Time in a Bottle

January 30, 2007 at 9:35 am 15 comments

Princess, who is entirely too young for such things, was all maudlin and nostalgic tonight.  She had the grandgirls in stitches telling snarky stories about their mother when she was in school.  I guess that’s what Aunts are for. img008.jpgIn her hunt through our massive box of unlabeled pictures (thank goodness for digital!) for pictures of herself as a kid, I couldn’t help thinking  about how fast time flies.  Its rather horrifying in a way, because while my intellect can say stop…slow down…savor this moment.  Quite frequently life gets in the way.  I could swear I took this picture of Jazz and Bri just last month, but the two gangly girls looking at it with me disagree. 

This fella, I could swear img014.jpgI just washed his baseball jersey this weekend.  But my son has been away at college for almost four years and hasn’t played baseball since his sophomore year of High School.  Tick Tock…Tick Tock….

Its a shame we can’t bottle certain moments or days of our life and just pour them out when we felt like living that moment all over again.  

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Miss Manners Is My Name Too Confessions of a Certified Dork

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hammer  |  January 30, 2007 at 9:48 am

    I’m trying to savor them while they happen. Thanks for the reminder to continue to do so.

    Reply
  • 2. Jay  |  January 30, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    If we were busy reliving yesterday, we’d miss out on today.

    Reply
  • 3. Mr. Fabulous  |  January 30, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    It does indeed go quickly. I am sure it seems even more so for those with children, who serve as a living timeline.

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  January 30, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    Hammer – Good job, I wish I’d learned this lesson earlier.

    Jay – Absolutely right. There would be some that spent too much time living backward instead of forward.

    Mr. Fab – So true! Dang kids seem to grow and change over night.

    Reply
  • 5. Catch  |  January 30, 2007 at 5:40 pm

    I liked the times when I knew where all my kids were…in their beds! lol. Safe and sound.

    Reply
  • 6. Linda  |  January 30, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    I can truly see how time flies when I look at Sophia. Even though she is only three, I look back and it seems like she was just born. I watch how tall she is getting and I am amazed. My husband always laughs at me, because I get sort of sad when one of the kids does something for the first time. This happens, because I think to myself that they will never do this important milestone again for the first time. The passing of time has always made me a bit sad. I am not really sure why, though. Ordinarily, I am a very happy go lucky sort of person, but around my birthday and New Years, I have a tendency to get a bit meloncholy. Anyway, time does pass so quickly, you blink and then it has gone by.

    Reply
  • 7. katcampbell  |  January 30, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    Catch – Isn’t that the truth? Only time we don’t have to worry about them is when they’re sleeping.

    Linda – Those milestones are bittersweet, but there’s so many things to celebrate about a person’s life, we can’t linger on any one thing too long!

    Reply
  • 8. Jackie  |  January 31, 2007 at 12:50 am

    Kat, so true. It amazes me where the time goes. You know from reading Cindra’s blog, that she’s a full grown, wonderful, competent woman of 41 — to me, she’s still MY little girl! And my baby, who is 34 now, is STILL my baby and I miss him being at home like crazy. And he’s been gone for years!! lol

    Reply
  • 9. Carleton50  |  January 31, 2007 at 2:05 am

    Hey Kat,
    Your e-mail bounced. I don’t have another e-mail for you so this will have to work. Please accept my apologies for this intrusion.

    You have tickets for the Friday night’s performance of Zanesville Community Theatre’s production of The Laramie Project.

    2 tix – and I didn’t spot you altough the offer is still out there.

    For the rest of you – order tickets on-line at http://www.zct.org or call 740.455.6487 to reserve – we accept cash, check, credit cards.

    Thanks,

    Carl Underwood

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  January 31, 2007 at 4:54 am

    Jackie – I can’t believe Cindra is 41! Is she going to kill you for letting that fact out of the bag?

    Carl – No problem! Thanks for the reminder, I’m looking forward to the show on Friday.

    Reply
  • 11. bobciz  |  January 31, 2007 at 7:09 am

    Mary was just downstairs digging through some old boxes and she came across my parents’ wedding picure. Talk about the passage of time. Were they ever that young? Were we? History makes you appreciate the present doesn’t it.

    Reply
  • 12. Gawpo  |  January 31, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    Lost my bluetooth again. Found it a short time later. ON MY EAR! I’ve lost my glasses that way as well. But the kicker was the time I couldn’t find the salt and pepper. Tore the house apart. Every drawer. Every box. I had just used them the previous night to cook. Gave up the search and went to bed madly frustrated. The next day, there they were where I had left them: In the refrigerator. New York strip: $8. Fresh string beans: $1.25 Bottle of Mondavi: $23. Finding the S & P in the fridge: Spiceless

    Reply
  • 13. katcampbell  |  January 31, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    Gawpo – LOL! Welcome to the dork society, you have been crowned King.

    Reply
  • 14. QuillDancer  |  January 31, 2007 at 6:50 pm

    There are precious moments in everyone’s life they want to relive — thanks to memories — and dry camers — we can.

    Reply
  • 15. Jackie  |  February 1, 2007 at 8:01 am

    Kat, Cindra’s told her age on her blog, we’re not too ‘into’ the numbers part of it! lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Feeds


