Small Towns

March 6, 2007 at 7:49 am 18 comments

The toilet was leaking in our only bathroom.  I made casual mention of this to the clerk when I was paying for my gas.  She called her cousin, who ran out to “the holla” and by the time I got home from work the local handy guy was in my driveway asking where the bathroom was.  I love small towns. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Divas and Other Energy Sucking Folk The New Kid

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Velvet Sacks  |  March 6, 2007 at 8:26 am

    Now THAT’s what I call service!

    Reply
  • 2. Catch  |  March 6, 2007 at 9:32 am

    Isnt it great to be in a small town? My neighbor cuts my front yard everytime he cuts his….I only have to cut the backyard. I love my town toon been here most of my life.

    Reply
  • 3. hammer  |  March 6, 2007 at 9:43 am

    I could wave a box of hundred dollar bils in my driveway and still nobody would show up to fix my stuff.

    Reply
  • 4. Dave  |  March 6, 2007 at 11:19 am

    What…no sharp intake of breath, no nodding of the head and tut tutting. No saying “who the hell put this in”, “it’ll take me a while to sort this out” your tradesmen need some very basic and essential training.

    Reply
  • 5. J.  |  March 6, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    They DO have their moments.

    Reply
  • 6. smileymama  |  March 6, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    That’s fantastic. When we were watching the sled dogs, we were standing on the Main Street of the little town I went to high school in. I turned aroung to look behind me at one point, and saw a bunch of old local folks sitting on a comfy couch to watch the races…in the window of the furniture store.
    Gotta love that!
    T

    Reply
  • 7. Jay  |  March 6, 2007 at 9:34 pm

    Wow, glad to know the kindness of strangers is still alive and well.

    Reply
  • 8. bobciz  |  March 6, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    That’s the upside of small towns. The downside is that everyone knows how often you use that bathroom, and for what.

    Reply
  • 9. Linda  |  March 7, 2007 at 12:05 am

    I grew up in a town like this. It is funny how news travels.

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  March 7, 2007 at 12:23 am

    Linda & Bob – No lie! Around here its not even safe to whisper, or the story will be all up and down the street in no time.

    Jay – Not so much kindness, our local handy guy gets paid, he just doesn’t want anyone to actually know where he lives!

    SmileyMom- LOL, how precious is that?

    Jan – Come one, you know small towns are great!

    Dave – LOL! Those kinds of comments are reserved for the city slicker repairman. Our guy probably learned plumbing from watching his grandfather.

    Hammer – You must be in the wrong small town then.

    Catch – Same thing on my street, only its leaf raking and snow shoveling.

    Velvet – Word of mouth is alive and well in our little burg.

    Reply
  • 11. John Linna  |  March 7, 2007 at 7:08 am

    Now I live ina city and try and get a plumber.

    Reply
  • 12. Mimi  |  March 7, 2007 at 7:32 am

    Nothing like a small town:) I wish Navy housing had that feeling.

    Reply
  • 13. Mr. Fabulous  |  March 7, 2007 at 4:33 pm

    Yes, but the downside is that everyone knows when you are shtupping the milkman.

    Reply
  • 14. katcampbell  |  March 7, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    Mr. Fab – Goofy, we don’t have a milkman any more…they know when you’re shtupping the mailman.

    Reply
  • 15. Janet  |  March 7, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    Lucky, lucky, lucky!

    Reply
  • 16. katcampbell  |  March 7, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    Dr. John – I don’t even want to consider the difficulty of getting a plumber in the city and then once you do – paying him.

    Mimi – You don’t get that in Navy housing? We did in Air Force housing, which is what got me hooked.

    Janet – Are you trying to say this was UNUSUAL behavior?

    Reply
  • 17. another kat.  |  March 8, 2007 at 1:37 am

    damn. Living in a small city…it seems I can’t go anywhere without running into someone I know…or someone who knows my folks….or the new wrinkle…someone who knows one of my kids. I can’t get away with anything.

    But I still can’t get a decent plumber.
    sigh

    Reply
  • 18. Jackie  |  March 8, 2007 at 3:28 am

    Oh, Kat, I love it! I hated living in a small town when I was in my 20’s and 30’s and everyone knew my business – but now that I’m ‘older’ and not up to any funny business, (if I didn’t live on our hill) I’d love to live in a small town.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds


