Snow Days

February 8, 2007 at 5:40 am 12 comments

To say its cold is a hellish understatement.  The kitchen pipes are frozen.  My lovely little cricket car made one weak attempt to turn over yesterday, and then gave up.  She’s left word she’ll be back when she can see black road again.  The grandgirls are going on day four of no school.  Send sunshine you warm weather folks!  Or valium…whichever is cheaper to ship.

I should be working on THE BOOK.  But I’ve stared at the screen for two days, and while the scene is rattling around in my head like a handful of marbles in a shoebox, I just can’t get the words onto the screen.  So I went outside to play instead.  I can’t remember having a winter full of snow like this since I was a kid.  The grandgirls had never seen one, so it was my absolute duty to teach them the fastest way to get down a hill on a sled, how to make snow angels without getting your butt totally wet and how to test the pond to see if the ice was thick enough to skate (it wasn’t).

 Its quiet in the house now, Papa Bear has taken the grandgirls to visit with his parents.  I’m sore, and chapped but Ben Harper is in the background, singing about morning yearning.  Through the window  by my desk I can see its snowing again, but the space heater is keeping me toasty warm.  I should be writing Philip’s story…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Wasted Days and Wasted…well days Unwelcome Guests and a Trashy Cat

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mr. Fabulous  |  February 8, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    I’ll be glad to help you with the book.

    Put in a car crash. People love car crashes.

    Oh, and a monkey. Those things are hilarious.

    Never be afraid to ask me for help with the hard stuff 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. tony  |  February 8, 2007 at 6:31 pm

    Global Warming, I tell ya. That damned George Bush!

    Reply
  • 3. Janet  |  February 8, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    I’m about giving up on spring. Wake me up when it gets here.

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  February 8, 2007 at 10:15 pm

    Mr. Fab – What was I thinking by not asking you right away! I’m sure the 10 year olds who read my books will be delighted with a car crash! :>)

    Tony – This is definately W’s fault all this freezing weather.

    Janet – You and my car. I’ll have her honk at the first sign of daffodils.

    Reply
  • 5. Jackie  |  February 9, 2007 at 1:28 am

    Kat, sounds like you are enjoying that snow just a little. (I sure don’t miss it!) Wish I could send you some of this Arizona sunshine – it’s in the 70’s and absolutely beautiful. (Did you really want to hear that?!)

    Reply
  • 6. Stacy  |  February 9, 2007 at 3:56 am

    I do believe hell just may have froze over this week. I know other places have had it colder, but -5 and windchills of -20 (or more) are more than enough for me. We only had one “snow” day, though. Plenty of 2-hour delays.

    Reply
  • 7. Linda  |  February 9, 2007 at 3:57 am

    Maybe some playtime will get rid of that writer’s block.

    I has been ungodly cold here, but I know it is even colder where you are. It had been such a mild winter and I kept saying that would change. Maybe I better watch what I predict next time.

    Stay warm!

    Reply
  • 8. John Linna  |  February 9, 2007 at 4:45 am

    Its cold here but it hasn’t snowed. It just went to -17 and that was not the windchill.

    Reply
  • 9. QuillDancer  |  February 9, 2007 at 6:43 am

    Kat — 70 degrees here and sunny. Send your kitchen pipes — but make it quick, they say a chill is coming.

    Reply
  • 10. sunfloweroptimism  |  February 9, 2007 at 8:57 am

    What a wonderful grandma you are, going out there and playing in the snow with the grandgirls. I’d like to be a fun grandma like you – although I think I’m going to have to draw the line at anything involving snow and/or cold!

    Reply
  • 11. katcampbell  |  February 9, 2007 at 9:03 am

    Jackie – Way to bum me out! Nah, I am enjoying the snow this year, its beautiful and everything looks so clean.

    Stacy – The wind chills are just deadly! I just keep saying “its killing bugs, its killing bugs”

    Linda – So YOU’RE responsible for this freezing weather!

    Dr. John – -17? I hope you and Betty are staying indoors!

    Quilly – My pipes thank you.

    Sunflower – Get out there! A good snowsuit (I look like the Michelin Man) and it feels just like a sauna. I couldn’t do it every day, luckily my grandgirls just need jump started and then they’re happy to carry on with just each other.

    Reply
  • 12. Gawpo  |  February 13, 2007 at 4:08 am

    Yeah, Kat, just go look at how Mr. Fab can help you put in some monkeys! Have you gone to his blog today? I feel so sad for his mother. She has no doubt changed her name and moved.

    Frozen pipes suck the big one. I have had more frozen pipes than a Scottish pep band playing the Emperor Penguin fight song at McMurdo Station. (where do i come up with this stuff?)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Feeds


