Wasted Days and Wasted…well days

February 4, 2007 at 4:35 pm 26 comments

Where did my Saturday go?  One minute I was just gonna take a little nap, the next it’s dark and silent and I’m all alone.  That’s a lie, I wasn’t alone.  Princess was here but asleep on the couch.  In case anybody is interested:  Never wait up for your children out on a date once they turn 26.   They are aware that they don’t have curfews any more, and they will take advantage of that fact. 

The children’s book I’m ghost writing is half way done.  We had a team meeting yesterday and the artist handed me copies of the first three chapter’s illustrations.  What a rush, what an eye opener!  She’s working only from what I write with no other input so when I haven’t been clear enough or descriptive enough, it shows up in the illustrations.  Out of the six scenes she chose to draw, only one didn’t match the vision in my head.  It gave me chills.  And clearly pointed out a flaw in Chapter three that must be corrected in edit. 

Worrisome news from my son.  Since he’s a senior in college and will lose his health insurance after graduation in May, Pap made him go get a complete physical in case there was a lag between graduation and then finding a job with insurance.  Most of the results came back great, his cholesterol is low, no diabetes, healthy heart …exactly what you’d expect from a physical on a 21 year old.  But the blood tests did reveal some irregularities with his liver.  He’s been reassured that no matter how much beer he’s drank since he started college the brew could not be the culprit, but the doctor is concerned about hepatitus or a fatty liver. 

The good news about having a bad medical report is that suddenly your parents and sisters don’t look like such evil, inconsiderate creatures after all.  I’ve heard more about what he does and who he hangs out with at school in the last three weeks than I have in all four years he’s been away.  Kids!

In case you haven’t noticed, I’m down to 421 days to freedom.  You should probably begin planning the party to celebrate my withdrawal from the accounting rat race now.  Just a suggestion. 

Entry filed under: kids, randomness, writing.

My Next Husband Must Be a Nerd Snow Days

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janet  |  February 4, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    421 days isn’t enough time! Can’t you postpone retirement six more months? 😉

    Reply
  • 2. QuillDancer  |  February 4, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    Kat — when you get to my blog you will find that sleep stole my Saturday, too! I will pray for your son. And as to your retirement — how long does it take to plan tossing a handful of shredded ledger paper into the air?

    Reply
  • 3. katcampbell  |  February 4, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    Janet – Six more months at my day job past the 421 would make me into one of those postal workers than went crazy and shot up their coworkers.

    Quilly – Its definately going to require more than just shredded paper to celebrate this retirement. A big fat check would be nice since I’m not officially old enough to “retire”.

    Reply
  • 4. DELMONTI  |  February 4, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    I love those “lost time” moments…. At 21 I dont think any normal fella should have a health liver…. probably..

    I’m sure everything will be fine Kat.

    Reply
  • 5. DaveM  |  February 4, 2007 at 11:14 pm

    Lost moments……….when you get to my age they are very commom.

    Reply
  • 6. hammer  |  February 5, 2007 at 12:17 am

    Normalized silamarin extract (found at the herb store) is really good for the liver as well as green tea. Hope all comes out ok.

    Reply
  • 7. Shelli  |  February 5, 2007 at 12:40 am

    I had abnormal liver panels before and it turned out to be a fluke. Don’t fret.

    The book sounds intriguing. I can’t wait.

    Reply
  • 8. Velvet Sacks  |  February 5, 2007 at 1:07 am

    Sounds like the book project is coming along really well. It was smart for your son to have a physical while he still has insurance. I know telling you not to worry about the liver panel won’t stop you from worrying, but Shelli is right, it may be nothing. All the same, I’ll keep my fingers crossed that the follow-up tests turn out well.

    Reply
  • 9. hayden  |  February 5, 2007 at 6:39 am

    I don’t know what it is, but weekends all race by like they’re on krank! One minute it’s Saturday morning, and the next it’s Sunday night.

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  February 5, 2007 at 8:07 am

    Delmonti – So nice to see you out and about again! I love the naps, but not the projects that don’t get done because I’m snoozing the day away!

    DaveM – Oh dear, its going to get worse?

    Hammer – Thank you, regardless of the final diagnosis, I’ll pass this on to him.

    Shelli – I hear its common to get a false abnormal on these tests. We wouldn’t worry at all except it tested bad twice.

    Velvet – Thanks for the thoughts. The book is too much fun, the most fun I’ve had writing something in years.

    Hayden – Ain’t that the truth! They say that’s a sympton of career burn out. For me, that’s absolutely true.

    Reply
  • 11. Jackie  |  February 5, 2007 at 11:12 am

    Kat, I love naps! Glad you get to fit one in now and then.

    I had tests taken before I had my gall bladder removed, and they discovered I had a fatty liver, but further testing showed all was well, that it was probably my normal.

    Reply
  • 12. Catch  |  February 5, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    Ill get right on that retirement party! ;))

    Your right, I would do much better with Ty Pennington….why didnt I think of that? Besides, my sons name is Ty, I could tell him I named my firstborn after him!!!! lol

    Reply
  • 13. J.  |  February 5, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    It must b so exciting to be working on that book. But does ‘ghostwriting’ mean I’ll never know which one you did? That would suck. I want to seeeeeee!

    Reply
  • 14. Nessa  |  February 5, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    Weekends go by way too fast. I don’t wait up for my daughter anymore. We have a special night light that I can see from my bed. When I wake up in the middle of the night and it’s off, I know she’s home and I can go back to sleep. Works well.

    Glad your son is communicating more with you. There’s a new thing with health insurance where children up to the age of 30 can continue on their parents’ insurance. It’s like COBRA. You should look into it. They can go back and forth on your policy throughout their 20’s. It’s Federal, so you show be able to get it in your state.

    Reply
  • 15. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  February 5, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    I am praying that all will be well with your son! And how interesting how the illustrator saw so clearly most of what you envisioned and good for you that you see his/her work as a way to check your own!

    Reply
  • 16. katcampbell  |  February 6, 2007 at 12:16 am

    Jackie – That’s encouraging! Hopefully he’ll hear the same news.

    Catch – Ty’s the man! Or that Eric guy…oooh, now he’s a cutie. You’d just have to bump off his wife!

    Jan – Technically, “ghost writing” means my name won’t appear on it. However, we’ve haven’t signed contracts yet and he’s so thrilled with the work that it will probably end up “Created by Doctor” “Written by Kat”.

    Nessa – Great ideas on both the daughter and the insurance! I’ll look into it.

    Thank you for the prayers Dr. Kate. I’ve been writing for a very long time, but this is the first book I’ve done that has been pure joy from the very beginning.

    Reply
  • 17. NMOTB  |  February 6, 2007 at 1:57 am

    Hey my sleep was also hi-jacked by Saturday!!! The truth is, it was so hot here that I went an lay on the couch and when I woke up it was already 6pm but atleast it was cooler. I actually hate sleeping during the day but it is nice once in awhile!!!
    The book project sounds real interesting!!!

    Take Care and have a good week!!!

    Reply
  • 18. smileymama  |  February 6, 2007 at 6:23 am

    Hi Kat-
    Ahh, naps…I have been wanting an uninterrupted one for about 13 years, now I can finally have them…but I don’t like waking up confused aftr dark, either!!
    NMOTB– too HOT? Wow. Right now, we can’t even touch the inside of our lobby door at work, due to the ice–on the inside–I figure it’s about -40 today. I think we all need to go somewhere with an “average climate”. Ha.
    -T

    Reply
  • 19. John Linna  |  February 6, 2007 at 7:11 am

    If I could get over this cold I could sleep all night. I’m glad your book is going well.

    Reply
  • 20. cindra  |  February 6, 2007 at 7:32 am

    I hope that nothing is seriously wrong with your son…tests can vary too…whew. I already bought streamers…I’m trying to decide…flowers, or balloons for the part?

    Reply
  • 21. tony  |  February 6, 2007 at 5:27 pm

    Well hello Kat Campbell. Congrats on your impending retirement. That will be fun, no?

    Prayers for your son. I told you he’d come back. I just didn’t think it would be for this.

    Freaky about your illustrator. Wow. Them daing artists have a irregular brains, you know!

    Have a great Tuesday!

    Reply
  • 22. katcampbell  |  February 6, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    Smileymama – Its so cold here they are actually cancelling school. I’m moving in with New Mom.

    Dr. John – That cold is just lingering isn’t it? I hope you get better soon, you need your sleep!

    Cindra – Flowers and balloons…and lots and lots of wine. :>)

    HI TONY! Yes, you were right, and I believed you when you said it, after all, you’ve been there.

    Reply
  • 23. Gawpo  |  February 7, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    Going by what Shelli said: “I had abnormal liver panels before and it turned out to be a fluke. Don’t fret,” I would caution you not to let your guard down quite so quickly, Kat.

    If Shelli is right, and it DOES turn out to be a liver fluke, then I recommend he stops swimming in the South China Sea. I saw a Discovery show about those waters and the high incidence of liver flukes.

    Now what Shelli cautions you against in her second comment—not to play the guitar—I can’t help you with that. You’re going to have to ask Shelli.

    You’re quite welcome. I’m here to help. –G

    Reply
  • 24. katcampbell  |  February 7, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    Gawpo – Someone forgot their meds today! Quit picking on Shelli you goofy thing.

    Reply
  • 25. Gawpo  |  February 8, 2007 at 3:34 am

    Okay, I will. Sorry, Shelli. BUT! I am delighted to hear about a certain shift in a certain person to reconnect to a certain extent with a certain mother. I have certainly been praying that one up. Not letting up yet.

    Reply
  • 26. katcampbell  |  February 8, 2007 at 5:34 am

    Gawpo – Forgiven…you must have a direct line with a certain power because its certainly working and you’re a sweety.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Feeds


