When Good Kids Go Funny

February 13, 2007 at 7:53 am 22 comments

Briauna’s cousin Aubree gave her a book of knock-knock jokes.  She gave Jazzmin a whoopie cushion.  As evidenced by these gifts, my step-grandgirl Aubree must hate  my guts.  They are 7 and 9.  At that age these things are the funniest thing in the universe.  The wicked child gave these gifts to my wards on the busiest week of my life ever.  I have book, publishing, accounting and tax deadlines looming.  Two birthdays and one baby shower to throw.  Four dozen cupcakes to bake for Valentine’s day.  All of which is being regularly interupted by the honk of the woopie cushion and “orange you glad I didn’t say banana?”  Which is immediately followed by fifteen minutes of hysterical laughter by these two little girls.   The farting noise and stupid jokes don’t make me laugh, but the girls reaction to them busts me up completely.   I’m frequently accused of having a weird sense of humour.  Considering that comment usually comes from someone who’s comedy I don’t find funny, I don’t worry about it. 

The things that make me double over and cry with laughter are usually the everyday comedic moments that happen to everyone.   Erma Bombeck, Paula Poundstone, Josh Blue…these people make me laugh.  Many of you recounting your trials and tribulations with animals, kids and household appliances just crack me up completely.  My oldest daughter had this uncanny ability  as a kid to imitate just about anyone, capturing whatever weird quirkiness in expression or turn of phrase her victim had.  She got herself out of oodles of trouble by explaining her bad behavior in the voice of our preacher or one of the teachers at school.  My husband was not amused by this, but I’d be running from the room laughing. 

What makes you laugh? 

Opposum update:  The mangy little beast hung out on the top step of the basement (on the other side of the blocked door) for a day.  We could hear him scratching…ugh.  Pap’s bright idea was to close off all the doors to the laundry room and leave a trail of food from the basement to the back door.  This was obviously a stupid idea.  Luckily, Princess is a cute girl with many buff boyfriends.  She fetched one.   He bravely captured the Opposum and took it away in his truck.  Then he put screens on those vents that are necessary to a basement and blew this foam stuff into the cracks in the block.  I would like her to marry this one, and live in my house, forever. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Unwelcome Guests and a Trashy Cat Snow…Ice…This Must Be Ohio

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hayden  |  February 13, 2007 at 8:25 am

    why do young girls not fully appreciate the enormous value of competance like this? (shakes head)

    Surprise makes me laugh. An unexpected turn of phrase, a conjunction of two things that don’t ordinarily belong together, word play. And my puppy makes me laugh. He is always “pulling pranks on me” he thinks… so full of his own games and certain that he is fooling me that it makes me laugh out loud at the purposeful (and often clownish) look on his face.

    Reply
  • 2. delmonti  |  February 13, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    Emily’s mom would always call the cats litter-tray her “dirtbox”…. it must be a North/South thing as “dirtbox” has a completley different meaning to me.

    It’s just not nice to hear things like “David! Could you give Addie’s dirtbox a rubdown, it’s looking kinda rough”…. Goodness only knows what the neighbours thought. Anyhow, it always sent me off in torrents of laughter, which of course no-one else thought was funny.

    Oh…. the phrase “Dogs Hockle” has me giggling like a girl. It means nothing more than Dogs saliva… I have no idea why this causes me to giggle, it just does.

    Reply
  • 3. katcampbell  |  February 13, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    Hayden – I know! My Princess is nuts.

    David – “dirtbox”, that made me laugh!

    Reply
  • 4. Mr. Fabulous  |  February 13, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    Do I get a cupcake? C’mon! Pleeeeeeese?

    I’ll tell you some knock knock jokes…

    Reply
  • 5. Stacy  |  February 13, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    I had to laugh when I read about the knock, knock jokes. Especially the “orange you glad I didn’t say banana” one. There is one little girl who sits behind me when I’m driving and I made the mistake of teaching her that one and now we have to go through the routine at least 5 times every morning. Groan.

    Reply
  • 6. david-santos  |  February 13, 2007 at 5:58 pm

    Helo!
    Very good
    it`s all good
    tank you

    Reply
  • 7. katcampbell  |  February 13, 2007 at 7:22 pm

    Mr. Fab – I bet you know all the knock-knock jokes. I bet you were just like my grandgirl…wait, what a horrifying thought…she’ll grow up someday to be Miss Fabulous??? :>)

    Stacy – That’s what you get! Quick, teach her another one.

    david-santos – welcome?

    Reply
  • 8. LauraJ  |  February 13, 2007 at 8:07 pm

    you and your posts never fail to make me smile!

    Reply
  • 9. Mike  |  February 13, 2007 at 9:04 pm

    I used to see Paula Poundstone do stand-up in clubs in San Francisco. These days I only get snippets of her on Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me. She’s still one of my faves.

    Reply
  • 10. John Linna  |  February 14, 2007 at 4:53 am

    I like knock , knock jokes. I hope despite having to stop to laugh you get evberything done. I am sure you will.

    Reply
  • 11. Linda  |  February 14, 2007 at 5:36 am

    I am so juvenille, I love the unexpected fart. Sorry, I just can’t help myself. One time when I was in a Yoga class, somebody passed gas (not an unusual reaction when your body is being contorted), it was all I could do to keep from laughing out loud.

    Reply
  • 12. QuillDancer  |  February 14, 2007 at 9:23 am

    Loved the opossum update. It sure enough made me laugh.

    Reply
  • 13. Catch  |  February 14, 2007 at 11:40 am

    Dont count on her marrying him, they never marry anyone that knows how to do anything.

    What makes me laugh??? hmm….well one time when I lived in the house before this one my washer and dryer was in the basement. I went down to put some clothes in the washer( it was about 10 at night). A bird flew at me…I ran up the stairs and got my husband. He went down for about 1 minute. He came back up and said I cant get it..put a paper bag over your head to go to the basement tonight and Ill get it tomorrow. Now maybe you can understand why I am divorced! lol

    Reply
  • 14. NMOTB  |  February 14, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    That was a great post!!!! *Smile*

    HAPPY VALENTINES DAY to you and Yours!!

    Reply
  • 15. katcampbell  |  February 14, 2007 at 6:29 pm

    Laura J – You’re entirely too adorable.

    Mike – Paula’s cat jokes always bust me up.

    Dr. John – Thanks for the good wishes. I’ve never liked knock-knock jokes. Even when I was a kid.

    Linda – We all have our flaws.

    Quilly – Princess frequently makes me laugh. I should just write her daily conversations every day.

    Catch – LOL! I think your ex might be related to Pap!

    New Mom – Happy Valentine’s day to you too!

    Reply
  • 16. smileymama  |  February 15, 2007 at 8:04 am

    YOU make me laugh. So does Princess Jasmine, who is always coming up with the funniest things. I came home yesterday to her standing in the laundry room with a featherduster, telling me she “just cleaned the laundry room!” Sure enough, she had swept the floor…and laid out a towel on the washer for the cat to sleep on…and put a dainty crochet doily over the edge of the dirty old utility sink….she cracks me up!

    Reply
  • 17. Mimi  |  February 15, 2007 at 8:42 am

    Your story reminds me of ours. Our best friends, Binks godparents, always give him noisy toys that constantly go off, even in the middle of the night. And they have no off button!

    I love AFV!

    So you have been saved from the possum. I can understand why you like the guy! LOL!

    Reply
  • 18. Janet  |  February 15, 2007 at 8:59 am

    Erma Bombeck deserves a monument.

    Glad you got the possum out, now what’s next, I wonder? anyone want to start a pool?

    Reply
  • 19. katcampbell  |  February 15, 2007 at 9:34 am

    Smiley Mom – That is so funny! Takes quite a competent interior decorator to take on a laundry room!

    Mimi – He was my hero… someday Princess will look past her need for witty conversation and see the value of these fella’s that can fix stuff.

    Janet – The Grass is Always Greener Over the Septic Tank is the funniest book I’ve ever read.

    Reply
  • 20. Gela Words  |  February 15, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    I laugh at myself all the time. I find that not taking myself too seriously and finding the humour in almost every situation maintains a sense of balance and keeps me sane 🙂

    Oh, like you sometimes I don’t find the source of the joke all that funny, but would find the reaction to the ‘joke’ hilarious, so I can totally relate.

    An ex-class-mate of mine would go up to the front of the class to give jokes when I was in high school. The jokes were dead corny, totally not funny, but what would have me doubling with laughter is the fact that she’d give her ‘joke’, and even though the entire class would be looking at her with a blank expression, she find her joke so funny, and would be practically on the floor with laughter. Sometimes, she could barely even get out the joke, so chokep with mirth was she!

    That was funny.

    I need a week to catch up on your site.

    Reply
  • 21. katcampbell  |  February 16, 2007 at 1:23 am

    Gela – How nice to see ya! Been a busy thing, you, yes? Other people laughing always makes me laugh too.

    Reply
  • 22. Gawpo  |  February 16, 2007 at 6:51 am

    What a hoot. I wish I could be there in the house to see it all. So funny, Kat. My favorite Paula Poundstone joke is when she’s talking about Sirhan Sirhan coming up for parole and he says, “Robert Kennedy would forgive me. Robert Kennedy would recommend that I get paroled.” And she says, “How do you like that? The one guy who would have spoken up for the guy and he goes and shoots him in the head.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Feeds


