Sunflower – It was a nicer day because she was there. This time of year in the accounting business, when I’m burned out and sick of it, can be stressful.

    Reply
  • 6. rel  |  January 19, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    Kat,
    I think you’re on to something. Job shadowing for third graders….both sides get to learn invaluable lessons.
    My 2 grand daughters (11 & 6) live in south Texas, so I don’t get to see them near as often as I’d like.
    rel

    Reply
  • 7. Nessa  |  January 19, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    Great story. It reminds me of when I took my daughter to work when she was young. Don’t you wish we could look at life with the eyes of a third grader?

    Reply
  • 8. Mr. Fabulous  |  January 19, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    Time to relax those pesky child labor laws!

    Reply
  • 9. Jackie  |  January 19, 2007 at 6:43 pm

    Oh, Kat, isn’t that the truth? 3rd graders are still so excited about anything new – and consider most things fun.
    I remember how my kids liked to help when they were very young, (when they were mostly just in the way and slowing me down), but then it seemed like when they got big enough to really do the job – they disappeared!

    Reply
  • 10. Mike  |  January 19, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    That’s great! Too bad I work from home. When my daughter “goes to work” with me, she just wants to watch TV.

    Reply
  • 11. katcampbell  |  January 19, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    Rel – Can you just imagine what a third grader would find interesting in a police department? Too much fun!

    Nessa – I do wish sometimes that everything looked as new as it did when I was 8. Growing up just isn’t all that its cracked up to be.

    Mr. Fab – So true… Drat that Charles Dickens who gave child labor such a bad rap.

    Jackie – They definately get jaded way too early to be of much use around the house or office.

    Mike – Try driving around the block before you sit down to work. She’s a kid, psych her out!

    Reply
  • 12. J.  |  January 20, 2007 at 1:28 am

    That’s such a great age.
    I miss it.
    (ummm … in my daughter, not myself … ha!)

    Reply
  • 13. Gela the city dweller  |  January 20, 2007 at 6:02 am

    That’s about right because by the time they reach working age themselves they’ll be hating it just as much as us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Feeds


