A Little Help for My Friends

February 21, 2007 at 5:36 pm 23 comments

Leesa is holding a Battle of The Blogs over at her place.  Loosely based on that old show  Battle of the Network Stars… surf over there and read about it, then nominate yourself and me.  Then I’ll nominate you, and myself.  Hurry, the deadline is February 23rd. I know you’re really busy, but read her post today, hysterical. 

The deadline for Cindra’s Weekly Word Game has passed, and the entries are posted and ready for you to vote.  If you haven’t checked this out yet, please do!  Worthy reads every week, submitted anonymously – so you’re voting on the quality of the writing instead of popularity.  I would be totally remiss if I didn’t mention that Mr. Fabulous  co-hosts the weekly word game and this week’s winner is getting a gift certificate to igourmet.  I, alas, mired in day job, children’s book and editing work did not finish my entry in a timely manner.  So you can rest assured that I’m pimping for my friends and not myself.  I’ll be submitting my invoices for friendship dues shortly.   

Where would we all be without friends?  It will be through the strength of my Doctor’s friends that we get our children’s book noticed.  My dog would be more maniacal than he already is if not for his friendship with the dogs in the neighborhood that help him escape his cat sisters.  Friends have stepped up over the years to help with kids, make me laugh, share a book, and remind me that I really need a haircut.  They were there lending support when my natural parents died, my husband was hospitalized and my leg was in a cast.  There are no friends better than the one’s here in my blog neighborhood for lending moral support, encouragement and laughter. 

Back in our poverty days, a friend once gave us a car.  It provided the means to get us back out of the spiral to homelessness we’d fallen into.  What’s the best thing a friend ever did for you?

Entry filed under: friends.

Fat Tuesday Writer’s Block

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. therevdrkate  |  February 21, 2007 at 8:33 pm

    I don’t know where any of us would be without our friends. And our blogger friends in particular. In musing about how much I hate Lent and Ash Wednesday, a blogger friend took time out of her busy life to share with me her faith tradition’s take on Lent which is very different from my traditions. It was a gesture of love that touched me deeply. And I have one blogger friend who I could not make it through my day without and a year into our relationship, I now wonder how I ever survived without her in my life. Her greatest gifts to me is her constant ability to make me laugh at myself and her willingness to roll up her sleeves and dive right in whenever I need her. God bless friends everywhere!

    Reply
  • 2. Leesa  |  February 21, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    You have been nominated for the Battle of the Blogs. Sorry this sounds “canned” because, well, this is canned. I have received lots of entries. I will be working on the ballots that will probably come out next Tuesday (2/27), but this is what I would like from you:

    1. First: do you want your blog to be entered?
    2. If you could, could you send me a brief (one paragraph) description of your site for me to include with a link to your URL (blog name). I am taking the names from the top of the blogs. Oh, and use the bloggerbattle(at)gmail.com.

    You can use the link above to visit the Battle of the Blogs if you have no idea what this is. And, relax, it just means you are loved.

    Reply
  • 3. smileymama  |  February 21, 2007 at 9:52 pm

    A stranger, a lady in a fur coat, once walked up to me as I sat crying on the church steps. I was 20, had driven to the store to get milk for the baby, parked the car in the church parking lot across the street, then the cashier and then the manager wouldn’t take my personal check, although my husband has lived in that little town forever.. and as I left the store I saw my car had been wedged on all sides by Mass-goers, and I went into the church asking, Whose cars are those, could you move them please…while people looked right PAST me. So I sank down on the steps and cried my heart out…and this lady came, and wrapped her furry arms around me, and asked what was wrong, then gave me 10$ to go get milk. I went to repay her the next day. That was a friend I had not met yet.
    T

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  February 21, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    Dr. Kate – Isn’t that just the miracle of today’s technology? My blogger friends are invaluable to me, people I could never have met without the internet.

    SmileyMom – What a GREAT story! Gave me chills and tears, and angel in a fur coat.

    Leesa – Woo Hoo! Fun times.

    Reply
  • 5. John Linna  |  February 22, 2007 at 5:02 am

    My friends have helped in many ways but none ever gave me a car.

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  February 22, 2007 at 5:57 am

    Dr. John – I had babysat, defended them fiercely through some bad times, and generally befriended them when noone else would…but that still doesn’t equal the generosity they showed us when we needed it most. Angels everywhere.

    Reply
  • 7. Barb  |  February 22, 2007 at 7:04 am

    Hey! not too sure I like the last sentence in your second last paragraph what am i chopped liver.

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  February 22, 2007 at 7:40 am

    Sister Barb – Where are you at this moment? Uh Huh, I thought so IN MY BLOG NEIGHBORHOOOD! Chopped liver indeed you goofy thing!

    Reply
  • 9. J.  |  February 22, 2007 at 8:22 am

    A car??? Wow. That is, indeed, a very helpful friend.
    I have way too many to mention. Thankful always for my girlfriends.

    Reply
  • 10. Jay  |  February 22, 2007 at 8:23 am

    You totally have my vote.

    Reply
  • 11. katcampbell  |  February 22, 2007 at 8:55 am

    Jan – “too many to mention” is a great problem to have!

    Jay – Wow, what a nice thing to say. You of one of the rockinist blogs on the www. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 12. QuillDancer  |  February 22, 2007 at 8:55 am

    When I was homeless, a friend provided shelter. It was a line shack without running water or electricity, but it had 4 walls, a roof and a wood burning stove. We moved in Christmas Day.

    Reply
  • 13. katcampbell  |  February 22, 2007 at 10:29 am

    Oh Quilly – those of us who’ve walked through fire and emerged as diamonds rather than coals, only with a little help from our friends.

    Reply
  • 14. Gawpo  |  February 22, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    I was really sick and my good friend, Don’s wife Lola came up to my house and brought a whole chicken that she turned into chicken noodle soup. She cooked white rice and froze some of it so I could eat. She shaved an apple in the grater and added sugar. Best applesauce ever. That is just one of many friend examples.

    Cindra talks to me every day. She held my hand as I went through the darkest days—and nights—of my recent dumping. I love her fiercely.

    Lola came up and performed a Japanese funeral rite when my dog of 15 years, my one and only constant companion, died on January 20th. She lighted candles, spread salt and burned incense. She placed a paper dragon on the grave to protect my puppy on her jouney. I love Lola.

    Reply
  • 15. Catch  |  February 22, 2007 at 12:46 pm

    I have wonderful friends and they have all done many things for me…I could not single out just one. I love my friends..they are gifts from God. they have always been there for me…

    Reply
  • 16. katcampbell  |  February 22, 2007 at 5:10 pm

    Gawpo – You are a lucky man! Good friends are just treasures.

    Catch – How very diplomatic!

    Reply
  • 17. Mr. Fabulous  |  February 22, 2007 at 5:31 pm

    You need a haircut.

    Reply
  • 18. katcampbell  |  February 22, 2007 at 7:08 pm

    Fab – I really do, I’m starting to look like a sheep dog. Thanks buddy!

    Reply
  • 19. Jackie  |  February 23, 2007 at 3:46 am

    Kat, I don’t think I’d have made it through some of the things I have in life, without friends. Some of which are related by blood – and others by the heart.

    Reply
  • 20. katcampbell  |  February 23, 2007 at 4:32 am

    What a beautiful way to put it Jackie. I feel the same way.

    Reply
  • 21. Nessa  |  February 23, 2007 at 4:54 pm

    My family have always been my best friends. And I am finding my friends here are very wonderful.

    Reply
  • 22. katcampbell  |  February 23, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    Nessa – How lucky to always have family close. Mine are spread across the country like dandelion seeds.

    Reply
  • 23. Idetrorce  |  December 16, 2007 at 6:55 am

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Feeds


