The Law of Attraction and Other News

January 27, 2007 at 11:11 pm 12 comments

Like most people, I have family, friends, acquaintences, work buddies and a handful of people so close to me they transcend all of these titles.  They are my soul mates, confidants, the guardians of my dreams.  I am lucky enough to have three such people.  Folks who through the many years of our relationship have proven that they have only my best interests at heart.  If one of them told me to throw myself in front of a train, it would be to save me from being mauled from some multi-headed space creature. 

With this in mind, when one of them has sent me a documentary called The Secret with a note saying “Try This”.    It’s narrated by a number of successful people including James Arthur Ray, the country’s leading expert on the psychology and science of success.  Dr. Michael Bernard Beckwith, founder of the Agape International Spiritual Center.  His work has been recongnized by Coretta Scott King and he sits on a panel with the Dalai Lama and Gandhi (the grandson).  John Grey, the Author of Men are From Mars, Women are From Venus.  Jack Canfield – author and creator of the wildly popular Chicken Soup for the Soul series. 

The Law of Attraction basically states that thoughts become things.  Whether its health, wealth or happiness that one desires, through the law of attraction it can be had through thought.  As theories go, this isn’t far from what the Bible tells us “ask and you shall receive”, plus it has come to me from  one of my dream guardians.  So I’m going to try this grand experiment to see if I can change my stars.  If you’d like to implement a little Law of Attraction into your own life, go watch the movie here: The Secret. 

I’m going to track my progress on my other blog, if you’re interested, the link will be on my blogroll. 

Motherhood – Round 2, The Upside:  There are some great things about having this opportunity to raise this second round of kids.  They make me laugh and remind me of what a lucky life I have.  Its become my habit to stop by their room on my way to bed at night.  I love looking at them sleeping so peacefully in their big bed, warm and comfortable among their pillows and quilts.  They keep me on a schedule of regular eating and sleeping, which is something I’m no good at doing on my own.  They remind me to play like my kids did, a habit that had fallen by the wayside since everyone grew up.  I love seeing them flourishing under my care.  There is nothing better for a woman’s self-esteem.  Their mother is still climbing out of the gutter she’d thrown herself in, and making progress, although it sometimes seems like three steps forward and two steps back.  She started college in January and is making very good grades.  If she would only unleash the albatross of a man she’s shackled herself with we may see some real progress. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Motherhood – Round Two Miss Manners Is My Name Too

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. smileymama  |  January 28, 2007 at 12:02 am

    I watched the first part (I have finally gotten high-speed, so I can!) What a fascinating concept. I’ll watch the rest tonight when the kids go to bed. Neat. Thanks. And how lucky those kids are to have you, and what a wonderful, vital part of their life you are.

    Reply
  • 2. katcampbell  |  January 28, 2007 at 1:08 am

    Smileymama – Its a concept that can do no harm, isn’t it?

    Reply
  • 3. QuillDancer  |  January 28, 2007 at 6:27 am

    I will watch this video. Thanks, Kat.

    Oh, and after 15 years married to an alcoholic (no more!) I can say that until they are free, some women think “any man” is better than “no man.” That isn’t true of course. I didn’t get to know and appreciate me until I got past that.

    Reply
  • 4. John Linna  |  January 28, 2007 at 7:17 am

    I will watch and see how this works. Are you keeping up two blogs now?

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  January 28, 2007 at 9:36 am

    Quilly – I hope she gets it sooner than 15 years, but she’s not nearly as smart as you so I don’t hold out much hope.

    Dr. John – yes, this one and my old new one. Such an interesting experiment.

    Reply
  • 6. Shelli  |  January 28, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    Self fulfilling prophecy? If you believe it then you will achieve it? I will have to check out the movie. And your other blog.

    It is amazing how much you appreciate them, isn’t it? I once said that she turns the sun on every morning. I have said that since the day she was born. It is a reminder to savor the little things, the sweet smell of them just out of the tub, their laughter, the way that their eyelashes look so beautiful resting on their cheeks while they sleep. All of that and more.

    Aww…now I am missing my angel. 🙂 *sigh*

    Reply
  • 7. Janet  |  January 28, 2007 at 7:59 pm

    “Thoughts become things”. I’m skeptical, but prayers do get answered. I’ll be interested to see if it works for you.

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  January 28, 2007 at 8:39 pm

    Shelli – Go get her!

    Janet – Scepticism has been my middle name for years. Its time for a change.

    Reply
  • 9. BJ  |  February 7, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    I thought you and your readers might be interested in this…

    The Oprah broadcast of “The Secret” will be February 8th. I also just found out that it will be followed by an International Law of Attraction Teleconference. If you want more info go to http://www.lawofattractionteleconference.com.

    Also, the more posts that Oprah gets on her message boards about a particular topic, the more inclined she is to repeat the topic. So go to http://www.oprah.com and find the message board for The Secret to let her know that you want more of the same!

    Reply
  • 10. familylaw  |  March 6, 2007 at 2:35 am

    This site related to the The Law of Attraction and Other News.

    familylaw

    Reply
  • 11. Maccy  |  March 15, 2007 at 8:57 pm

    Great info.

    I watched the Secret DVD a few months ago and got another book on Law of Attraction,
    but it didn’t really start happening for me until I wrote down my intentions. I found that to be
    VERY powerful.

    http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0975436171/ is a book I just got, which makes
    planning out your Law of Attraction goals easy. Just fill in the blanks and you’ve got a road
    map to follow. Has been working well so far.

    Reply
  • 12. Eric  |  May 18, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    I find that discovering the Law of Attraction and other Universal Laws is like finding a doorway to a fascinating subject that everyone should explore and look into a little deeper to discover the real truths behind The Secret and the Law of Attraction. There is much to be learned beyond what is in the book or movie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Feeds


