Snow…Ice…This Must Be Ohio

February 15, 2007 at 10:51 am 11 comments

Well, what a couple of crazy weather days around this joint.  The big storm that blew in yesterday has brought my neck of the woods to a screeching, sliding standstill.   I just can’t find any reason to complain, this IS Ohio and snow with ice IS what kind of weather you’re supposed to get in the winter.  Besides, with no school since Tuesday, I have several dozen cupcakes and half a birthday cake to eat.  Which could explain why I’m still awake at one in the morning. 

Two chapters away from finishing THE BOOK.  Then the real work begins.  With the doctor’s completely mad contacts, we might be very busy soon.  I might actually get to abandon the day job, dare I say it, EARLY. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

When Good Kids Go Funny Enlightened Times?

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Catch  |  February 15, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    Yup, just our normal winter weather but, dang its cold out there! Just goes right through your bones!

    Reply
  • 2. Barb  |  February 15, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    it is often said becareful what you wish for.
    Most of Australia has been praying for rain, for years, 4 days ago we go it. complete with flash flooding, A friend of mine has been struggling for years to keep his breeding stock alive by expensive hand feeding, In just one night completely wipped out. 300 of his prize stock drowned. Unfortunately this heavy rain also washed away precious top soil. so now we all have a beautiful crop of weeds,none of this rain fell in the catchment area, Send me some snow I will send you heaps and heaps of sun.

    Reply
  • 3. Stacy  |  February 15, 2007 at 5:41 pm

    Everything here has been shut down as well, but looks like it’s back to semi-normal today. We’re on a 2-hour delay, but it’s for the cold, not the snow and ice. I’ll be heading out to work in a few minutes.

    Reply
  • 4. Jackie  |  February 15, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    Kat, my daughter, Brooke, lives in Ohio now. She called me several times yesterday with updates on that nasty weather. Hope it warms up there for you soon. And great news about the book…you go, girl.

    Reply
  • 5. Linda  |  February 15, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    Schools here are closed again today. We live NW of Baltimore. My husband works in Baltimore and said that the roads where we live are not that great, but the closer you get to the city the better they are. It was nice having Bob home yesterday. I had when I can’t get out, because I feel stir crazy. I am also afraid that I will fall on the ice with the baby or something just as bad. We have an abudance of bad for us food in the house right now and I just can’t seem to keep myself from eating it. We had a very mild winter until the beginning of February and I knew that had to change at some point. Like you said, it is winter!

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  February 15, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    Catch – Not so bad if you can stay out of the wind, unfortunately, the wind is everywhere.

    Barb – Oh no, 300 hundred head of cattle? How in the world do you recover from that? I wish I could send you snow, I want some sun!

    Jackie – Thanks! So Brooke has joined us in the greatest state on earth! Depending on where she is in relation to me, we might have to all get together in the spring.

    Linda – The cities are always better financed and prepared for weather emergencies. Good thing, they sure get a lot more traffic than the outlying areas.

    Reply
  • 7. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  February 16, 2007 at 3:28 am

    Well, if one has to be snowbound, I would much prefer it be in the company of cupcakes! By the time it got to us, it was mostly ice – very dangerous roads. I have an angry seven year old who is disappointed that the only snow of the year is so frozen you can’t budge it – and I didn’t have any cupcakes!
    Hope the early finish to the book brings you the chance to “escape” early!

    Reply
  • 8. Janet  |  February 16, 2007 at 8:46 am

    will you remember us when you’re busy getting famous?

    Reply
  • 9. Mimi  |  February 16, 2007 at 8:49 am

    I always get stuck with tons of sweets in the house at the same time too. Or even worse, I have none at all!

    The weather has been crazy. This cold weather hurts, literally.

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  February 16, 2007 at 8:52 am

    Dr. Kate – I must admit all of this has been easier since the girls have snow to sled on and plenty of junk food!

    Janet – Only an idiot “forgets” the people who kept them motivated, encouraged, inspired, entertained and supported. I am, most definately, not an idiot. My friends like you, here in the blog neighborhood, are sometimes the only reason I keep writing.

    Reply
  • 11. Nessa  |  February 17, 2007 at 2:17 am

    Good luck to giving up the day job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Feeds


