Enlightened Times?

February 16, 2007 at 6:10 pm 14 comments

The worst thing about being housebound because of weather is that I end up watching the news.  It distresses me that in these enlightened times, in an era when information about absolutely anything is right at our fingertips, we’re still judging people because of color, gender or sexual preference. 

I had the misfortune to overhear a debate on whether Barack Obama was “black” enough to be President.  Who cares what color he is?  Is he QUALIFIED to be President?  I don’t want to hear about his church, his family, or his skin tone.  I want to know what he’s done and achieved to be qualified to lead my country. 

Then there’s homophobia.  Tim Hardaway  say’s “I hate gay people” on a radio show in response to former NBA player John Amaechi’s recently released biography…in which he reveals he’s gay.  Hardaway claims he’d be “uncomfortable” with a teammate checking him out in the locker room.  I did like Amaechi’s response, in a quite cultured English voice:  “How insulting to assume I don’t know the difference between a social situation and work.” 

I don’t have time to judge people.  I don’t even want to.  I’m looking for character in my friends and qualifications in my leaders. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Snow…Ice…This Must Be Ohio Tagged

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. LauraJ  |  February 16, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    It all just makes me sick too! Let it go people, let it go! It’s always two steps forward one step back.

    Reply
  • 2. Stacy  |  February 16, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    Amen!

    Reply
  • 3. J.  |  February 16, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    I hate watching the news. It either leaves me disgusted, or depressed.

    Reply
  • 4. DaveM  |  February 16, 2007 at 11:48 pm

    Kat, I agree…..some good principles there.

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  February 17, 2007 at 12:33 am

    Sure seems that way sometimes Laura J.

    Stacy – If only everyone was like us, huh?

    J – Me too, that’s why I attempt to avoid it all costs.

    Dave – Doesn’t it make you wonder how people can think like this?

    Reply
  • 6. Nessa  |  February 17, 2007 at 2:16 am

    I don’t watch the news any more either. It isn’t really news, it’s just sensationalisms.

    Reply
  • 7. John Linna  |  February 17, 2007 at 6:14 am

    But color is easy to see and character is not.

    Reply
  • 8. DaveM  |  February 17, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    I have just heard the Hardaway interview on the radio, its shocking that is allowed to get away with saying what he did. Soccer over here is a male dominated sport and I can only ever recall one player coming out and saying he was gay. I am sure that there are others but in such a macho male area I doubt if they will come out.

    Reply
  • 9. Rhea  |  February 17, 2007 at 6:15 pm

    My sentiments exactly! Great post.

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  February 17, 2007 at 11:21 pm

    Nessa – Its a shame we don’t have an alternative source of reliable information thats still as compact as the news.

    Dr. John that is true, but its worth the effort to see past the external to the character. Our country would be better for it.

    Dave – He won’t get away with it, the backlash will come from every direction, including his fans.

    Rhea – Thanks for coming by. Enjoyed my visit over to your neighborhood as well!

    Reply
  • 11. bobciz  |  February 18, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    We all have to work at overcoming the superficiality of first impressions. Getting past the ethnicity, race, color, sexuality, and religious preferences of a person takes a great deal of effort that few of us are willing to exert, and we are the lesser for it.

    Reply
  • 12. katcampbell  |  February 19, 2007 at 2:24 am

    I absolutely agree Bob

    Reply
  • 13. Mr. Fabulous  |  February 19, 2007 at 4:09 am

    This is why I find myself watching the news less and less these days.

    The whole Hardaway thing disgusts me.

    Reply
  • 14. katcampbell  |  February 19, 2007 at 4:47 am

    Hardaway disgusts me too. Biggotry of any kind makes my stomach roll, but he’s just a jerk.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Feeds


