Random but Timely

February 27, 2007 at 11:02 pm 16 comments

Better living through Pharmaceuticals:  I first started smoking in basic training.  Smokers got breaks every hour or two while the rest of us tidy lunged airmen continued to pick up rocks on the drill field under the scorching, midsummer, Texas sun.  Being a lazy social soul, I joined the smokers, with every inention of quitting again once I got to technical school.  That was thirty years ago.   I’ve tried to quit, but I have one of those personalities that just latches onto things.  If I’d ever smoked a joint, snorted a line or shot something into my arm at any point in my life…I’d still be doing it. 

During one of our weekend meetings, the doctor mentioned a newly approved prescription called chantix.  My insurance covered it, so I’m giving it a try.  It works by blocking nicotine from getting to the sensors in your brain that control urges.  Its not addictive (remember when they used to give people valium to help them quit?  Jeesh), and there’s an activity plan that goes along with the program, things to help with the “habit” part while the chantix works on the “addiction”.   *******

The writer’s block passed when I woke up to bird song this morning, and a day filled with light.  Sunshine would be better, but I’ll take what I can get.  I finished the second to last chapter this morning and will start the final chapter tonight.  Apparently I have no choice but to move to Florida, Southern California or the Bahamas if I’m expected to write every day.  **********

I had a meeting last night that included a cross section of the town leaders with a sprinkling of common folk ranging in age from 23 – 70.  We were supposed to be talking about community improvements, but soon wandered off topic to a discussion of the difficulty our businesses are facing finding people to work.  That turned into a discussion regarding this new generations knowledge of work ethics and discipline which quickly dissolved into talk of the war in Iraq.  Those of us in the room that are veterans are seriously worried about the inevitable need of a draft.  Several of us are worried that the foundation of these young people that may get sent to war is not sturdy enough for soldiering.  Remember that those of us flapping our jaws about this subject are the ones that raised the young people who may be sent off to war.  We weren’t insulting our kids, we were chastising ourselves. 

All of us wanted to give our children a better childhood than we’d had.  We’re worried that we’ve made them too pampered, supervised and soft to make good soldiers.  Because while the military has been technologized from one end to another, all it takes is one satellite going down and our kids are fighting just like their grandfathers did.  On the ground, hand to hand with people who haven’t lived a cushy American life.   

Entry filed under: Habits, Social commentary, writing.

Shameless Self Promotion More Shameless Promotion, Cats & Kids

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hammer  |  February 28, 2007 at 12:44 am

    I remember my first real job a smoker could take a 5 min break every 20 min. so everyone took up smoking.

    Personally I never got into the habit so I just worked alone while everyone was puffing away 😉

    Good luck on trying to quit, that’s a rough road 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Paul Martin  |  February 28, 2007 at 12:45 am

    They say the average person has to quit several time before it sticks. That’s how it worked with my sister. I was going “Yeah, right” every time. Then she really did quit, like eight years ago. So hang in…

    Reply
  • 3. Stacy  |  February 28, 2007 at 3:16 am

    Cuba worked for Hemmingway. I can think of much worse ways to suffer for your craft than to move to a tropical climate.

    Hmmm…do you think it would work for other things, too? Come to work today? No, sorry, no sun. What’s that, you need clean underwear? Can’t help you till the sun comes back. Dinner? I can’t possibly cook till I can grill in the sunshine. 😉

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  February 28, 2007 at 4:37 am

    Hammer – Further evidence of what upstanding man you are. I’m hoplessly self-indulgent I’m afraid, it will be my undoing some day.

    Paul – Welcome! This would certainly qualify as my “several time” trying to quit. I know it will work if I make it so.

    Stacy – Hey… I think we’re on to something.

    Reply
  • 5. Catch  |  February 28, 2007 at 6:39 am

    Is that why these kids are such brats? We tried to give them a better life??? Ive been trying to find out what happened. lol. I could see my daughter going off to war…wheres my blow dryer??? how will I put make up on in these trenches? doesnt this jeep have air conditioning? I cant wear that helmet, it messes up my hair. Private Benjamin indeed! lol

    Reply
  • 6. bobciz  |  February 28, 2007 at 6:39 am

    Oh, God, please don’t mention a draft as possible. Vietnam was “fought” by mostly draftees and we all know how that turned out. I think the greatest way to support our troops is to bring them home, rather than throwing more of them into the abyss of an unwinnable and unjustified war.

    As for smoking, I quit the day my daughter was born 30 years ago when my wife told me that if I expected to be in the same room with my new child, let alone hold her in my arms, I would have to quit smoking. Nothing like great motivation to help you overcome the habit.

    Reply
  • 7. katcampbell  |  February 28, 2007 at 8:01 am

    Catch – Its true, we wimped ’em out. Think about the crazy stuff you did as a kid and then think about what you didn’t let your kids do.

    Bob – I’m not a fan of the war or the draft. We’re just seeing the writing on the wall.

    Reply
  • 8. Janet  |  February 28, 2007 at 8:43 am

    Glad the writer’s block passed!

    Reply
  • 9. QuillDancer  |  February 28, 2007 at 9:06 am

    Kat — kids today are softer in body and harder in heart. I heard a report on the radio this morning that blames it all on the 80’s self-esteem movement.

    Reply
  • 10. David  |  February 28, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    It’s a fine balance isnt it. The more developed we get, the more we’re willing to sacrifice our liberties, principles and what we stand for…. until it’s knocking on our door….. or the price of gas goes up too much.

    but if the only thing you have is an infinite number of testosterone filled sacrificial warmongering killers with nothing else to live for than hate, well then…. Best start making some more compromises and stock piling gas!

    Reply
  • 11. David  |  February 28, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    whoa there boy!

    Sorry about that, wrong meeting!

    I meant to say….

    Kat, good to see the block has lifted. I managed to give up quite easily, but then again I was married to a chemically enhanced version of Satan’s sister who was more sexually active than head-lice in an inner-city primary school…. giving up the nicotine was a doodle.

    Reply
  • 12. katcampbell  |  February 28, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    David Part One – Always nice to see a firm opinion. There is nobody more anti-war than me, but the downside of a democracy is once our elected officals have set us on a course of action, we have no choice but to support the players who must act out the plan.

    David Part Two – LOL about your ex, and thanks so much for reminding me what a wimpy, addicted, whiny butt I am. Nice to see you out and about.

    Reply
  • 13. Jackie  |  February 28, 2007 at 6:28 pm

    Kat, glad the block passed and you’re nearly finished. What a great feeling that must be. Keep us posted on how the new ‘stop smoking’ pills work for you. You did start them, right?

    Reply
  • 14. katcampbell  |  February 28, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    Jackie – Yes I did. I’m on day three, but still smoking. Luckily that’s how its supposed to work. My actual give it up day is next Monday, with a weeks full of nicotine blockers already in my syste.

    Reply
  • 15. katcampbell  |  February 28, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    Janet – Thanks!

    Quilly – My first response is to agree… once the term “self-esteem” was made the catch phrase of the day, we all went overboard. I think we have to find a balance before its too late.

    Reply
  • 16. frothingatlemouse  |  March 3, 2007 at 5:56 am

    Great post. Good luck on the smoking. I successfully quit for a year. I need to do that again…
    I appreciate your veteran’s view of things. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Feeds


