More Shameless Promotion, Cats & Kids

February 28, 2007 at 8:18 pm 24 comments

Battle of the Blogs – Vote for Kat and Quilly by visiting battle-ofthe-blogs.jpgLeesa’s blog and then scrolling way down to the Northern Division.  If you’ve already voted, Thanks!  If you haven’t…hey, throw a girl a bone.  Its free, and you might find some interesting reads while you’re over there.  If you’ve already voted and are willing to send YOUR blog roll over there to help the cause, it would be greatly appreciated.

And now…on to our regular programming….

I knew it was going to end up badly, but I just couldn’t get myself to intervene.  They were so cute, the two little girls on the edge of the couch, talking animatedly about which of the Cheetah Girls could actually do a hurky in their spiked boots.  Jazzmin, the one who talks with her hands, paying no attention to the mangled slinky she was slinging around with her conversation.  Briauna  so fiercely determined to out talk her sister that she didn’t notice the big cat crouched on the back of the sofa behind her.  Neither of them were paying any attention at all to the small cat avidly tracking that bouncing slinky from the chair beside the couch.

Perfectly shameful of me to just sit passively by, especially when I noticed that the small cat had definitely caught on to the rythm of that bouncing slinky and the big cat was doing her prepounce shuffle.  The girls got a little louder, the slinky waved a little more wildly and both cats pounced. 

Ophelia, the big cat, took the painting behind the couch down with her.  Isobelle, the little one, used Jazzmin’s leg to stop her springing flight as they met in the middle.  Lots of screaming, blood, the dog barking and then Briauna threw up from the excitement. 

Same old, same old around this joint. 

Entry filed under: Battle of the Blogs, life with kids.

Random but Timely Divas and Other Energy Sucking Folk

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. smileymama  |  February 28, 2007 at 10:26 pm

    Ouch! The blood is going to my head from the sudden fit of laughing! Thanks for sharing that!
    T

    Reply
  • 2. katcampbell  |  March 1, 2007 at 12:20 am

    T – My pleasure. Without kids and pets I’d have nothing to write about some days.

    Reply
  • 3. Catch  |  March 1, 2007 at 2:49 am

    I love to read about the happenings at your house!! Too funny! And you tell it so well!

    Reply
  • 4. John Linna  |  March 1, 2007 at 6:44 am

    Another reason I never had cats-the blood.

    Reply
  • 5. QuillDancer  |  March 1, 2007 at 8:37 am

    LOL — I’d have probably watched it, too, then been ashamed of myself after for not anticipating the blood.

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  March 1, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    Quilly – There wasn’t that much blood. I’m toughening them up.

    Dr. John – Ah, a little blood never hurt anybody. My cats are normally warm,squooshy, adorable things.

    Catch – Mostly chaos, but if not, what ever would I write about?

    Reply
  • 7. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  March 1, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    Happenings at your house sound like mine. Abby, the dog from hell, got between me and delivering my little guy’s dinner plate and milk to the table (she is shameless when it comes to food). Food and milk went everywhere, and Mom, six days into a no refined white sugar diet, lost it. Tears and outrage to the point where my older son put the dog on the other side of the kitchen door, took the towel I was absorbing milk with from my hand and sent me to bed. Not pretty – you at least tell your story with grace and humor – not like me who it appears is really into the weeping and gnashing of teeth thing this week.
    And I bailed on the diet yesterday – because chocolate deprived, I am a danger to myself and others!

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  March 1, 2007 at 6:08 pm

    Dr. Kate – I completely understand! My goodness its inhumane to expect someone to function without chocolate! What are you thinking?????

    Reply
  • 9. Jay  |  March 2, 2007 at 4:26 am

    Yay, I actually got to vote for you. How exciting to vote for someone I know!

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  March 2, 2007 at 5:35 am

    Thanks Jay! At last look Blogger girl was kicking my bootie…so I need all the help I can get!

    Reply
  • 11. Mimi  |  March 2, 2007 at 7:56 am

    LMAO, I think. I hope there was not a lot of blood. With my too mentally and behavioraly challenged dogs and toddler, those moments are the same old for me too. Not to mention I grew up in a house with anywhere from 1-3 dogs AND 5-20 something cats at a time!

    Reply
  • 12. Jackie  |  March 2, 2007 at 8:29 am

    OMG, Kat, better you than me! lol
    I certainly admire you! I can’t imagine starting those years over again – raising kids who are raising cain!

    Reply
  • 13. Dave  |  March 2, 2007 at 11:45 am

    Kat , I love reading about your family’s exploits, they are great fun and I really admire your philosophical approach to the mild ? mayhem that somteimes happens. But I’m with Jackie on this, having done it and been through it, I dont want to do it again. But keep the stories coming and I bet the kids love living with you.

    Reply
  • 14. katcampbell  |  March 2, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    Mimi – Not that much blood. By the time we’d applied sponge bob bandaids they were laughing again and retelling the drama of the flying cats.

    Jackie – If you had to, you would. That’s the thing about us middle agers, we just readjust and do what’s necessary.

    Dave – I’m happy to have you living vicariously through my chaos Dave! Most of these situations are less frustrating knowing that I have people to share them with.

    Reply
  • 15. frothingatlemouse  |  March 3, 2007 at 5:59 am

    I voted!

    Reply
  • 16. katcampbell  |  March 3, 2007 at 9:11 am

    Thanks frothing!

    Reply
  • 17. Janet  |  March 3, 2007 at 7:15 pm

    Never a dull moment, eh?

    Reply
  • 18. Lorna  |  March 3, 2007 at 10:23 pm

    a great play-by-play; you should take up watching hockey

    Reply
  • 19. katcampbell  |  March 4, 2007 at 12:08 am

    Janet – Nope. Sometimes I like it that way. Sometimes I want to move to a cave.

    Lorna – Funny you should say that, I love hockey. Spent many a date night watching the Hershey Bears.

    Reply
  • 20. Nessa  |  March 4, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    I would have let the action play itself out too. We’re bad; D

    Reply
  • 21. Gawpo  |  March 5, 2007 at 2:02 am

    Ha!!!!!! That is over the top. You are soooooo evil, sitting there waiting for the show, Kat. Very funny. Thank you!

    Reply
  • 22. katcampbell  |  March 5, 2007 at 4:52 am

    Nessa – We are naughty, but its just so darn irrisistable watching the drama play out.

    Gawpo – Glad to have entertained you. Next week I’ll let them run with scissors.

    Reply
  • 23. Mr. Fabulous  |  March 5, 2007 at 4:54 am

    You know…there was time to grab the video camera…

    Reply
  • 24. katcampbell  |  March 5, 2007 at 5:21 am

    If I had one, I’d have been right on that Mr. Fab! It really was comical, everyone’s hair standing on end.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Feeds


